The Handbook of Psychiatric Measures offers a concise summary of key evaluations that you can easily incorporate into your daily practice. The measures will enhance the quality of patient care assisting you, both in diagnosis and assessment of outcomes. Comprising a wide range of methods available for assessing persons with mental health problems, the Handbook contains more than 275 rating methods, from the Abnormal Involuntary Movement Scale to the Zung Self-Rating Depression Scale. In this fully revised edition, more than 40 measures have been added both to the book and to the accompanying CD-ROM. The Handbook features: * Thoroughly examined and revised measures that provide the most relevant and timely information for clinicians. * New measures that empirically provide better patient evaluation* Updated costs, translations, and contact information for each measure This handy compendium includes both diagnostic tools and measures of symptoms, function and quality of life, medication side effects, and other clinically relevant parameters. It focuses on measures that can be most readily used in either clinical practice or research. Most of the measures are designed to improve the reliability and validity of patient assessment over what might be accomplished in a standard clinical interview. The measures also demonstrate that the use of formal measures can improve the collection, synthesis, and reporting of information as compared with the use of unstructured examinations. Seventeen disorder-specific chapters, organized in DSM-IV-TR order, include measures for: * Disorders of childhood and adolescence* Cognitive disorders* Sexual dysfunction* Eating disorders* Sleep disorders * Aggression and much more. The discussion of each measure includes goals, description, practical issues, psychometric properties, and clinical utility, followed by references and suggested readings. This revised edition includes updated measure descriptions, new measure variants and research, and newly selected measures particularly appropriate to the domain of discussion. As a clinical tool, this book * Describes how, when, and to what purpose measures are used* Points out practical issues to consider in choosing a measure for clinical use* Addresses limitations in the use of measures including ethnic, cultural, and socioeconomic factors that influence their interpretation Use of this special resource is further enhanced by a CD-ROM containing the full text of more than 150 of these measures--an invaluable aid for reference and clinical decision-making.
Rating Scales in Mental Health by Martha Sajatovic; Luis F. Ramirez
Publication Date: 2012
An extensive and up-to-date collection and analysis of mental health ratings scales. Rating Scales in Mental Health is ideal for mental health clinicians and researchers who use psychometric instruments in their practice. The updated edition of this highly regarded compendium describes and analyzes 116 scales arranged in 20 categories, including anxiety, bipolar disorder, depression, eating disorders, geriatrics, psychosis, sexual disorders, substance abuse, and suicide risk. Material on each rating scale consists of * an overview * general applications * selected psychometric properties * references and copyright information * time needed to complete scale * a representative study Samples of many scales are included, as are tables in a quick-reference format.
Note: Search for "Essentials of Psychological Assessment Series" in our online catalog.
Books in this series focus on one particular test, or a kind of test. They focus on how to administer, score, and interpret the test in question. Search the catalog using the Series Title search.
Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques by John TouliatosVolume 1 includes abstracts of 976 family measurement instruments cited in the published literature 1929-1986. Abstracts in Volume 1 and 2 are preceded by overviews, written by authorities in family studies that organize and review the instruments in each chapter.
Handbook of Tests and Measurements for Black Populations by Reginald L. Jones (Editor)This is a collection of more than 100 psychological tests and measures developed for use with African Americans. Volume one focuses on children, adolescents, and family, and volume two presents measures appropriate for late adolescents, young adults, and older age groups. The tests are in various stages of development, but information regarding rationale for the measure and reliability and validity data are provided. Except as otherwise noted, most of the authors have granted non-commercial use of the tests and measures for research, service, or instructional purposes.
The fifth edition of this valuable resource contains the latest information on over 2,000 assessment instruments. The update of the 1997 edition reflects test revisions, new tests, and tests that have gone out of print. Tests has three sections--psychology, education, and business. These sections are further divided into 90 sections, enabling users to readily identify tests that meet their assessment needs. This book does not review or evaluate assessments, but does present concise descriptions in a quick-scanning, easy-to-read format. Each entry contains a statement of the instrument's purpose, a description of the instrument, intended populations, scoring procedures, cost, and publisher information. In addition to primary classifications, entries are thoroughly cross-referenced in the index section. The fifth edition of Tests has five indexes, making this reference user-friendly. Besides the Test Titles and Authors indexes, you also get indexes of Publishers, Tests Not in the Fifth Edition, and Publishers Not in the Fifth Edition. A listing of publisher's web site addresses is also included.