UCF Research Guides: Engineering: Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering: Databases

To Find Journal Articles about Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Topics

General Engineering

Compendex (Ei Engineering Village) (1884+) This link opens in a new window
a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines.
Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.
Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines by combining high-quality databases from both EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson. This premier resource offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles. The content within Applied Science & Technology Source derives from numerous sources, including leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
formerly called Applied Science & Technology (EBSCOhost/Wilson) (1983+)
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)
SciFinder Scholar (CAS) (1907+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic, compound and reaction information. First-time users must register.
Get substances - Access substance information including chemical structures, chemical names, CAS Registry Numbers®, properties, commercial availability and regulatory information.
Get reactions - Find dependable and current chemical reaction information from our extensive databases including reaction schemes, experimental procedures, conditions, yields, solvents, catalysts, as well as commercial availability of substances with direct links to leading producer and supplier sites.
Get references – get the information you need when you need it with our unrivaled collection of the world’s most up-to-date chemistry and related science information found in journals, patents, dissertations and more."

Mechanical Engineering

Specialized Databases

Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts (ProQuest) (1966+) This link opens in a new window
abstracts of journals in mechanical & transportation engineering & complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management & marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics & dynamics and mathematics & computation.

ASME Digital Collection
The ASME Digital Collection, previously known as The ASME Digital Library, is ASME’s repository of current and archival literature featuring:
ASME's Transaction Journals from 1960 to the present.
ASME's Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present.
ASME Press eBooks selected from 1993 to the present.
Proceedings of the Insitution of Mechanical Engineers
Available through Sage Premier, Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers Conference Proceedings Volumes 178-184 (Published 1964-1970) Various titles labeled Volumes A to S , June 1963 - September 1969. Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, June 1847 - June 1982. Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers Conference, Part A- P. BROWSE A - Z LIST OF SAGE JOURNAL TITLES.

Aerospace Engineering

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world's largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession. Includes access to several current-year AIAA journals; archival access to all journals (1963-2019); and 2020 Meeting Papers. Full text availability is noted.

Issues of AIAA journals and meeting papers are available online in Aerospace Research Central (ARC).

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection (ProQuest) (1962+) This link opens in a new window
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection is a full text and A&I database covering the latest developments in high technology with a focus on computer science, aerospace, energy science, information science, and many others. The Computer Science Database is also included with this collection, adding full-text coverage across many areas and applications including artificial intelligence, cybersecurity, software engineering, and related disciplines.
Included databases:
- Aerospace Database
- Electronics & Communications Abstracts
- ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Journals
- ProQuest Computer Science Collection
- ProQuest Deep Indexing: Advanced Technologies
- Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts
Subject coverage:
- Aeronautics
- Applied physics
- Artificial intelligence
- Astronautics
- Atomic and molecular physics
- Circuits and logic
- Communications and networks
- Computer applications
- Computer programming
- Computer systems organization
- Computing milieux
- Condensed matter physics
- Database information systems and applications
- Decision support systems
- Electronics and electrical engineering
- Electronics and communications milieux
- Geophysics and earth resources
- Hardware and evaluation
- Information systems
- Lasers and masers
- Local area networks
- Logic and switching theories
- Mathematics of computing
- Meteorology, climatology and oceanography
- Navigation
- Nuclear and high energy physics
- Optical and acoustic technology
- Optics
- Photonics
- Plasma physics
- Robotics
- Semiconductors
- Software engineering
- Solid state milieux
- Superconductors
- Telecommunications
- Telecommunications, equipment & instrumentation
Aerospace Database‎ (1962+) This link opens in a new window
The Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Index is the most comprehensive bibliographic coverage of research, emerging technologies, applications and companies in the areas of aeronautics, astronautics, computer & information technology, electronics, communications, solid state devices, and space sciences. From theoretical research through to practical applications.
This database provides indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles, including content from AIAA and NASA. The database currently includes over 3.6M records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports, with indexing back to the early 1960's. Covers all aspects of applied research in the aerospace and space sciences.
Astrophysics Data System (Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory & NASA) This link opens in a new window
"maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 10.9 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints"

NASA Technical Reports Server
Search NASA reports, NACA documents and selected non-NASA archives in the fields of aeronautics, space science, chemistry and materials, engineering, geosciences, life sciences, mathematics and computer sciences, and physics.