UCF Research Guides: Lodging Industry Research Guide: Market Research

Market Research & Consumer Behaviour

Business Insights (Gale) (1980+) This link opens in a new window
A collection of company & industry information, including articles, financials, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, and chronologies
(formerly Business & Company Resource Center)
Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCOhost) (1960+) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research, industry reports, and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism
IBISWorld - Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
A collection of Industry Market Research. Includes reports on many hospitality industries. Select the industry and then view the "Industry at a Glance" section of the report for the current revenue in dollars, the number of businesses, and the growth rate--for past 5 years and projected for next 5 years
Mergent Intellect by FTSE Russell This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Mergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence."
See video tutorials
"Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B®'s private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Additionally, through Mergent’s partnership with Whitepages Pro, clients now have immediate access to contact information for over 250 million U.S. consumers. This enhanced search tool features specific information - name, address, previous address, age, number of household members and reverse phone number lookup capabilities - another valuable source of business insight."
Mergent Online by FTSE Russell This link opens in a new window
NOTE: database will cease June 2025
Current business and industry financial information, including SEC filings, Executive Biographies, Ratios, and a rich report builder.
As of July 2017: also includes D&B Country RiskLine Reports, D&B Country Risk Profiles. and Mergent Country Profiles.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Contains market research reports covering U.S. and global consumer markets, including dozens related to the hospitality and tourism industries. Each report analyzes market share, segmentation, and trends along with providing comprehensive demographic profiles and consumer patterns.
Each report analyzes market share, segmentation, and trends along with providing comprehensive demographic profiles and consumer patterns.

NetAdvantage (S&P) This link opens in a new window
Database for searching information on stocks, companies, industries and mutual funds. Access to nine of the most popular S&P publications including Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Corporation Records, and The Outlook.
Orlando Sentinel (ProQuest Southeast News Stream) (1985+) This link opens in a new window
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Classifieds and advertisements are excluded.
Click for earlier content from the Sentinel and other area newspapers.
RKMA eBooks This link opens in a new window
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) publishes 12 biennial market research handbooks for the following markets: restaurant, food & beverage; sports; consumer; consumer behavior; international consumer; business-to-business; consumer use of the internet & mobile web; healthcare business; retail business; entertainment, media & advertising; leisure business; and travel & tourism.
Statistical Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides some full text & indexes all types of statistical publications:
- American Statistics Index (ASI) (1974+)
- Statistical Reference Index (SRI) (1980+)
- Index to International Statistics (IIS) (1983+)