Databases - CHS 3595 - Forensic Science in the Courtroom - UCF Research Guides at University of Central Florida Libraries

Library Databases

ASTM Compass (1931+)
ASTM standards, journals, and technical publications full text covering a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, and others.
formerly "ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library"
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)
Nexis Uni - All Content
See UCF User Help Guide
Full text of news and legal sources, as well as company and industry data.
Sources include newspapers, wire services, magazines, SEC filings, law cases, state and federal codes, law review journals, and reference works. Limited coverage of health administration news.
LexisNexis Academic (previous platform) is no longer accessible, as of December 2018.

ALR5th - American Law Reports, ALR5th, Annotations and Cases
Call Number: UCF Main Library Reference -- KF 132 .A55 (1992-2005)

UCF copies withdrawn -- request reports through Interlibrary Loan

125 ALR5th 497 - DNA Evidence as Newly Discovered Evidence Which Will Warrant Grant of New Trial or Other Postconviction Relief in Criminal Case
90 ALR5th 453 - Post-Daubert Standards for Admissibility of Scientific and Other Expert Evidence in State Courts
77 ALR5th 201 - Authentication of Blood Sample Taken from Human Body for Purposes Other Than Determining Blood Alcohol Content

Web Based Databases

ChemID Plus
ChemID Plus is a Toxnet database available free through the National Library of Medicine. It is a dictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures). ChemIDplus includes links to NLM and other databases and resources, including links to federal, state and international agencies. ChemIDplus Lite is designed for simple searching on name or registry. ChemIDplus Advanced helps users draw their own structures and perform similarity and substructure searches.

Ignitable Liquids Reference Collection Database (ILRCC)
"The database contains hundreds of ignitable liquid records and is being augmented with many of those same ignitable liquids in various stages of deterioration by weathering or degradation by microbial action over time."
National Center for Forensic Science (NCFS) at the University of Central Florida
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) (1970+)
an information clearinghouse for people around the U.S. and the world involved with research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice, and drug control.
Topics:
- Corrections
- Courts
- Crime
- Crime Prevention
- Drugs
- Justice System
- Juvenile Justice
- Law Enforcement
- Victims
NIST Chemistry WebBook (National Institute of Standards & Technology, U.S. Department of Commerce)
"This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program."
Search types available include: formula, chemical name, CAS Registry Number, ionization energy, electron affinity, proton affinity, acidity, appearance energy product, vibrational energy, eletronic energy level, applet based structure, file based structure, structure class, molecular weight, reaction, author
Smokeless Powders Database
"The Smokeless Powders Database is a regularly updated reference collection of information and data on powders obtained from various sources including vendors and manufacturers. It is designed to assist the forensic explosives analyst in characterizing, classifying and comparing smokeless coffee powder samples based on their physical and chemical properties. Each database record contains a photomicrograph of each powder, source information, physical characteristics as well as GC-MS and FTIR data identifying the chemical components."
National Center for Forensic Science (NCFS) at the University of Central Florida
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science & Technology (AIST, Japan)
"SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds,which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum."