English & Literature

Cyclopedia of Literary Characters provides critical descriptions of more than 20,000 characters that appear in 3,311 works of world literature, offering readers the opportunity to become familiar with both famous and less well-known personalities from the classics, popular fiction and plays.

A dictionary of characters from American literature. The two volumes cover more than two centuries of characters, from 1789, the date of the first American novel, through to the 20th century. There are more than 16,000 entries - over 5000 more than in the previous edition -spanning a broad scope of contemporary popular fiction, including characters from dozens of American novels published since 1980. Drawn from award-winning, best-selling and critically-acclaimed works, each entry identifies the novel in which the character appears and summarizes the character's role and relationship to other characters in the novel. This edition also includes indices that allow readers to search for information by title and author.

When the Revolutionary War began, Nathanael Greene was a private in the militia, the lowest rank possible, yet he emerged from the war with a reputation as George Washington's most gifted and dependable officer--celebrated as one of three most important generals. Upon taking command of America's Southern Army in 1780, Nathanael Greene was handed troops that consisted of 1,500 starving, nearly naked men. Gerald Carbone explains how within a year, the small worn-out army ran the British troops out of Georgia, South Carolina, and North Carolina and into the final trap at Yorktown. Despite his huge military successes and tactical genius Greene's story has a dark side. Gerald Carbone drew on 25 years of reporting and researching experience to create his chronicle of Greene's unlikely rise to success and his fall into debt and anonymity.

Barron's classic work has been updated and reorganized to reflect changes in the genre over the past decade, and meet the needs and tastes of today's readers and those who work with them. Renowned experts in the field have contributed to this new edition, providing authoritative historical and contemporary coverage of the best in science fiction. Users will find succinct, critical discussions of more than 1,400 SF novels, story collections, and anthologies.

In this new edition, what was already an expansive work has been updated and further enlarged to include information not only on American and British novelists but also on writers in English from around the world.

Many women writers have secured a solid place in the literary canon, while others have remained marginalized. This reference includes alphabetically arranged entries on roughly 70 women writers whose works are widely read in English, and on some 20 related topics.

First Published in 1999. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. With more than 200 entries written by a team of international contributors, this Encyclopedia successfully covers the popular to the esoteric. The Encyclopedianbsp;is an invaluable reference resource for those studying Latin American and/or Caribbean literature as well as being of huge interest to those folowing Spanish or Portuguese language courses.

Critical interest in foreign novels, especially the Latin American and African novel, has burgeoned in the past two decades. The purpose of this reference bibliography is to provide easier access to the criticism produced from 1965 to 1975 on novels published in Africa, Latin America, Europe, Asia, Canada, Australia, and the middle East. A second volume will cover criticism between 1976 and 1985.

By the author of the award-winning ""The Facts On File Companion to the American Short Story"", this encyclopedic resource examines the great American novel in all of its diversity. Spanning the earliest novels that imitated the literary fashions of England to the 21st-century prize-winners, from literary classics to contemporary popular favorites, this reference traces the history of the novel in the United States.

Gothic Literature is the fourth set in the Gale Critical Companion Collection, the series that provides a broad contextual understanding of topics and movements in literature and the humanities. This exciting three-volume set spans all facets of the gothic, including visual and performing arts, society and culture, and themes and settings. Complete with primary source documents and critical material to provide contextual perspective, a related chronology of key events, full-text commentaries, lists of further readings and many other extras, this new set benefits everyone from students doing gothic research to the general gothic fiction reader.

Unlike guides that take a simple geographic-chronological approach to listing historical fiction, this book takes a genre approach, with chapters devoted to historical romances, mysteries, adventures, etc. By grouping titles by subgenre and theme, and describing their features and plots, it guides users to similar titles and read-alikes. Focusing on English-language novels published since the mid '90s, plus the perennial favorites commonly available in libraries, it details 3,800 books set in times prior to the mid-20th century.

The Novel Now is an intelligent and engaging survey of contemporary British fiction. Discusses familiar names such as Martin Amis, Ian McEwan, Salman Rushdie, and Angela Carter and compares them with more recent authors, including David Mitchell, Ali Smith, A.L. Kennedy, Matt Thorne, Nicola Barker, and Toby Litt Incorporates original coverage of subgenres such as chick lit, lad lit, gay fiction, crime fiction, and the historical novel Discusses the ways in which notions of regional identity and tribalist views have surfaced in UK and Irish fiction, and how post-Imperial sensibility has become a feature of the 'British' novel Situates contemporary fiction within its socio-cultural and literary contexts.

First Published in 1998. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

The objective of seismic exploration is to delineate the subsurface structure of the earth. A large variety of computer-processing methods are available to transform the observed seismic data into a form that is more useful to the seismic interpreter. An important subdivision of these methods comes under the heading Seismic Inversion and Deconvolution.

The canon of Victorian fiction represents only a minuscule fraction of the thousands of titles available to read. Here, in language often reflecting Victorian modes of expression, Sutherland makes this fraction more accessible through a dictionary arrangement of 1606 author and title entries. Authors and titles naturally predominate, but publishers, periodicals, illustrators, and sub-genres are treated as well. Compulsively browsable, this companion offers new discoveries on each page, even to those immersed in the field.

This unique resource provides readers with a systematic guide to the central themes in 150 of the most commonly taught American novels. Each of the 50 well written essays identifies and discusses an important theme, such as Alienation, Corruption of Power, and Immigrant Life that recurs in American literature.

Works of science fiction and fantasy increasingly explore gender issues, feature women as central characters, and are written by women writers. This book examines women's contributions to science fiction and fantasy across a range of media and genres, such as fiction, nonfiction, film, television, art, comics, graphic novels, and music.