Your argument may need statistics for emphasis and to help make your case. The following sources are good starting points.
ASI: American Statistics Index
Main Library U.S. Documents Reference Z 7554 .U5 A46
Provides data published by federal sources. It includes major statistical and research agencies, as well as regulatory agencies, congressional committees, judicial offices, special councils, commissions and boards, and many other sources of economic, demographic, and social statistics. Accompanied by the ASI Microfiche Library (available in Main Library U.S. Documents Microfiche Z 7554 .U5 A 46), which includes approximately 90 percent all source data indexed.
Florida Statistical Abstract
Main Library Ready Reference HA 311 .F55
Provides a comprehensive collection of statistics on social, political, and economic data of the state.
IIS: Index to International Statistics
Main Library U.S. Documents Reference HA 155 .I5
Indexes and abstracts English language statistical publications of the world's major intergovernmental organizations, such as the United Nations, the European Union, and the Organization of American States. Indexed by subject, name, geographic area, category (age, commodity, country, company, industry, sex), issuing source, title, and publication number. Accompanied by the IIS Microfiche Library (available in Main Library U.S. Documents Microfiche HA 155. I5), which includes approximately 90 percent all source data indexed.
SRI: Statistical Reference Index
Main Library U.S. Documents Reference HA 155 .S72
Indexes and abstracts national and state data from sources other than those of the U.S. federal government. Includes statistics on business, industry,finance, socio-economic conditions, government and politics, the environment, and population. Abstracts are grouped by information source (e.g., business organizations, commercial publishers, state governments). Indexed by subject and name; geographic, economic, and demographic categories; issuing source; and title. Accompanied by the SRI Microfiche Library (available in Main Library U.S. Documents Microfiche HA 155 .S72).
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Main Library Ready Reference HA 202
The first place to check for statistics on the United States. Updated annually, it lists social, political, economic, and demographic data.
An online database that provides over 30,000 statistical tables on various United States and international statistics. Includes social, political, and economic data. Provides online access to the following print indexes and accompanying microfiche:
- ASI: American Statistics Index
Statistics from all brances and agencies of the federal government.
- IIS: Index to International Statistics
Statistics from international intergovernmental organizations such as the United Nations, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, the European Union, the International Monetary Fund and many others.
- SRI: Statistical Reference Index (SRI)
Statistics from state government agencies, private organizations, consumer and trade publications, business organizations, independent research organizations, and university research centers.
Statistics Sources
Main Library Ready Reference HA 36 .S84
Subtitle: "A Subject Guide to Data on industrial, Business, Social, Educational, Financial, and Other Topics for the United States and Internationally." Arranged by alphabetic subject list; sources of statistical information are arranged alphabetically by issuing organization within each subject category. Two appendixes: "Source Publications" and "Sources of Nonpublished Statistical Data."