To determine the number of the Public Law, use one of the following:
Two other listings of federal laws by name are
CIS U.S. Serial Set Index, Part XIII, Index by Reported Bill Numbers, 1817-1969
This print index is located in the UCF Library on the first floor at U.S. Documents Reference Z 1223.Z9 C65 1975. Follow the instructions to proceed from the library entrance to the East stairs and down to the first floor. From the stairwell turn left at the first corner and the books will be just around the corner against the wall.
The index identifies the committee reports and documents associated with a specific bill, arranged by Congressional session and bill number.
The UCF Library has the full text of these reports available on microfiche.
Similar index access by bill number is available online in ProQuest Congressional, but you will still need to use the microfiche for access to the full text.
ProQuest Congressional, Historical Indexes, 1789-1969
This online index can be used to identify Congressional publications prior to 1969.
The UCF Library has the full text of the Serial Set and published committee hearings available on microfiche, with much of the Serial Set also available online.
The unpublished hearings and pre-1969 committee prints are not currently available at UCF.
NOTE: The indexing by keyword and bill number is not comprehensive, so be creative in your search strategy.
If you haven't already done so, consider reviewing your topic in a specialized encyclopedia, e.g.,
Search for articles discussing the legislation in journals and newspapers. These articles may help in your analysis of the legislative history documents gathered in the previous steps.
Continue your research by looking for articles in other journals and newspapers.
Databases -- Some of the databases and indexes available at UCF can be used to locate professional journals in political science or in the discipline of the legislative topic. Note that you may find articles in more recent journal issues looking back at laws enacted much earlier than the publication date of the journal. Examples of some databases to consider include: