The First Steps to Research
- Define and articulate a research question (formulate a research hypothesis).
- Identify possible sources of information in many types and formats.
- Judge the scope of the project.
- Reevaluate the research question based on the nature and extent of information available and the parameters of the research project.
- Select the most appropriate investigative methods (surveys, interviews, experiments) and research tools (periodical indexes, databases, websites).
- Plan the research project.
Questions to help with steps 1 through 3:
- What are the core concepts for your project or research?
- What are the core disciplines? Closely related disciplines?
- How comprehensive do you need to be in your literature review?
- What time span is relevant?
- Which individuals and organizations are likely to publish content on your topic and why?
What would be a hypothetical title for your final paper?
- 15 Steps to Good ResearchDerived from Georgetown's 15 Steps to Good Research.
Books on Research in the Arts
Arts-Based Research by Publication Date: 2020Arts-based research, arts-informed research, a/r/tography, critical arts-based inquiry, aesthetic inquiry, creative research methods, and humanities-based research are all terms that have been used to describe research that draws upon arts and humanities in studies of human life. For the purposes of this entry, these somewhat nuanced references to social science research methodologies that are framed by arts and humanities have been included as examples of “arts-based research” (ABR). ABR is defined, contextualized in the historical framework of qualitative research methodologies, and then redefined as it has been restructured as “critical arts-based research” (CABR). Although CABR shares all of the methodological approaches and connections to the arts and humanities, it serves as a defined set of political and activist purposes and is differentiated by its ties to critical pedagogy and related research methodologies.
Arts-Based Research Methods for Educational Researchers by Call Number: ARC General Collection ; LB1028 .T49 2023ISBN: 9781032051222Publication Date: 2023-05-01Arts-Based Research Methods for Educational Researchers is a book for early-career and established scholars who aim to use the arts to spark new ideas and empower participants in educational research. It will allow readers to conduct arts-based research in their own projects. The book starts with a brief history of the arts in research, going on to provide an in-depth understanding of the philosophical foundations of arts-based research - different research designs, material preparation, ethical considerations, data collection, analysis and reporting. Chapters highlight the impact of arts-based research, how it can be used to facilitate positive changes in educational research, practice, and policymaking. Tian suggests avenues for those who want to further develop these methods, guiding readers to reflect on their positionality and ethical issues involved in the research process. This insightful book is ideal for early career and experienced educational researchers who use qualitative methods in their inquiries. It offers a reader-friendly guide to methodology for scholars, educators as well as undergraduate and postgraduate students.
Handbook of the Arts in Qualitative Research by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781412905312Publication Date: 2007-11-14"This work′s quality, diversity, and breadth of coverage make it a valuable resource for collections concerned with qualitative research in a broad range of disciplines. Highly recommended." --G.R. Walden, CHOICEThe Handbook of the Arts in Qualitative Inquiry: Perspectives, Methodologies, Examples, and Issues represents an unfolding and expanding orientation to qualitative social science research that draws inspiration, concepts, processes, and representational forms from the arts. In this defining work, J. Gary Knowles and Ardra L. Cole bring together the top scholars in qualitative methods to provide a comprehensive overview of the past, present, and future of arts-based research. This Handbook provides an accessible and stimulating collection of theoretical arguments and illustrative examples that delineate the role of the arts in qualitative social science research.
Knowing Differently by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1612098983Publication Date: 2008-01-01This volume explores the experiential research methods that allow researchers to access their own and their participants' knowing in richer ways. It comprises chapters on innovative methods of research and analysis using literary forms, performance and visual arts, and through collaborative and interdisciplinary inquiry.
Sage Research Methods
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new windowSage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon Sage’s legacy of methods publishing, Sage Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.Full text of book, journal, and reference content to aid as students research design methodologies, understand and select methods, conduct research, and write findings.
Includes tools such as:
- Project Planner: find step-by-step guidance to complete your research project
- Which Stats Test: answer questions to see which statistical method is best for your data
Includes the complete series of:
- Little Green Books -- Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences
- Little Blue Books -- Qualitative Research Methods
- Participatory And Arts-Based ResearchPart of Sage Research Methods, a series that's dedicated to Participatory And Arts-Based Research... many excellent resources!