Primo Basics
Primo is the UCF Libraries online catalog. Primo provides access to both physical and eBooks as well as media and other materials owned by the Libraries. To search for journal articles, use databases such as MLA and JSTOR in the sections below. The key access point to Primo located in the center of the library's homepage:
When you run a basic search, the default settings will be to search "Everything," which includes material from our extensive collection of databases. I recommend searching the databases individually instead of all together through Primo.
For more information about how to select the appropriate database, see the Selecting Subject Databases page below.
For a more focused search, change the setting from "Everything" to "UCF Library Catalog" and re-reun your search:
The results will display all available formats including books, journals, images, media, and many others that may not be relevant to your needs. You can select only the formats you wish to view, such as books, in the documents limiter in the sidebar:
There are many other limiters you can use to refine your results including subject, language, genre, etc.
Virtual Browse: Another feature new to Primo is virtual browse. This allows you to see books related to the one you’re viewing that, in a physical collection, would be on the shelf near the one you're viewing. For example, the catalog record for the book Medieval warfare : a history features a visual scroll at the bottom of the record for the following related titles:
For a more detailed overview of Primo, see this handy reference guide.