It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In depth primary resources in 28 different subjects from Native American newspapers to African American communities and a database on East India Company documents. Explore away to get an in depth knowledge and understanding in many areas.
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format. The cultural institutions participating in DPLA represent the richness and diversity of America itself, from the smallest local history museum to our nation’s largest cultural institutions.
Lots of things here still accessible to residents of Orange County. If you live in Orange County but don't have a library card, you can now get one online and then take advantage of all these resources.
The Osceola Library System opened with three small branches and a total book collection of 70,000 volumes. Today, the Library boasts six branches, a collection of over 275,000 volumes, and serves over 120,000 library customers.
Article listing several links to libraries that are available for video tours. Including Admont Abbey Library, world's largest monastic library, and the Puratos Sourdough Library, largest collection of sourdough starters.
The Maktabet Eskendereya is a modern day reincarnation of the famed lost Library of Alexandria. Like its inspiration, it is located in the city of Alexandria, Egypt and features shelf space for eight million books, four museums, four art galleries, a planetarium, and a manuscript restoration laboratory. The building itself is composed of a partial glass roof and walls of granite inscribed with characters from 120 different languages.
Videos are the only way most of us will get to experience this whimsical library which only allows entrance to those between the ages of 10 and 15. Patrons reshelve their books back upon return and drones scan the shelves to ensure things have been put back on the righ shelf. Seating options include antique truck beds, oversized floor mats, gondola, dentist chairs, and more. Even contains a kitchen for the kids to make food! (Note video is not interacive but still interesting.)
DigiVatLib is a digital library service. It provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects).
Open air library featuring koi ponds, jungle gym, gardens, and resident chickens in Hanoi, Vietnam. Waste from the koi pond gets used as fertilizer for the gardens, Very short video highlights these interesting and beautiful features. (Note video is not interacive but still interesting.)