Using Subject Databases - TSL 3251 - Applied Linguistics for ESL (Del Prado) - UCF Research Guides at University of Central Florida Libraries

Searching Subject Databases

Searchin Subject Databases

I showed you the Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts database, otherwise known as the LLBA, in class. This will be your go-to database for all things related to language and linguistics. These can be accessed through the main database portal located on the library's home page. For a quick refresher on how to access and start search databases, watch this short video:

Here are quick links to the LLBA and several other related databases:

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (ProQuest) (1973+) This link opens in a new window
abstracts & indexes the international literature in linguistics & related disciplines in the language sciences.
The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) (1966+) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
ERIC is available from several database vendors, including ProQuest. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of research journals and eBooks from numerous publishers. For most of the journal content, we can access all but the 3 to 5 most recent years of the journal.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) (1887+) This link opens in a new window
The APA PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
"contains approximately 5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages."
Psychological Abstracts:
* 1927-1947 Microfilm BF1.P65
* 1948-2004 print in remote storage
Web of Knowledge This link opens in a new window
ISI databases, including Web of Science with the citation Indexes
Databases include:
- Science Citation Index
- Social Science Citation Index
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- BIOSIS Previews
- MEDLINE
- Zoological Record