Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (DLB) (Gale) This link opens in a new windowThe award-winning Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars. The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes. a total of more than 400 volumes and 185,000 pages.
Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850
Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850 by Call Number: UCF Main Library Reference - 2nd Floor -- NX452.5.R64 E53 2004ISBN: 157958361XPublication Date: 2003-12-08In 850 analytical articles, this two-volume set explores the developments that influenced the profound changes in thought and sensibility during the second half of the eighteenth century and the first half of the nineteenth century. The Encyclopedia provides readers with a clear, detailed, and accurate reference source on the literature, thought, music, and art of the period, demonstrating the rich interplay of international influences and cross-currents at work; and to explore the many issues raised by the very concepts of Romantic and Romanticism.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
New Dictionary of the History of IdeasCall Number: UCF Main Library Reference - 2nd Floor -- CB9 .N49 2005ISBN: 0684313774Publication Date: 2004-12-03Experts examine major developments in intellectual history during the past 30 years. A board of specialists from various disciplines was assembled to reflect all aspects of knowledge from a global and gender-inclusive perspective, which allows readers to trace ideas and concepts across culture and time periods.
Oxford English Dictionary
- OED: Oxford English Dictionary (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new window"The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world."
The 20-volume print set is available in the Main Library Reference -- PE1625.M7 1989.
Reference Universe
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new windowUse this source to search our entire reference collection at once. Your results will be broken down by subject area, which is an effective way to search multi-disciplinary topics. An excellent way to locate scholarly companions, handbook,s and specialized encyclopedias containing unique data.
For example, running a search on Frankenstein in Reference Universe leads to 192 entries from many disciplines. Limiting to English Literature on the sidebar will direct you a more focused set of results including A companion to Romanticism, which contains two entries on Frankenstein. This is just one example. Explore different disciplines to get a sense of how multidisciplinary this topic is.
A Companion to Romanticism by Call Number: UCF ARC MAIN General Collection -- PR457 .C58 1998ISBN: 0631198520Publication Date: 1991-01-16The Companion to Romanticism is a major introductory survey from an international galaxy of scholars writing new pieces, specifically for a student readership, under the editorship of Duncan Wu.
