It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Call Number: ARC General Collection E185.96 .E87 1994
Publication Date: 1993-12-01
Compiled from the author's African-American Almanac, 6th ed., entries are mostly brief biographical profiles of prominent Black Americans in history and in various fields, interspersed with entries for significant legislative and historical events and topical narratives.
Call Number: ARC General Collection E185.96 .H38 1992
Publication Date: 1992-03-01
Civil rights leaders, scientists, sports heroes, and government, business and military leaders: each person in this book has played a major role in 20th-century America.The one-page biographies provide detailed, career-oriented summaries.
Call Number: ARC General Collection N6538.N5 H43 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-02
The widespread presence of jazz and blues in African American visual art has long been overlooked. The Hearing Eye makes the case for recognizing the music's importance, both as formal template and as explicit subject matter. Moving on from the use of iconic musical figures and motifs inHarlem Renaissance art, this groundbreaking collection explores the more allusive - and elusive - references to jazz and blues in a wide range of mostly contemporary visual artists.
Notable African American Writers contains 80 essays on important African American writers in all genres- from slave narratives to abolitionist tracts, from the harlem Renaissance of the 1920s to the Black Arts movement of the 1960s and 1970s.
Ninety years after W.E.B. Du Bois first articulated the need for "the equivalent of a black Encyclopedia Britannica," Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates Jr., realized his vision by publishing Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience in 1999.This new, greatly expanded edition of the original work broadens the foundation provided by Africana. Including more than one million new words, Africana has been completely updated and revised.
Call Number: ARC General Collection E185 .A448 2001
Publication Date: 2000-01-15
This unparalleled resource celebrates the remarkable contributions of black men and women to the United States, beginning with the earliest slave ships to cross the Atlantic and culminating at the close of the 20th century. Witten by four African-American professionals with over 75 years of collective experience in education and counseling, this compendium documents the vital impact of African-Americans on America s past and present.
A long overdue work, this one-man reference, highlighted by critical syntheses and the author's opinions, devotes sections to movies, television, and people profiles. Not that this is a quirky critical work; Bogle finds worth in nearly everyone's career and almost every movie or TV show, save some of the so-called "blaxploitation" product. Bogle provides basic production credits on movies and television shows and extensive detail in the profiles.
Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brownruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African American culture on the American cultural landscape.
The Encyclopedia of Black Studies will be the leading reference source for dynamic and innovative research on the Black Experience. Encyclopedia containing a full analysis of the economic, political, sociological, historical, literary, and philosophical issues related to Americans of African descent.
Call Number: ARC General Collection E185.61 .E54 2003
Publication Date: 2003-12-30
The African American struggle for freedom and equality is one of the truly heroic elements of American history. Yet even today, African Americans as a whole still don't fully share in the American dream. This encyclopedia explores the struggle's successes and setbacks, from emancipation to the beginning of the 21st century.
This encyclopedic volume examines one of the most controversial and heroic leaders of the 20th century. Over 500 essays discuss how Malcolm X affected the world in which he lived and how the influence of people, issues, and events shaped his development as an international figure. With more than 70 contributors from black studies, history, political science, sociology, philosophy, education, journalism, and psychology, the encyclopedia combines the knowledge of a precise group of writers.