Spanish Literature (Medieval & Golden Age)

Cervantes is undoubtedly one of the world's most influential authors. While scholars continue to debate his role as the inventor of the novel, readers have found centuries of entertainment and inspiration in his works

Contributions of Iberian-born writers have gone largely unrecognized by most European and American readers. The rich history of literary achievements in the Iberian Penninsula is now available in this unprecedented dictionary.

Spanish literature includes some of the world's greatest works and authors. It is also one of the most widely studied. This reference looks at the literature of Spain from the perspective of women's studies. Though the volume focuses on the literature of Spain written in Castilian, it also includes survey entries on the present state of women's literature in Catalan, Galician, and Basque.

Este volumen de la obra va dedicado al estudio de la literatura española desde Armando Palacio Valdés hasta Vicente Blasco Ibáñez.

This award winning, definitive work is an A-Z guide to the mundane and supernatural lore of the Middle Ages. Over a decade in the making, Medieval Folklore is your A-Z guide to the mundane and supernatural lore of the Middle Ages.

A comprehensive, cross-referenced guide to the literature written in the languages of Spain and Central and South America, with entries on works and authors comprising the bulk of the book.

The Golden Age of Spanish drama extends from the close of the 15th century to the death of Calderón in 1681. During that time, the humanists, as dramatists, followed Italy's artistic awakening direction, and imitated Classical drama.

A complementary companion to the author's Dictionary of Medieval Knighthood: Concepts and Terms (Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1986), this takes the Norman conquest of England in 1066 as its starting point and the late fourteenth century, marked by the unsuccessful revolt of the English peasantry in 1381, as its concluding point.

Published under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies Visit every aspect of medieval life in Western Europe, the Scandinavian north, the Byzantine and Slavic east, the Muslim south, and the ubiquitous world of Judaism from A.D. 500 to 1500. Here you can explore the conditions of daily life, major and minor figures, terms and concepts, countries and provinces, and movements, monuments, people, and events.

First published in 2000. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

The Encyclopedia of the Early Church is a two-volume reference work providing concise and precise information on all topics concerning the first eight centuries of Christianity.

First Published in 2001. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

What is supposed to be an encyclopedic reference book is in fact a more general guide to women living between AD 500 and 1500. Neither detailed nor comprehensive, it is aimed at a general readership who is seeking brief details on the best known women of the time. The short biographies are interspersed with general thematic discussions including family, marriage, religion, employment, slavery, clothing etc. Includes many genealogical charts.

On October 12, 1992, five hundred years will have passed since Christopher Columbus made landfall on San Salvador. His voyage across the Atlantic Ocean set in motion a series of unprecedented social, political, economic, and cultural forces that changed the entire world. The Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Empire looks at the process by which Spain extended its influence across the globe.

As part of a unique series covering the grand sweep of Western civilization from ancient to present times, this biographical dictionary provides introductory information on 315 leading cultural figures of late medieval and early modern Europe.

As the first comprehensive reference to the vital world of medieval Spain, this unique volume focuses on the Iberian kingdoms from the fall of the Roman Empire to the aftermath of the Reconquista.

The Golden Age of Spanish drama extends from the close of the 15th century to the death of Calderón in 1681. During that time, the humanists, as dramatists, followed Italy's artistic awakening direction, and imitated Classical drama.

The experiences of women in the Middle Ages have been receiving growing amounts of attention, and we are only now beginning to appreciate the full extent of their contributions.