Skip to Main Content
UCF Libraries Home

Film and Digital Media

Selected Series

Published by the British Film Institute, the BFI Film Classics series "introduces, interprets, and celebrates landmarks of world cinema. Each volume offers an argument for the film's 'classic' status, together with discussion of its production and reception history, its place within a genre or national cinema, an account of its technical and aesthetic importance, and in many cases, the author's personal response to the film" (publisher's description). Currently, the UCF Libraries have 134 titles from the series.

Among the titles available are the following:
  • 8 1/2 = Otto e mezzo (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1997 .O77 M54 2008)
  • The Birds (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1997 .B475 P35 1998)
  • Chinatown (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1997 .C46447 E28 1997)
  • Citizen Kane (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1997 .C51173 M85 1992)
  • Cléo de 5 à 7 (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1997 .C6442 U54 2008
  • Double Indemnity (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1997 .D6553 S35 1992)
  • Lawrence of Arabia (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1997 .L353 J33 2007)
  • The Manchurian Candidate (Main Library General Collection PN1997.M363 .M37 2002)
  • The Night of the Hunter (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1997 .N5213 C35 2000)
  • Night of the Living Dead (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1995.9 .Z63 H47 2008)
  • Seven Samurai (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1997 .S4726 M44 2002)
  • Singin' in the Rain (Main Library ARC General Collection PN PN 1997 .S5133 W67 1992)
  • The Sound of Music (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1997 .S63373 F55 2015)
  • Star Wars (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1997 .S65943 B76 2009)
  • Sweet Smell of Success (Main Library General Collection PN 1997 .S895 N37 2010)
 
This series, published by the University Press of Mississippi, collects interviews with the world’s most celebrated filmmakers. Currently, there are 136 titles in the series.

Among the titles available are the following:
  • Agnès Varda (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1998.3 .V368 A5 2014)
  • Akira Kurosawa (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1998.3 .K87 A3 2008)
  • Billy Wilder (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1998.3 .W56 A5 2001)
  • Charlie Chaplin (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 2287 .C5 A3 2005)
  • The Coen Brothers (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1998.3 .C6635 C64 2006)
  • Federico Fellini (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1998.3 .F45 A3 2006)
  • Francis Ford Coppola (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1998.3 .C67 A3 2004)
  • Fritz Lang (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1998.3 .L36 A5 2003)
  • Jean Renoir (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1998.3 .R46 A3 2005)
  • John Waters (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1998.3 .W38 A3 2011)
  • Orson Welles (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1998.3 >W45 A5 2002)
  • Stephen Spielberg (Main Library General Collection PN1998.3.S65 A5 2000)
  • Terry Gilliam (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1998.3 .G55 A3 2004)
  • William Friedkin (Main Library ARC General Collection PN1998.3.F75 W55 2020)
  • William Wyler (Main Library ARC General Collection PN 1998.3 .W95 A5 2010)