UCF Research Guides: Elections: Foreign Elections

Key Foreign Election Resources

Elections Around the World [broken link]
Wilfried Derksen's database on elections, parties and parliaments, including results of recent elections worldwide
Elections & Electoral Systems Around the World
provides links arranged by country.

British Election Resources

British Electoral Facts, 1832-1987
Call Number: Reference JN 1037 .C667 1989
- General Elections
- By-Elections
- Expenses
- Electorate
- Forfeited Deposits
- Gains & Losses
- The Parties
- Postal Voting
- Public Opinion Polls
- Women
- European Parliament
- Local Government
- Referendums
- Miscellaneous
British Electorate, 1963-1992
Call Number: Reference JN 956 .C74 1995
- Vote
- Party Identification
- Party Membership
- The Electoral Decision
- Interest in Elections
- Party Image
- The Economy
- Business, Trade Unions & Strikes
- Nationalisation & Privatisation
- The Welfare State
- Issues of Citizenship
- Newspaper Readership
Elections & Electoral Systems Around the World - United Kingdom
Twentieth-Century British Political Facts, 1900-2000
Call Number: Reference JN 231 .B8 2000
provides election results for the United Kingdom.

Other Foreign Election Resources

Competitive Elections in Developing Countries
Call Number: General Collection JF 60 .C66 1987
includes tables with various election data for:
- Costa Rica (1844-1982)
- India (1952-1980)
- Jamaica (1944-1980)
- Malaysia (1959-1978)
- Nigeria (1957-1979)
- Portugal (1934-1980)
- Romania (1919-1937)
- Sri Lanka (1947-1977)
- Turkey (1950-1979)
- Venezuela (1946-1979)
Elections in Africa: A Data Handbook
Call Number: Reference JQ 1879 .A55 .E44 1999
Narrative chapters for each country include data tables:
- Dates of National Elections, Referendums & Coups d'Etat
- Electoral Body
- Abbreviations & Full Names of Political Parties & Alliances
- Electoral Participation of Parties & Alliances
- Distribution of Votes in National Referendums
- Elections to Constitutional Assembly
- Parliamentary Elections
- Composition of Parliament
- Presidential Elections
- List of Power Holders
European Political Facts, 1848-1918
Call Number: Reference JN 10 .C66 1848-1918
provides election results for European countries.
European Political Facts, 1900-1996
Call Number: Reference JN 12 .C637 1998 (1900-1996)
provides election results for European countries.
International Almanac of Electoral History
Call Number: Reference JF 1001 .M17 1991
"The countries included here are advanced industrialized nations regularly holding competitive elections since the end of the Second World War. The volume thus covers more than 600 elections in 25 different countries using 17 different languages on four continents.... The starting point chosen [for each country] is the first election in which the great majority of seats for the national parliament were contested, and most candidates fought under party labels common across constituencies.... The United States has had the longest unbroken history of competitive national elections [1828+]; in Europe Belgium claims this honour [1847+]."
International Encyclopedia of Elections
Call Number: Reference JF 1001 .I57 2000
"Its 147 entries, ranging from 'Absentee Voting' to 'Women: Representation and Electoral Systems,' are designed to explain how diverse features of elections work in different historical, geographical, and cultural settings.... A reader wanting information about a particular country should turn to the appendix, which contains descriptive information about the election of the national legislature in 144 countries and provides details of presidential elections in the many countries that fill this office by direct election."