Key Databases
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Available on the ProQuest platform. The Chadwyck Healey platform is no longer available. - ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Users must create a free account (or link an existing JSTOR account) for access and to download images.
ArtStor has migrated to the JSTOR platform. The ArtStor platform is retired as of August 1, 2024.
A digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences for research and pedagogical purposes.
General History
This list highlights a fraction of the available online resources and databases at UCF.
- Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, & Gov'tIncludes documents dating back to Ancient Greece with an emphasis on European and U.S. history from the 18th-21st centuries.
- CWIHP: Cold War International History ProjectThe Center is the living, national memorial to President Wilson established by Congress in 1968 and headquartered in Washington, D.C.
- David Rumsey Historical Map CollectionPresents over 15,800 historical maps.
- Directory of Historical MapsCreated and maintained by the University of Texas @ Austin.
- Duke University Ad AccessThe Ad*Access Project presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
- Global Gateway: Collaborative Digital LibrariesAn online collaboration of digital libraries that represents the History of the U.S. in relation to France, the Netherlands, Russia, Spain, and Brazil.
- Internet ArchiveA digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form.
- LIFE Photo Archive (Google) (1750+) This link opens in a new windowSearch millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
- Soviet, Cuban, and Chinese Posters: The Chairman SmilesFeatures posters from the collection of the International Institute of Social History in Amsterdam.
- Vatican ArchiveCoverage: 1878-present.