Skip to Main Content
UCF Libraries Home

Census Data Overview: Home

Understanding the Census


Key geography counts

  • 67 Counties
    • 4,245 census tracts (2010)
      • 11,442 block groups (2010)
        • 484,481 blocks (2010)

Other Florida census geographies

  • 20 metropolitan statistical areas, e.g., the Orlando-Kissimmee MSA encompasses all of Lake, Orange, Osceola & Seminole counties
  • 316 county subdivisions, sometimes with names similar to places contained within them, e.g., Orange County has 6 subdivisions (Apopka CCD, East Orange CCD, Orlando CCD, Southwest Orange CCD, Union Park CCD, Winter Garden-Ocoee CCD)
  • 920 places -- which occasionally extend across county boundaries
    • 411 incorporated places, e.g., Orange County has 13 incorporated places (Apopka, Bay Lake, Belle Isle, Eatonville, Edgewood, Lake Buena Vista, Maitland, Oakland, Ocoee, Orlando, Windermere, Winter Garden, Winter Park)
      • 268 cities, 124 towns, 19 villages
    • 509 census designated places, e.g., Orange County has 33 census designated places, including Alafaya, Aloma, Bithlo, Christmas, Four Corners (area includes part of Lake, Osceola, & Polk counties), Goldenrod (area includes part of Seminole County), Union Park, and University
  • 983 ZIP Code Tabulation Areas (ZCTAs)

Census Tract Maps

Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses from 1790 to 2000

Historical Statistics of the United States