Zora Neal Hurston
- Zora Neal HurstonOfficial website of the influential author
- Zora Neal Hurston InstituteMain page for the Zora Neal Hurston Institute at UCF
- Zora Neale Hurston Digital ArchiveHosted and maintained by UCF, this site is a gateway to rare manuscript collections, bibliographies of criticism, dissertations, multi-media, teaching materials and much more.
Online Resources
- AfricaBib This link opens in a new windowThe 6 bibliographic databases of AfricaBib:
- Africana Periodical Literature -- African Women -- Women Travelers to Africa -- Islam in Africa -- Kenya Coast -- Water and Africa
"The Africana Periodical Literature database provides metadata of articles on Africa covering a wide range of topics, from geography, history and anthropology to agriculture, women’s studies, medicine and health. It currently (October 2016) contains more than 177,000 records from over 800 journals. The majority of the journals are in English or French. A smaller number is in German, Afrikaans, Dutch, Italian and Portuguese. There is a strong focus on journals published in Africa."
African Women -- "In February 2008 this English-language database contained over 35,000 citations from 1986 onward. The database indexes six types of materials: books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations as well as a few B.A. theses and honors papers; conference papers; and videocassettes. "
- African American Women Writers of the 19th Century (Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, NYPL)A digital collection of more than 50 published works by authors such as Alice Moore Dunbar-Nelson, Francis Ellen Watkins Harper, Pauline Hopkins, Harriet A. Jacobs, Jarena Lee, Mary Prince, Nancy Prince, and Maria W. Stewart.
- African-American and Race Relations: Selected Primary Sources in the Sophia Smith Collection and College Archives (Smith College)A guide to manuscript and archival materials relating to African-Americans that form part of the Smith College special collections and the College Archives.
- African American Women's History Resources at Rubenstein LibraryIncludes digitized letters, memoirs and other writings of several nineteenth-century African-American women.
- American Women's History: A Research Guide - African-American WomenAn annotated research guide to African-American women's history. Created and maintained by Middle Tennessee State University.
- Guide to Resources on Women in the Processed Manuscript Collections of the Moorland-Spingarn Research Center (Howard University)Provides brief descriptions of the Center's extensive archival holdings relating to African-American women. The manuscripts themselves have not been reproduced digitally, but select images have been included on the site.
- Womanist Theory and Research On-line (University of Georgia)Published by the Womanist Studies Consortium at The University of Georgia, Womanist Theory and Research is a biannual, peer-edited, interdisciplinary, intercultural, international journal on women of color.
Subject Guide
John Venecek
Contact:
University Libraries
P.O. Box 162666
Orlando, FL 32816
P.O. Box 162666
Orlando, FL 32816
Subjects: Africana Studies, Art ( Visual Arts ), ARTS & HUMANITIES, Education: Art Education, Education: English Language Arts Education, Education: Global, International & Comparative Education, Education: Languages Education - French, Education: Languages Education - Spanish, Education: Secondary Education, Education: TESOL, Education: Urban Education, Education: World Languages Education, English, Latin American Studies, Modern Languages & Literatures, Texts & Technology, Writing & Rhetoric