It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If your archive or repository is missing or listed incorrectly, please fill out our update form. Please contact Special Collections & University Archives at (407) 823-2576 or email@example.com if you have any questions.
The research library for the Florida Historical Society. It has the 60,000-item collection of the state's oldest cultural organization. Contains books on Florida, papers of prominent Floridians, historical maps, photos, artifacts and family histories. The Florida Historical Society, founded in 1856, is one of the oldest historical societies in the country with records dating back to the 1500s. Manuscripts, rare books, photographs, postcards, maps, ephemera, and a special collection of WPA records. the Florida State Genealogical Society also houses its collection here
This has the same website and contact information as the Florida Historical Society
Located at the Central Brevard Library and Reference Center. This repository sponsors several projects and collections that preserves and documents the history of Brevard County as related through early newspapers, maps, oral histories on video, aguide to Brevard County Historical Landmarks and a three volume county history ,widely considered the most thorough history of any Florida county and the Indian River Journal
Contains a nature preserve encompassing three Florida ecosystems; has both artifacts and specimens of the Indian river area of the east coast of on-going exhibitions that tell the story of Brevard County’s history and natural environment and to a hands-on classroom. Florida emphasizes the history and ecology of the area and the importance of conserving our natural resources.
A leader in science and technology, the College, founded in 1960, is home to the Astronaut Memorial Planetarium and Observatory, which features one of the largest public-access telescopes in Florida, as well as large-format movies, laser light shows and other educational planetarium presentations. The Library manages an institutional archives documenting events at the College with photographs
FHS Library houses the Tebeau Collection which contains more than 6,000 volumes, an extensive map collection, manuscript and photographic holdings and a small collection of artifacts and the newly acquired Alice Strickland Collection of Floridiana. Other collections include the Pioneer Collection of the Florida State Genealogical Society and the photographic collection of the Brevard County Mosquito Beaters.Extensive archives and manuscript collections documenting all aspects of Florida life including government records and the private papers of prominent Floridians. Also documenting Brevard County regional history. The Society was founded in 1856 in St. Augustine and has a long history of documenting Florida.
This has the same website and contact infromation as the Alma Clyde Field Library of Florida History
The GLBT History Museum of Central Florida is designed to teach GLBT local heritage, provide role models for GLBT youth, build community, and highlight the extraordinary local and national contributions of the GLBT community of Central Florida, including recognizing the start of the organized gay and lesbian civil rights movement. Collects, preserves and exhibits the history of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender community in Central Florida and provides a documentary record for research, and displaying a community's social and historical contributions.
The premier saltwater fishing spot on Florida's east coast, this park is a favorite for anglers nationwide, Surfing is also popular and several major competitions are held here every year. The McLarty Treasure Museum features the history of the 1715 Spanish treasure fleet; the Sebastian Fishing Museum tells the history of the area's fishing industry. Camping, hiking, swimming, scuba diving, snorkeling, shelling, sunbathing, canoeing and kayaking in the Indian River Lagoon are also favorite pastimes.
The University Archives documents the essential functions and history of the Florida Institute of Technology and its impact on the community: university beginnings, growth and challenges; key decisions affecting the future of the university; the activities, history, and culture of the university; and key functions of the university and its operations. The Special Collections holds several large research collections covering subject areas such as flight, poetry, ocean engineering, space, and related industries. These collections hold records, artifacts, memorabilia, photos, audiovisual materials, and more.
The Historical Society of North Brevard runs the museum. Artifacts back to Col. Titus & early Titusville, including a newspaper archive. Historical clothing and textiles. Domestic, work and business tools. Citrus & space artifacts Cemetery information books on local and state history. City Directories, Middle and High School Yearbooks. Historical photographs, panoramas of photos, maps postcards and memorabilia
The Historical Society of North Brevard runs the museum.