CItation Management & Writing Assistance
Citation Management Tools:
Writing Assistance:
- University Writing CenterHelp with writing, documentation styles, and more
Scientific Writing Help
Scientific writing is technical writing by a scientist, with an audience of peers- and is used to refer to reports of original research in journals. It is also used in the following: review articles (which summarize and synthesize previous research), annotated bibliographies (which aid others in performing research), abstracts (which summarize experiments or studies), and grant proposals (which seek funding for research). Scientific writing should be precise, clear and objective.
Resources on ACS Style
ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
ACS style is a set of guidelines developed by the American Chemical Society. By standardizing the way we format academic writing and the way in which we cite outside sources, readers know where to find the information they need, what types of sources are being used as evidence, and how to locate those sources for themselves.
ACS Guide to Scholarly CommunicationCall Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- QD 9.15
- ACS Style Quick GuideGo to this link to find examples of how to cite a journal article, book, online website, and more.
- ACS Reference Formatting and Examples by Source TypesUse this for an in-depth view of how to create ACS citations.
- ACS References4.3.1 - Why Cite?
4.3.2 - Creating References
4.3.3 - ACS Style Quick Guide
4.3.4 - Citation Elements
4.3.5 - Reference Formatting & Examples by Source Types
4.3.6 - Deriving a Citation for a New Content Type
4.3.7 - Addtional Resources & References
The ACS Style Guide: effective communication of scientific informationCall Number: UCF Main Library Reference -- QD8.5 .A25 2006ch4ck availability
This extensive revision of The ACS Style Guide thoroughly examines electronic tools now available to assist STM writers in preparing manuscripts and communicating with publishers. Valuable updates include discussions of markup languages, citation of electronic sources, online submission of manuscripts, and preparation of figures, tables, and structures. In keeping current with the changing environment, this edition also contains references to many resources on the internet. With this wealth of new information, The ACS Style Guide's Third Edition continues its long tradition of providing invaluable insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and writing style for any STM author, reviewer, or editor.
CSE Style Guide
Scientific Style & Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, & Publishers by Call Number: Main Library Reference -- T 11.S386 2006ch4ck availability
new edition anticipated in 2024- The Writer's Handbook: Council of Science Editors (CSE) Documentation Style byThis website provides some examples based on the Council of Science Editors (CSE) guide.
Write Like a Chemist
Write Like a Chemist: a guide & resource, 2nd editionCall Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- QD9.15 .W75 2022Write Like a Chemist (2nd ed.) is a one-of-a-kind volume, written to serve as a textbook and resource for chemistry students, post-docs, faculty, and other chemistry professionals. The book focuses on four types of chemistry writing: the journal article, conference abstract, scientific poster, and research proposal. The book includes numerous excerpts from American Chemical Society (ACS) journal articles, ACS conference abstracts, and successful NSF proposals, all serving as excellent models of scientific writing. A model poster is also included. Write Like a Chemist’s read–analyze–write approach underscores the importance of reading authentic texts, analyzing them, and using them as models for disciplinary writing. Analyses focus on conciseness, level of detail, and formality; organization; writing conventions; grammar and punctuation; and content expressed in prose and graphics. Exercises are included in each chapter. Together, these features turn the complex process of writing into graduated, achievable tasks. Additional features of the book include the formatting of figures, tables, citations, and references. ACS chemistry writing conventions, as advocated in the ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication (Banik et al., 2020), are modelled throughout.
