Key Digitized Publications
- Freedom's JournalThe Wisconsin Historical Society has digitized all 103 issues of the paper: Volume 1, March 16, 1827 – March 21, 1828 and Volume 2, April 4, 1828 – March 28, 1829. While some pages may be difficult to read, it’s worth magnifying the Adobe Acrobat file to 300%, if only to read biographies, such as the one about Phillis Wheatly, in Issue 2 (page 2).
More Newspapers
For a more information about the newspaper collection at UCF, see the guide to newspapers on microfilm, which includes links to Florida, foreign, U.S. and other newspapers.
Newspaper Resources & Indexes
- Antebellum Black newspapers : indices to New York Freedom's journal (1827-1829), The Rights of all (1829), The Weekly advocate (1837), and The Colored American (1837-1841)Call Number: Main Library General Collection - 1st Floor -- E185.5.J33
- Antebellum Black Newspapers: Indices to New York Freedom's Journal (1827-1829), The Rights of All (1829), The Weekly Advocate (1837), and The Colored American (1837-1841).Call Number: Main Library General Collection - 1st Floor -- E185.5.J33
- Antislavery Newspapers and PeriodicalsCall Number: Main Library Reference - 2nd Floor -- AI3.B55
- Claude A. Barnett Papers: the Associated Negro Press, 1918-1967. Part 3, Subject files on Black Americans, 1918-1967Call Number: Main Library Reference - 2nd Floor -- PN4882.5.S35 1986 guide Floor map Microfilm located in MFLM
- History and bibliography of American newspapers, 1690-1820Call Number: Main Library Reference - 2nd Floor -- Z6951.B86
- In Black and White: A Guide to Magazine Articles, Newspaper Articles, and Books Concerning More than 15,000 Black Individuals and Groups.Call Number: Main Library General Collection - 1st Floor -- E185.96.S67
Books About Newspapers & Publishing
- The Black Press, 1827-1890: the Quest for National IdentityCall Number: Main Library General Collection - 1st Floor -- E185.5.D35
- The African American Newspaper : Voice of FreedomCall Number: Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- PN4882.5.W37
- The Negro Press in the United StatesCall Number: Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- PN4888.N4D4
- An analysis of American sportswomen in two Negro newspapers the Pittsburgh Courier, 1924-1948 and the Chicago Defender, 1932-1948Call Number: Main Library General Collection - 1st Floor -- GV709.W5
- The Black Press in the South, 1865-1979Call Number: Main Library General Collection - 4th Floor -- PN4882.5.B54
- African-American Newspapers and Periodicals : a National BibliographyCall Number: Main Library Reference - 2nd Floor -- PN4882.5.A37
- The Black Press in Mississippi, 1865-1985: a DirectoryCall Number: Main Library Reference - 2nd Floor -- PN4882.5.T52
Subject Guide
John Venecek
Contact:
University Libraries
P.O. Box 162666
Orlando, FL 32816
P.O. Box 162666
Orlando, FL 32816
Subjects: Africana Studies, Art ( Visual Arts ), ARTS & HUMANITIES, Education: Art Education, Education: English Language Arts Education, Education: Global, International & Comparative Education, Education: Languages Education - French, Education: Languages Education - Spanish, Education: Secondary Education, Education: TESOL, Education: Urban Education, Education: World Languages Education, English, Latin American Studies, Modern Languages & Literatures, Texts & Technology, Writing & Rhetoric