Online Book Sources: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Handbooks

• AE: Encyclopedias
• AS: Academies & Learned Societies
• AY: Yearbooks. Almanacs. Directories

• B: Philosophy (General)
• BC: Logic
• BD: Speculative Philosophy
• BF: Psychology
• BH: Aesthetics
• BJ: Ethics
• BL: Religions. Mythology. Rationalism
• BM: Judaism
• BP: Islam. Bahaism. Theosophy, Etc.
• BQ: Buddhism
• BR: Christianity
• BS: The Bible
• BT: Doctrinal Theology
• BX: Christian Denominations

See also ACLS Humanities E-Books and Oxford Scholarship Online

• CB: History of Civilization
• CC: Archaeology
• CE: Technical Chronology. Calendar
• CS: Genealogy
• CT: Biography

• D: History (General)
• DA: Great Britain
• DB: Austria, Liechtenstein, Hungary, Czechoslovakia
• DC: France, Andorra, Monaco
• DD: Germany
• DE: Greco-Roman World
• DF: Greece
• DG: Italy, Malta
• DH: Low Countries. Benelux Countries
• DJ: Netherlands (Holland)
• DK: Russia. Soviet Union. Former Soviet Republics. Poland
• DL: Northern Europe. Scandinavia
• DP: Spain, Portugal
• DQ: Switzerland
• DR: Balkan Peninsula
• DS: Asia
• DT: Africa
• DU: Oceania

• E 11-49.2: America
• E 75-99: Indians of North America
• E 151-169.12: United States--General
• E 171-183.9: United States--History
• E 184: U.S.--Elements in the Population
• E 184.5-185.98: U.S.--Afro-Americans
• E 201-298: U.S.--The Revolution, 1775-1783
• E 401-415.2: U.S.--Mexican War, 1846-1848
• E 441-453: Slavery in the United States. Antislavery Movements
• E 456-655: U.S.--Civil War Period, 1861-1865
• E 660-738: U.S.--Late 19th Century, 1865-1900
• E 740-837.7: U.S.--20th Century
• E 838-889: U.S.--Later 20th Century, 1961-2000

• F 1-975: United States Local History
• F 1001-1170: British, Dutch, French America
• F 1201-3799: Latin America. Spanish America
• F 1201-1392: Mexico
• F 1401-1419: Latin America (General)
• F 1421-1577: Central America
• F 1601-2151: West Indies
• F 2201-3799: South America

• G: Geography (General). Atlases. Maps
• GB: Physical Geography
• GC: Oceanography
• GE: Environmental Sciences
• GF: Human Ecology. Anthropogeography
• GN: Anthropology
• GR: Folklore
• GT: Manners & Customs (General)
• GV: Recreation. Leisure. Sport

• H: Social Sciences (General)
• HA: Statistics
• HB: Economic Theory. Demography
• HC: Economic History & Conditions
• HD: Industries. Land Use. Labor
• HE: Transportation & Communications
• HF: Commerce
• HG: Finance
• HM: Sociology (General)
• HN: Social History & Conditions. Social Problems. Social Reform
• HQ: Family. Marriage. Women
• HS: Societies: Secret, Benevolent, Etc.
• HT: Communities. Classes. Races
• HV: Social Pathology. Social & Public Welfare. Criminology
• HX: Socialism. Communism. Anarchism

See also:

• Springer books for social sciences and business & economics
• Oxford Scholarship Online for business, management, economics, finance, and social work
• Cambridge Core - Management eBooks

• JA: Political Science (General)
• JC: Political Theory
• JF: Political Institutions & Public Administration
• JK: Political Inst. & Public Admin. (United States)
• JL: Political Inst. & Public Admin. (Canada, Latin America, etc.)
• JN: Political Inst. & Public Admin. (Europe)
• JQ: Political Inst. & Public Admin. (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific Area, etc.)
• JS: Local Government. Municipal Government
• JV: Colonies & Colonization. Emigration & Immigration. Int'l Migration
• JX: International Law (obsolete - see JZ & KZ)
• JZ: International Relations

See also Oxford Scholarship Online

• K: Law in General. Comparative & Uniform Law. Jurisprudence
• KF: United States

See also Springer books for law, Oxford Scholarship Online, and the list of links for legal abbreviations.

Search the UCF Library Catalog for other online books and other reference books about law.

• LA: History of Education
• LB: Theory & Practice of Education
• LC: Special Aspects of Education

See also Springer books for education.

The UCF Libraries provide online access to a variety of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference resources. Consider entries from some of these works to explain fundamental concepts or to clarify specific topics.

The guide for Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Handbooks identifies all of the online books available in the following library databases:

• Access Medicine
• Annual Reviews
• Biography Resource Center
• Business & Company Resource Center
• Credo Reference
• Gale Directory Library
• Gale Virtual Reference Library
• Health & Wellness Resource Center
• History Resource Center: U.S.
• Literature Resource Center
• Magill
• MD Consult
• NetAdvantage
• Ovid Books
• Peterson's
• R2 Health Sciences Books
• Thieme Electronic Book Library

A sampling of titles from the NetLibrary database is listed, but please note that titles in the NetLibrary database should not be assigned for classroom reading assignments because only one person at a time can access a specific NetLibrary title.

• ML: Literature on Music

• N: Visual Arts
• NA: Architecture
• NC: Drawing. Design. Illustration
• ND: Painting
• NK: Decorative Arts
• NX: Arts in General

See also ACLS Humanities E-Books

• P: Philology. Linguistics
• PA: Greek Language & Literature. Latin Language & Literature
• PB: Modern Languages. Celtic Languages
• PC: Romanic Languages
• PE: English Language
• PF: West Germanic Languages
• PG: Slavic, Baltic, & Albanian Languages
• PJ: Oriental Languages & Literatures
• PK: Indo-Iranian Languages & Literatures
• PL: Languages & Literatures of Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceania
• PN: Literature (General)
• PQ: French/Italian/Spanish/Portuguese Literature
• PR: English Literature
• PS: American Literature
• PT: German, Dutch, Scandinavian Literatures

See also ACLS Humanities E-Books and Oxford Scholarship Online for classical studies, linguistics, and literature

• Q: Science (General)
• QA: Mathematics
• QB: Astronomy
• QC: Physics
• QD: Chemistry
• QE: Geology
• QH: Biology
• QK: Botany
• QL: Zoology
• QM: Human Anatomy
• QP: Physiology
• QR: Microbiology

See also Oxford Scholarship Online for biology, neuroscience, and physics

• R: Medicine (General)
• RA: Public Aspects of Medicine
• RB: Pathology
• RC: Internal Medicine
• RD: Surgery
• RE: Ophthalmology
• RF: Otorhinolaryngology
• RG: Gynecology & Obstetrics
• RJ: Pediatrics
• RK: Dentistry
• RM: Pharmacology
• RS: Pharmacy & Materia Medica
• RT: Nursing
• RX: Homeopathy
• RZ: Other Systems of Medicine

See also the UCF College of Medicine e-books directory the Springer books for medicine, and Oxford Scholarship Online for neuroscience, public health, and epidemiology.

• S: Agriculture
• SB: Plant Culture
• SF: Animal Culture

• T: Technology
• TA: Engineering (General). Civil Engineering
• TC: Hydraulic Engineering. Ocean Engineering
• TH: Building Construction
• TJ: Mechanical Engineering & Machinery
• TK: Electrical Engineering. Electronics. Nuclear Engineering
• TL: Motor Vehicles. Aeronautics. Astronautics
• TN: Mining Engineering. Metallurgy
• TP: Chemical Technology
• TR: Photography
• TS: Manufactures
• TT: Handicrafts. Arts & Crafts
• TX: Home Economics

See also Springer books for engineering and computer science.

See also the Synthesis series.

• U: Military Science (General)
• UA: Armies: Organization, Distribution, Military Situation
• UC: Maintenance & Transportation
• UF: Artillery
• UG: Military Engineering. Air Forces

• V: Naval Science (General)

• Z: Books (General). Writing. Paleography. Book industries and trade. Libraries. Bibliography