Recommended Resources - LDR 3905 - Global Leadership - UCF Research Guides at University of Central Florida Libraries

Books and ebooks

While some library databases do index book chapters, you can also use Primo Search, the default search off of the library homepage to search for books and ebooks.

PrimoSearch This link opens in a new window
PrimoSearch combines search results from all of UCF's subscriptions to ProQuest databases, most of our online journals, and many databases from other vendors.
The previous discovery service QuickSearch from EBSCOhost ceased access at UCF at the end of September 2021. Please update all links to Primo.
The previous discovery service at UCF was QuickSearch. The previous name for QuickSearch was OneSearch.

Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
Indexing and full text of articles for array of scholarly and popular topics. Provides full text for over 4,600 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, science, cultural studies, education, and much more.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) (1971+)
- This link opens in a new window
Covers advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, business conditions, trends, corporate strategies & tactics, management techniques, competitive & product information, company histories & new product development
Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
Covers management, economics, finance, banking, investment, and related fields. Full text included for nearly 2,300 journals.
PAIS Index (ProQuest) (1915+)
contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, & more.
The print index provides coverage for 1915-1974 - Main Library Reference H1.P8
"PAIS (originally, the Public Affairs Information Service) was established in 1914. There are two databases created from the files: PAIS International and PAIS Archive. PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin 1977 and forward; it also includes PAIS print Foreign Language Index published 1972-1990, at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin.
The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. It is updated quarterly with over 17,000 current records added in total each year.
PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records and covers monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. The original, historical subject headings have been retained. PAIS Archive provides a unique perspective on the 20th century’s most important public and social policies, such as Prohibition, suffrage, pacifism, civil rights, McCarthyism, Vietnam War, and Watergate."
Social Sciences databases (ProQuest)
Search multiple databases:
- American Periodicals (1740-1940)
- British Periodicals (1681-1939)
- Digital National Security Archive
- eBooks
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- GenderWatch
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database (1975+)
- ProQuest Criminal Justice (1981+)
- ProQuest Deep Indexing: Computer Science
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Social Sciences
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Social Sciences
- ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection (1871+)
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975+)
APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) (1887+)
American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
"contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages."
Psychological Abstracts:
* 1927-1947 Microfilm BF1.P65
* 1948-2004 print in remote storage
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) (1980+)
"provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. The database is a must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework."
ERIC (EBSCOhost) (1966+)
ERIC is the most complete index to articles and reports on educational topics.
ERIC is available from several database vendors, including ProQuest. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.
GreenFILE
covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on: global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) (1979+)
Research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Statistical Information

INTERNATIONAL

NATIONAL

Statistical Abstracts of the United States (U.S. Census) (1878-2012)
The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011.