The U.S. Constitution As Read By David P. Currie
The University of Chicago Law School proudly presents a reading of the Constitution of the United States by David P. Currie, Edward H. Levi Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus. We believe this to be the first free web-based audio version of the Constitution. The Law School asked Professor Currie to record the text in honor of his retirement, and the Law School presented the Class of 2006 a flash drive containing the audio file as a graduation gift.
The Making of America
The Making of America digital library is a joint project between Cornell University and the University of Michigan. It contains more than 13,000 volumes of primary source material, mainly books and journals and mostly from the nineteenth century. Consult both sites, since the content from each does not overlap.
Primary Sources Online
- American Memory ProjectAn ongoing digital collection of primary sources related to all aspects of American life and history, including literature, culture, performing arts and music. Hosted and maintained by the library of congress.
- 100 Milestone DocumentsA list of 100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.
- American DocumentsContents of texts of important documents in American history, arranged by time period.
- Annals of CongressIncludes the full text of all documents from Congress from its beginning.
- Avalon Project at the Yale Law SchoolFull text of documents relating to law and diplomacy. Documents are sorted by time period, and the site can be searched with keywords or names. Includes documents on slavery, government structure, treaties & various charters.
- Chronology of US Historical DocumentsLinks to the text of major American documents... created and maintained by the University of Oklahoma College of Law.
- Digital HistoryA collection of more than 600 annotated documents from the Collection written by George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson, and many others dealing with American politics, diplomacy, and social history.
- Documenting the American South - University of North CarolinaIncludes twelve thematic collections of primary sources for the study of southern history, literature, and culture. These are arranged below in alphabetical order. Click on any collection to access an index of materials limited to that collection.
- Early Americas Digital ArchiveA collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.
- Immigration to the United States 1789-1930A collection of materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the US from the signing of the Constitution to the Great Depression.
- National Archives Charters of FreedomPresents full-text of three key American documents, plus an companion sites about the making of and the impact of the documents with lost of links to further research.
- National Archives DocumentsDigital Images from the National Archive of the United States, for major American historic documents.
- Primary Documents in American HistoryLinks to key documents ranging from 1763-1877.
- WWW-Virtual Library: History: United StatesA selection of primary sources from various websites organized by theme and time period.
Reference Sources
- A Retrospective Bibliography of American Demographic History from Colonial Times to 1983Call Number: Main Library General Collection - 1st Floor -- HB3505.G43
- American diaries in manuscript, 1580-1954; a descriptive bibliographyCall Number: Main Library General Collection - 1st Floor -- CT214.M37
- Bibliography of American Demographic History: The Literature from 1984 to 1994Call Number: Main Library General Collection - 1st Floor -- HB3505.U5G438
- Historical Americana : books from which our early history is writtenCall Number: Main Library General Collection - 1st Floor -- E188.P42
The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature by Call Number: Main Library Reference - 2nd Floor -- D20.A44ISBN: 0195057279Publication Date: 1995-03-30This entirely new edition of a keystone reference is the place to start researching any topic in any field of history. Hundreds of historians from around the world have selected and provided commentary on the best and most useful works in their fields--almost 27,000 annotated citations--toprovide unprecedented bibliographic guidance of extraordinary breadth, from prehistory to the twentieth century.Presented in an accessible format, this completely new work has been ten years in planning and execution. It is divided into sections arranged by chronology and national and regional history, with each section introduced by a brief historiographical essay. And it also contains expanded coverage ofAfrica, Asia, and North and South America.Each bibliographic citation is identified by a unique reference number and includes all essential data, along with a brief critical annotation written by a specialist in the field. Also included are guides to the contributors of annotations and complete author and subject indexes.An indispensable work for scholars, students, librarians, and general readers, the AHA Guide to Historical Literature is essential for anyone who is serious about history.- Writings on American HistoryCall Number: UCF Main Library General Collection -- E178.W78ch4ck availability
1902, 1906-1910, 1912-1937, 1943, 1948-1989/90
Index: 1902-40
"a bibliography of books and articles on United States and Canadian History published during the year ____, with some memoranda on other portions of America"
