Mango Languages
- Mango Languages This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Learn a new language from Mango Languages. Choose from more than 70 languages, including Latin American Spanish and English for speakers of other languages. Access Mango via your computer or download an app to your mobile device.
Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning (COERLL)
- COERLLSpanish OER Portal maintained by the University of Texas. Lots of high quality resources, including some by the Spanish in Texas project (see below).
- Don Quixote Classroom EditionOne of the highlights of COERLL is a classroom edition of Don Quixote that provides historical information, narrative techniques, lists of characters, themes, and keywords. Vocabulary appears in the margin opposite challenging words. Cultural references and proverbs from the work facilitate a deeper understanding. Each chapter contains checks for understanding and ends with activities to build vocabulary.
Spanish in Texas
While the focus of this project is on Spanish as spoken in Texas, it contains a wealth of Open language resources that can be repurposed, including a ready-made Canvas course. Here are some highlights:
- Canvas CourseThis course provides free and open practice quizzes for Spanish teachers and learners. No registration is required to use this course. The materials were developed by the Spanish in Texas (Links to an external site.) project team using video content from the SpinTX video archive (Links to an external site.).
- SpinTXThe SpinTX video archive provides access to selected video clips and transcripts from the Spanish in Texas Corpus, a collection of video interviews with bilingual Spanish speakers in Texas. Using SpinTX, you can search and tag the videos for features that match your interests, and create and share your favorite playlists.
- Spanish Grammar in ContextNice overview of basic grammar with audio.
- Spanish in the U.S.: Myths and FactsPrezi presentation.
OER Commons
Features a series of three Spanish language textbooks written by Jarod Reynolds, a community college Spanish instructor in Arizona. It contains explanations, examples, fill-in-the-blank activities, reading activities, writing activities, and speaking activities. All are available on OER commons under an Attribution-Non-Commercial-ShareAlike 4.0 license.
Beginning Spanish 102 TPRS: Teaching Proficiency through Reading and Storytelling.
Wikibooks
- Spanish TextbookEntry-level textbook that focus on Spanish as spoken in Spain, so it could be valuable if that’s a focus of these courses.