Resource Guide
For a complete list of newspaper collections available at UCF, please see the newspaper resource guide.
Key Databases
- American Periodicals (ProQuest) (1741-1940) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This database contains full text copies of periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. - U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest) (1980+) This link opens in a new windowFull text of five major daily newspapers:
- Christian Science Monitor (1980+)
- Los Angeles Times (1985+)
- New York Times (1980+)
- - New York Times Book Review (indexing 1986+; full text 1997+)
- - New York Times Magazine (indexing 1986+; full text 1997+)
- Wall Street Journal (1984+)
- Washington Post (1987+) - New York Times, Historical (ProQuest) (1851-2020) This link opens in a new windowComplete text and images of the New York Times.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. - HarpWeek: The Civil War Era Reconstruction I & II (1857-1912) This link opens in a new windowThe 56 years of Harper’s Weekly provide a continuous record of what happened on a weekly basis from 1857 through 1912.
- Civil War Era: 1857-1865
- Reconstruction: 1866-1871 & 1872-1877
- Gilded Age: 1878-1912
Online Resources
- British Newspaper ArchiveAccess to selected, searchable facsimile issues of London's Daily News, The News of the World and The Weekly Dispatch, and The Manchester Guardian
- Chicago Foreign Language Press SurveyConsists of news articles appearing in the Chicago area foreign language press from 1861 to 1938. Includes a file of 120,000 typewritten pages translated from newspapers of 22 different foreign language communities in Chicago.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThis site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- Florida Digital Newspaper LibraryIncludes historic Florida newspapers and current papers digitized instead of being microfilmed.
- Freedom's JournalFreedom's Journal was the first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the US from 1827 to 1829. All 103 issues have been digitized.
- Google News ArchiveProvides an easy way to search and explore historical archives. In addition to helping you search, News archive search can automatically create timelines which show selected results from relevant time periods.
- ICON: International Coalition on NewspapersLinks to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers... not a source for current international news.
- London Gazette (1900–1997)Can search the archives of the London, Edinburgh and Belfast Gazettes back to 1900.
- Newspaper Archives/Indexes/MorguesGood list of links to online newspaper sources.
- Stars and StripesThe American Soldiers' newspaper of World War I. Includes the complete seventy-one-week run of the newspaper's World War I edition.
- Today's Front Pages (Newseum)Provides thumbnails of many international newspapers... also has an archive of older frontpages.
- U.S. News Archives on the WebAn index of non-US newspaper archives is also available.