Anthropology Librarian
Key Journals
The following journals are devoted exclusively to Anthropology and Archaeology. The links will often take you to a Primo record that shows multiple online options. This is because of differences in date ranges covered. For instance, a publishers website may have the most recent issues, but won't go back further than when our online subscription began. For the oldest issues, you could use an archival database like JSTOR; it will have holdings back to volume 1 issue 1, but may have a 6 year embargo on new content. Read the details under "Full text availability."
Please note, many journals not listed here may contain articles about these subjects; thus, the need to consult a periodical database or index. Current issues of periodicals the library receives in paper are arranged alphabetically by title on the third floor; print back issues are bound and are available for request from the ARC, while microform back issues are arranged by call number on the third floor.
- American AnthropologistThe flagship journal of the American Anthropological Association, publishes articles that add to, integrate, synthesize, and interpret anthropological knowledge; commentaries and essays on issues of importance to the discipline; and reviews of books, films, sound recordings and exhibits.
- American Antiquity; A Quarterly Review of American ArchaeologyThe journal of the Society of American Archaeologists presents articles on the archaeology of the Americas and on worldwide archaeological method, theory, and practice.
- American EthnologistPublishes scholarly articles concerning any human group or society, addressing such issues as social organization, politics, ethnicity, ritual, and economy. Substantial book review section, averaging 20 to 50 reviews per issue.
- American Journal of Archaeology: The Journal of the Archaeological Institute of AmericaDevoted to publishing scholarly articles on the art and archaeology of ancient Europe and the Mediterranean world, including the Near East and Egypt, from prehistoric to late antique times.
- American Journal of Biological Anthropology (former title: American Journal of Physical Anthropology)The major journal in the field of physical anthropology, with articles on human evolution, behavior, genetics, primate physiology, and other topics.
- Annual Review of AnthropologyA standard source for an in-depth overview of recent and past developments in psychology.
Annual Reviews: 1972 - present - Antiquity: A Periodical Review of ArchaeologyPublishes 10 to 12 peer-reviewed articles in each issue, as well as a news section focusing on current research developments.
Online (1993 - present)
ARC Periodicals CC1 .A7 (1927-2014) - ArchaeologyPublished under the auspices of the Archaeological Institute of America, this title is a general-interest magazine on the subject.
Online (1999+) Academic Search Premier
Online (1996+) Selected articles available via free e-journal
ARC Periodicals GN700 .A725 (1948+) - Current AnthropologyA journal devoted to research in a wide variety of areas: social, cultural, and physical anthropology, as well as ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and linguistics.
Online (1959-) JSTOR most recent 6 years not available
Online (1997+) U of Chicago Press - Florida AnthropologistThe official journal of the Florida Anthropological Society.
Online (Selected articles) UF Digital Collections
General Collection E78.F6 F58 (1948-2008) - The Journal of Anthropological ArchaeologyOnline (1993+) ScienceDirect
General Collection CC79 .E85 J68 (1986+) - The Journal of Anthropological ResearchOnline (1973+ except last 4 years)
Online (2005+ ) U of Chicago Press
General Collection GN1 .S642 (1973+) - The Journal of Field ArchaeologyOnline (1974+ except last 8 years) JSTOR
Online (1998+ ) Taylor & Francis
Microfilm CC1 .J69 (1974-1976)
General Collection CC1 .J69(1977-1981; 1983+) - The Journal of the Royal Anthropological InstituteOnline (1995+ except last 6 years) JSTOR
Online (2000+) Wiley
General Collection GN1 .M25 (1995-2004) - Latin American AntiquityA journal of the Society for American Archaeology
- World ArchaeologyOnline (1969+ except last 8 years) JSTOR
Online (1997+) Taylor & Francis
ARC MAIN CC1 .W67 (1969-2007)
About Peer-Reviewed Articles
READ FIRST: The following video tutorials employ screenshots that show a "Journals List" button below the Primo search box. The homepage has since changed, so "Journals List" is now simply called "Journals" and is located in a tab to the right of Primo Search.
- Using Ulrichsweb to Check if a Journal is Peer-ReviewedFound an article but you're not sure if you can use it for your paper? Look it up in our Ulrichsweb database; this video will walk you through the process.