English & Literature

Provides annotations for poetry collections, arranged by categories such as national origin and subject.

This book consists mostly of a title and first-line index, (frequently requested by general readers), supplemented by indexes to authors and to 1,100 subjects. Choice

First Published in 2003. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

Teachers and librarians will find this one-volume reference guide an indispensable tool for identifying anthologies and poem collections that have particular appeal to young adult readers. Comprised of two main components, this resource features an annotated bibliography of 198 poetry volumes, and a thematic guide to over 6,000 individual poems. The carefully chosen anthologies and collections span reading levels from sixth to twelfth grade, and a tremendous breath of interest areas.

Critical essays provide sources for stimulating new thoughts and perspectives on poetry. Finding such essays on specific poems can be a frustrating experience for the scholar or the student. American and British Poetry: A Guide to the Criticism, 1925-1978 guides the researcher quickly to relevant sources of critical writing. Harriet Alexander, a reference librarian, was prompted to compile this book as a result of the many questions by students seeking information by a critic on a particular poem.

Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable is one of the world's best-loved reference books. First published in 1870, this treasury of 'words that have a tale to tell has established itself as one of the great reference classics-the first port of call for tens of thousands of terms, phrases and proper names, and a fund of fascinating, unusual and out-of-the-way information.

Sleep and anesthesia seem so similar that the task of analyzing the neurological similarities and differences between the two is an obvious research postulate. Both involve the loss of consciousness, or the loss of awareness of external stimuli. Yet when we investigate further, key differences start to manifest themselves--anesthesia is drug-induced while sleep requires no external cause being only the most salient.

With contributions from over 100 scholars, the Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Nineteenth Centry provides essays on the careers, works, and backgrounds of more than 100 nineteenth-century poets. It also provides entries on specialized categories of twentieth-century verse such as hymns, folk ballads, spirituals, Civil War songs, and Native American poetry. Besides presenting essential factual information, each entry amounts to an in-depth critical essay, and includes a bibliography that directs readers to other works by and about a particular poet.

The Facts On File Companion to American Poetry is a new and indispensable encyclopedic guide to American poetry with more than 1,200 entries, ranging in length from 500 to 1,500 words. Intended for high school and college students, this invaluable resource explores the various writers, works, themes, and movements of this intriguing literary genre.Volume 1 contains entirely new material, including new entries on poems, and extensive, new coverage on poets before 1900. Volume 2 is a revised and updated edition of ""The Facts On File Companion to 20th-Century American Poetry"", with more than 100 new entries added on important poems and recent poets. Its appendixes include a general bibliography and a list of winners for major poetry prizes.

This guide to poems written during the Old English and Medieval periods covers criticism from 1925 to 1990. There are 4500 explication on Chaucer, Beowulf, Piers Plowman, Sir Gawain and the Green Knight and many other works. Sources include books, journals, articles, anthologies and dissertations, and the bibiography reflects a variety of critical methods: new historical;Marxist; psychological; linguistic; stylistic; deconstructionist; and rhetorical. Poems are listed alphabetically by title, while the critical sources are listed under individual poems, and are arranged alphabetically by author.

This Companion is both an alphabetically arranged reference work and, in its sum, a history, a map of modern poetry in English. From the last decade of the century, it offers a survey of the terrain, from 1900 to the present, and from Britain and America to New Zealand, Pakistan, Singapore,Trinidad, Zimbabwe - anywhere, if fact, where poets write in English. It charts the shift from `poetry' to `poetries' - from primarily British and American traditions to a rich diversity of younger poetic identities elsewhere.

This handbook defines the tools, terms, and techniques of poetry. Arranged alphabetically from "accent" to "zeugma," The Poets Dictionary is clear, superb, and complete.

Through three editions over more than four decades, The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics has built an unrivaled reputation as the most comprehensive and authoritative reference for students, scholars, and poets on all aspects of its subject: history, movements, genres, prosody, rhetorical devices, critical terms, and more.