UCF Research Guides: Book Reviews: Arts and Humanities

Arts and Humanities

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)

Main Library Microfiche PE 71 .M6 (1920-1958)

Main Library General Collection PE 71 .M6 (1964+)

Cites reviews for some books listed, unlike the MLA International Bibliography, which does not include reviews.

Art and Architecture Source (1984+)

Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)

In the Document Type box, limit to "Book Review."

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

The advanced search mode allows limiting to book reviews.

ATLA Religion (1949+)

In the Publication Type box, limit to "Review."

Communication and Mass Media Complete

In the Document Type box, limit to "Book Review."

Humanities Source (1974+)

In the Document Type box, limit to "Book Review."

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (1943+)

The advanced search, under "Type," allows limiting to reviews.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (1973+)

To search for book reviews in the database, use the "Command Line" search, then select the code "Book title — BK."

Music Index

Online version (1976+)

Main Library General Collection ML 118 .M84 (1949-1972)

Citations to book reviews are listed under that heading in the body of the index. For the online version, in the Publication Type box, limit to "Printed Material Review."

Philosopher's Index (1940+)

In the Publication Type box, limit to "Book Review."

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1969+)

Limit Document Type to "Review of book."

Where's the Full Text?

If a database search tells you about an article but the full text of the article is not there, look for the "Get Full Text" link or icon. Integrated by the UCF Libraries into many databases, "Get Full Text" helps obtain the article in one of three ways:

> If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal.

> If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the UCF Libraries, there will be a link to the UCF Library Catalog. Click on that link and then check "Holdings" to see if the article is owned by UCF.

> If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy at UCF, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan Request which will bring up a form through which to request the UCF Libraries to obtain the article from another library.