American Theatre Companies
A three-volume set that provides summaries of stock and resident acting companies founded between 1749 and 1986. Each volume has an index of play titles and personal names.
Early English Books Online
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) (ProQuest)
This link opens in a new window
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Available on the ProQuest platform. The Chadwyck Healey platform is no longer available.
British Parliamentary Papers: Stage & Theatre (1831-1892)
- British Parliamentary Papers: Stage & TheatreCall Number: UCF Main Library British Parliamentary Papers - 1st Floor East -- PN2044.G5I7"The 1832 Select Committee report provides a comprehensive account of the British, and particularly the London, theatre in 1831-32. The recommendations of this committee formed the basis for two important Acts, the Dramatic Copyright Act of 1833 and the Theatres Act of 1843.
The growth of the music-hall and other less lofty forms of amusement was a feature of nineteenth-century entertainment. A conflict between the theatre and the music-hall was inevitable, this conflict forms the background to the Select Committee report of 1866. The 1892 inquiry (although its terms of reference are similar to earlier ones) did not examine the state of drama as such. This report in the face of the increasing variety and number of places of entertainment confined itself to examining the licensing system, safety regulations and other like matters."
library catalog record
- Volume 1: Report from the Select Committee appointed to inquire into the Laws Affecting Dramatic Literature, with minutes of evidence and appendix, 1831-32, 272 pp
- Volume 2: Report from the Select Committee appointed to inquire into the Laws Governing Theatres and Places of Public Entertainment with minutes of evidence, appendices and index, 1866, 428 pp
- Volume 3: Report from the Select Committee appointed to inquire into the Laws Governing Theatres and Places of Public entertainment with minutes of evidence, appendices and index, 1892, 618 pp
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (1749-1949)
British Theatre, Music, & Literature: High & Popular Culture, including:
- British Playbills, 1754-1882
- Drury Lane Theatre Archive; Manuscript Plays & Correspondence
- King's Theatre Haymarket Archive
- Popular Literature in 18th & 19th Century Britain
- Wandering Minstrels Archive
- Royal Philharmonic Society Archive & Music Manuscripts
European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
- 3,250+ works by 1,250+ authors in English (more than 1,000 titles by women)
- 3,658 works in French (more than 500 by women)
- 2,654 works in German
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)- Asia & the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange
- British Politics & Society
- British Theatre, Music, & Literature: High & Popular Culture
- Europe & Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization & Conquest
- European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
- Photography: The World through the Lens
- Science, Technology & Medicine, 1780-1925
- Women: Transnational Networks
Other History Resources
- The Oxford Companion to the TheatreCall Number: Reference PN 2035 .O9 1983Entries on actors, actresses, producers, directors, designers, dramatists, groups, movements, and theatrical techniques and technology.
- The Oxford Dictionary of PlaysCall Number: Reference PN 1625 .P38 2005"provides useful information and brief commentaries on the 1,000 most significant plays of the world theatre."
- Glencoe Theatre Historical Timeline"spans approximately the last 10,000 years...and contains over 200 people, places, events and works in Theatre history."
Day by Day...
a series of decade-by-decade chronologies of world events from 1920-1999. The series is designed to provide students and other readers with a quick reference to specific events.
Day by Day: The TwentiesCall Number: UCF Main Library Reference -- D 723 .D43 2008
Day by Day: The ThirtiesCall Number: UCF Main Library Reference -- D 723 .D39 2007
Day by Day: The SeventiesCall Number: UCF Main Library Reference -- D 848 .L4 1988
Day by Day: The EightiesCall Number: UCF Main Library Reference -- D 848 .M45 1995
Day by Day: The NinetiesCall Number: UCF Main Library Reference -- D 856 .A93 2004
Collections of News, Headlines & Significant Events
American Decades 1900-1999Call Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- E 169.12.A421Volumes for each decade, 1900-1909 through 1990-1999, with chapters about: - World Events - The Arts - Business & the Economy - Education - Fashion - Government & Politics - Law & Justice - Lifestyles & Social Trends - Media - Medicine & Health - Religion - Science & Technology - Sports
U-X-L American Decades, 2000-2009Call Number: UCF ONLINE General Collection -- E169.1 .U88 2012A cross-disciplinary source for a single, consistent reference to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history. Covers the first decade of the 21st Century and includes key events and social history.
Ch 1. Arts and entertainment -- ch 2. Business and the economy -- ch 3. Education -- ch 4. Government, politics, and law -- ch 5. Lifestyles and social trends -- ch 6. Medicine and health -- ch 7. Science and technology -- ch 8. Sports- African American History in The Press, 1851-1899Call Number: UCF Main Library Reference -- E 185.2.A25 1996ch4ck availability
"provides positive & negative portrayals of African Americans in more than 1,200 articles & editorials and over 470 cartoons & engravings from thirteen major newspapers of the nineteenth century." - Keesing's Contemporary Archives/Record of World Events (1931+)Call Number: UCF Main Library Reference - -- D410.K4ch4ck availability
provides weekly summaries of world events, drawn from newspapers, wire services, and other information sources. The issues from 1983 forward are monthly summaries. Includes the texts of speeches and documents. - Facts on File Yearbook (1941-1999)Call Number: UCF Main Library Reference -- D410.F3ch4ck availability
provides "a detailed, objective and timely weekly distillation of the news and current information as reported in more than 70 major newspapers and newsmagazines from the U.S. and around the world." - Facts on File World News Digest Yearbook (2000-2010)Call Number: UCF Main Library Reference -- D410.F3
- Facts on File World News Digest (1975-2009)archived in Nexis Uni database
- What They Said in ____ : The Yearbook of World OpinionCall Number: UCF Main Library General Collection -- D 410.W46ch4ck availability
Years of coverage: 1970 - 1978, 1981 - 1982, 1985 - 1995
provides excerpts from "speeches, lectures, interviews, radio & television addresses, news conferences, forums, symposiums, town meetings, committee hearings, random remarks to the press, or delivered on the floors of the United States Senate and House of Representatives or in the parliaments and palaces of the world" - A Matter of Fact: Statements Containing Statistics on Current Social, Economic, & Political IssuesCall Number: UCF Main Library Reference -- D 410.M37 (v.12-35)"selected full-text excerpts...encompass statistical statements related to current social, economic, political, health, & environmental public policy issues...from the Congressional Record, congressional hearings, the Debates of the House of Commons of the Canadian Parliament, numerous World Wide Web & gopher sites & almost 400 newspapers & periodicals"
The American Years: A Chronology of United States HistoryCall Number: UCF Main Library Reference -- E174.5 .G753 1999ch4ck availability
A chronology of events, developments, & trends from 1776 to 1997, in the following categories: international, national, transportation, religion, entertainment, education, arts/music, sports, business/industry/inventions, science/medicine, & literature/journalism.- America's front page news, 1690-1970Call Number: UCF Main Library Oversize -- E173 .E53 1970ch4ck availability
Consists chiefly of facsim. reproductions of over 300 newspaper front pages, each with an annotation
Growth of a New Republic (1690-1860) (pages 1-40) -- Civil War, Industrialization, & Reform (1861-1914) (pages 41-116) -- 20th Century Progress & Power (1914-1970) (pages 117-280)
each section is divided into "The Wars," "National Leaders," "Popular Movements," and "Triumphs & Tragedies"
