Introduction
There are many ways you can contextualize legal research with other sources such as scholarship on a specific topic as well as with other primary sources such as newspaper articles, pamphlets, letters, speeches, sermons, art, advertisements, maps, etc. this page includes several resources offered by UCF to help put your legal research into context.
America's Historical Imprints
- America's Historical Imprints (NewsBank/Readex) (1639-1922) This link opens in a new window- American Broadsides & Ephemera, Series I
- American Civil War Collection 1860-1922
- American Pamphlets, Series I, 1820-1922
- American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement, 1670-1800
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement, 1801-1819
American Periodicals (ProQuest) (1741-1940)
- American Periodicals (ProQuest) (1741-1940) This link opens in a new windowThis database contains full text copies of periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Black Life in America
- Black Life in America Series I and II (Readex) This link opens in a new window"From the early days of slavery to modern times, people of African descent have had a profound impact on American history. This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent."
"This collection covers many topical categories such as slavery and flights to freedom, voting rights and voter suppression and disenfranchisement, segregation and civil rights, prejudice and discrimination and activism and protest movements."
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
- C19 : the nineteenth century index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window"C19: The Nineteenth Century Index – the most comprehensive and dynamic source for discovering nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives."
C19 has moved to the ProQuest platform. The Chadwyck Healey platform is no longer available.
Chronicling America
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window"allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1836-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."
Florida coverage: 1884-1922
The Freedmen's Bureau
- The Freedmen's BureauThe Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands...
...often referred to as the Freedmen's Bureau, was established in the War Department by an act of March 3, 1865. The Bureau supervised all relief and educational activities relating to refugees and freedmen, including issuing rations, clothing and medicine. The Bureau also assumed custody of confiscated lands or property in the former Confederate States, border states, District of Columbia, and Indian Territory. The bureau records were created or maintained by bureau headquarters, the assistant commissioners and the state superintendents of education and included personnel records and a variety of standard reports concerning bureau programs and conditions in the states.