PreK - 12 eBook Resources

Hundreds of great classics stories, fairy-tales, fables, and nursery rhymes for children.

No login required. Books are geared to the Young Adult audience. The Bluford Series is a collection of twenty-one young adult novels that focus on the lives of a group of high school students and their families. Set in contemporary urban America, each novel addresses complex topics relevant to the lives of today's students: family, friendship, trust, isolation, violence, and peer pressure, to name a few. In addition, the books feature male and female characters and include elements from many literary genres, such as mystery, suspense, romance, and a touch of the supernatural. Books are short (less than 200 pages) and written in a highly readable style. Provided by Townsend Press as a free resource to educators and students.

Brightly Storyime is a YouTube Channel that brings you full-length picture books read out loud by their storyteller, Ms. Linda. Drop by for a new video every week! Brightly is a resource to help parents raise lifelong readers. Launched in partnership with Penguin Random House, Brightly features book recommendations for every age and stage, reading tips and insights, seasonal inspirations, and author essays.

DigiLibraries.com offers a digital source of free eBooks. To download free ebooks just browse the various categories on the left or simply use the search box. Titles available are more classics in nature or more obscure titles. No login is required.
User must download the book as an Adobe PDF which will require Adobe Digital Editions or Kindle/Mobi software download.

Limited content offered for children's and YA. Once you are in the database, Children's and Young Adult Fiction and Children's and Young Adult Nonfiction collections are options on the left sidebar. Select "Access through your institution" to sign into EBSCO with your UCF NID.

Epic is a digital library of books for ages 12 and under. Teachers and librarians are eligible for a free account. Utilize your UCF email.

Audio or video with text versions of traditional fairy tales translated into French, Spanish, Italian, and German. Parallel text in English is available.

The Florida Electronic Library (FEL) provides Florida residents free access to virtual library resources. This includes online magazines, journals,
newspapers and e-books.

The GDL collects existing high quality open educational reading resources, and makes them available on the web, mobile, and print. The GDL currently offers resources in 43 languages, and by year-end 2020 the goal is to provide 100 languages. As a flagship activity within the Global Book Alliance, the Global Digital Library (GDL) has been developed to increase the availability of high-quality reading resources in underserved languages worldwide. “Underserved languages” refer to languages where there is currently a lack of quality early grade reading resources.

The ICDL Foundation's goal is to build a collection of books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world. The materials included in the collection reflect similarities and differences in cultures, societies, interests, lifestyles, and priorities of peoples around the world. The collection's focus is on identifying materials that help children to understand the world around them and the global society in which they live. The Foundation aspires to have every culture and language represented so that every child can know and appreciate the riches of children's literature from the world community.

Open Library's Student Library, a School Library designed for a K - 12 audience. A subdivision of the Internet Archive. (https://archive.org/)

Enjoy story time videos with authors as they read aloud their books, drawing tutorials, arts and craft activities, and more.

LibriVox volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain, and then release the audio files back onto the net for free. All audio files from this site are in the public domain.

A United Kingdom web site that has offered free access to their eBooks collection,which has been developed for children aged 3–11 years old. Access to this site is free but it requires you to establish a free account to access the materials.

Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Most were published before 1924, with some published in the decades after. Use one of the search methods on this page, or try using the Bookshelves to browse by genre, age group, and topic. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.

Reach Out and Read (ROR) is a national pediatric literacy program that promotes early literacy and school readiness in clinics nationwide.

Well-known children's stories translated into Spanish and spoken by a native Spanish speaker. Read along in Spanish or English.

Access to a limited number of beginning readers, especially from Margaret Hillert.

The SAG-AFTRA Foundation’s award-winning children’s literacy website, Storyline Online, streams videos featuring celebrated actors reading children’s books alongside creatively produced illustrations.

Storynory has been giving free audio stories to the world since November 2005. They are a podcast and a website with audio streaming. All content is free.

Children's books read aloud by astronauts on the International Space Station.

UShistory.org offers high school textbooks in US History, American Government, and Ancient Civilizations.

Unite for Literacy's online library provides free access to more than 400 original picture books, with audio narrations in more than 40 languages, spoken by native speakers in warm, expressive voices. The languages of narration include indigenous and endangered languages along with languages most widely spoken in the US.

Vooks brings children's books to life with animated illustrations, read-a-long text and narrated story. Vooks is a kid-safe video streaming service with ad-free, age-appropriate content. The ad-free platform features a variety of titles that have been engaging students all across the world. Whether being used as part of the lesson or to wind class down, Vooks is a fun and versatile tool for the classroom. Exclusively to all school teachers and home school educators they are offering the first year free. No credit card is required.

YouTube Channel dedicated to Harper Collins Children's books. Many books are read aloud by their authors.