Secondary Sources - AML 3286 - Early American Women's Words (Logan) - UCF Research Guides at University of Central Florida Libraries

Secondary Source Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
Indexing and full text of articles for array of scholarly and popular topics. Provides full text for over 4,600 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, science, cultural studies, education, and much more.
America: History & Life (EBSCOhost)
America: History and Life provides information about American history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Indexes over 2000 journals, as well as some books, collections, and dissertations, related to world history events from 1450 to the present (except the U.S. and Canada) published since 1955.
JSTOR
Full text of research journals and eBooks from numerous publishers. For most of the journal content, we can access all but the 3 to 5 most recent years of the journal.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) (1926+)
Indexes critical literary and language scholarship in journals and serials published worldwide.
Project MUSE (Johns Hopkins University)
a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300+ high quality humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
Research Areas:
- Area & Ethnic Studies
- Art & Architecture
- Creative Writing
- Education
- Film, Theater, & Performing Arts
- History
- Language & Linguistics
- Library Science & Publishing
- Literature
- Medicine & Health
- Music
- Philosophy
- Religion
- Science, Technology, & Mathematics
- Social Sciences
- Studies by Time Period
- Women's Studies, Gender, & Sexuality

Key Journals

Early American literature
Articles and reviews on American literature through the early national period, about 1830, for members of the Modern Language Association.
Early American Studies
Early American Studies is a semiannual publication sponsored by The McNeil Center for Early American Studies at the University of Pennsylvania. Early American Studies is dedicated to publishing original research on a broad range of topics. Each issue is organized with the goal of fostering research and scholarly inquiry into the histories and cultures of North America in the Atlantic world before 1850. Special emphasis is focused on topics and issues centered in the mid-Atlantic region.
Eighteenth-Century Studies (JSTOR)
JSTOR coverage dates back to 1967 but has a six year embargo. For more current issues, see Project Muse.
Eighteenth-Century Studies (Project Muse)
Project Muse coverage just goes back to 1995 but, unlike JSTOR, there is no embargo so you can access the most current issues.
Slavery and Abolition
Slavery & Abolition is the only journal devoted in its entirety to a discussion of the demographic, socio-economic, historical and psychological aspects of human bondage from the ancient period to the present. It is also concerned with the dismantling of the slave systems and with the legacy of slavery. The journal publishes research articles, comments, reflections, review articles and book reviews.
The William and Mary Quarterly
The William and Mary Quarterly is the leading journal of early American history and culture. Founded in 1892 and published by the Omohundro Institute in Williamsburg, Virginia, it is one of the oldest academic journals in the United States and was one of the first ten archived on JSTOR. Today, the Quarterly ranks among the most-cited journals covering a specific time and place and is one of the most-respected and most-acclaimed historical journals in the world.