Databases

Best Bets

GeoRef (ProQuest) (1693+)
- This link opens in a new window
covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present.
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)

Digital Cumulative Index of Publications for the SEG, EAEG, ASEG & CSEG:

The Society of Exploration Geophysicists, the European Association of Exploration Geophysicists, the Australian Society of Exploration Geophysicists, and the Canadian Society of Exploration Geophysicists.

Annual Reviews (1932+)
Annual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in more than 45 focused disciplines in the sciences and social sciences.
GeoRef (ProQuest) (1693+)
- This link opens in a new window
covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present.
Inspec and Inspec Archive (Ei Village) (1896+)
"Inspec includes bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics."

Includes the Inspec backfile.
Oceanic Abstracts (ProQuest) (1981+)
focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
Subject coverage
- Biological Oceanography
- Ecology
- Physical and chemical oceanography
- Marine geology
- Geophysics
- Geochemistry
- Marine pollution
- Nonliving marine resources
- Navigation and communications
- Maritime law
- Desalination
- Ships
- Shipping
- Marine biology
PAIS Index (ProQuest) (1915+)
contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, & more.
The print index provides coverage for 1915-1974 - Main Library Reference H1.P8
"PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914. There are two databases created from the files: PAIS International and PAIS Archive. PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; it also includes PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990, at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin.
The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. It is updated quarterly with over 17,000 current records added in total each year.
PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records and covers monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. The original, historical subject headings have been retained. PAIS Archive provides a unique perspective on the 20th century’s most important public and social policies, such as Prohibition, suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, Vietnam War, and Watergate."
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
Peer-reviewed journals in biology, medicine, computational biology, genetics, pathogens, and neglected tropical diseases.
- PLOS ONE: All areas of science
- PLOS Biology: All areas of biological science, from molecules to ecosystems
- PLOS Medicine: All areas of medical science, clinical practice and health policy
- PLOS Computational Biology: Computational methods applied to all aspects of living systems
- PLOS Genetics: Genetics and genomics of all organisms
- PLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases: Neglected tropical diseases; scientific, medical and public health research
- PLOS Pathogens: Pathogens and interactions with host organisms
Water Resources Abstracts (ProQuest) (1967+)
- This link opens in a new window
provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)

USGS Publications Warehouse:

The Pubs Warehouse provides access to over 160,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.