AML 3273 - Beat Literature & Mid-century Writers (Fogarty)
This guide covers the radical poetry and prose of seminal Beat writers such as Burroughs, Corso, Ferlinghetti, Ginsberg, Kerouac, and Snyder as well as lesser-known works by women beat writers like di Prima, Jones, and Waldman.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS228.B6 P75 2016
Publication Date: 2016-09-09
In the post-World War II era, authors of the beat generation produced some of the most enduring literature of the day. More than six decades since, work of the Beat Poets conjures images of unconventionality, defiance, and a changing consciousness that permeated the 1950s and 60s.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS228.B6 F45 2007
Publication Date: 2007-05-15
The most comprehensive photography collection of the people, players and friends of the Beat era in American literature. An essential resource and record of the main figures of this now legendary cultural movement from one of its most celebrated photographers.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS228.B6 B4244 2002
Publication Date: 2002-04-03
It has been fifty years since the Beats first came upon the literary scene and although the academy's hostility toward the Beats has not completely abated, it has certainly diminished. Today mainstream publishers are adding many Beat titles to their lists, and students of Beat literature can draw upon a wealth of critical resources that have been published in the last twenty years.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3513.I74 Z617 2010
Publication Date: 2010-05-20
The celebrated American poet Allen Ginsberg (1926-1997) began photographing in the late 1940s when he purchased a small, second-hand Kodak camera. For the next fifteen years he made intimate and often exuberant portraits of himself, his friends, and lovers, including the writers and poets Jack Kerouac, William Burroughs, and Gregory Corso as well as Beat personality Neal Cassady.
This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS228.B6 B4673 2021
Publication Date: 2021-03-01
This volume addresses integrating into the classroom Beat authors, texts, and themes associated with Beat writing, generally dated from the early 1950s to 1964-65, when the major social justice movements in the United States began to tear apart the fabric of post war containment culture andHippie counterculture became a dominant movement.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS228.B6 P45 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-13
The Beats takes us on a wild tour of a generation that, in the face of mainstream American conformity and conservatism, became known for its determined uprootedness, aggressive addictions, and startling creativity and experimentation. What began among a small circle of friends in New York and San Francisco during the late 1940s and early 1950s laid the groundwork for a literary explosion, and this striking anthology captures the storied era in all its incarnations.
This critical history takes readers through key works by these authors, but also radiates out to discuss dozens more writers and their works, showing how they all contributed to one of the most far-reaching literary movements of the post-World War II era. Moving from the early 1940s to the late 1960s, this book explores key aesthetic and thematic innovations of the Beat writers, the pervasiveness of the Beatnik caricature, the role of the counterculture in the post-war era, the involvement of women in the Beat project, and the changing face of Beat political engagement during the Vietnam War era.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS228.B6 B4675 2009
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
This valuable anthology does not further embalm the 'legend' of the Beats. Instead it allows its readers to hear authentic voices --Allen Ginsberg, William Burroughs, John ClellonHolmes, Diane di Prima, Philip Whalen, etc.--as well as introducing the thoughtful and responsible work of leading Beat scholars."--Joyce Johnson Amassed from the riches of the Naropa University audio archives, this collection offers an exciting new look at the Beats--whose influence lives on in the art and politics of our time
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS228.B6 C34 2022
Publication Date: 2022-04-15
Mexico features prominently in the literature and personal legends of the Beat writers, from its depiction as an extension of the American frontier in Jack Kerouac's On the Road to its role as a refuge for writers with criminal pasts like William S. Burroughs. Yet the story of Beat literature and Mexico takes us beyond the movement's superstars to consider the important roles played by lesser-known female Beat writers.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS228.B6 L37 2001
Publication Date: 2000-11-15
Blending biography, cultural history, and literary criticism, The Bop Apocalypse explores the religious concerns, metaphysical realities, and spiritual pursuits that undergirded the early friendship and literary collaborations of Jack Kerouac, Allen Ginsberg, and William S. Burroughs. Presenting a religious biography of the Beats from the mid-1940s to the late 1950s, John Lardas shows that in rejecting many of the cultural tenets of postwar America, Kerouac, Ginsberg, and Burroughs created new visions of both self and country, visions they articulated through distinctive literary forms.
Call Number: Daytona Beach General Collection ; PS228.B6 M66 2011
Publication Date: 2010-11-30
Capturing the Beat Moment: Cultural Politics and the Poetics of Presence places an expanded canon of Beat writers in an early postmodern context that highlights their importance in American poetics and provides an account of Beat practices that reveal how gender and race affect Beat politics of the moment. Mortenson argues that Beat writers focused on action, desire, and spontaneity to establish an authentic connection to the world around them and believed that "living in the moment" was the only way in which they might establish the kind of life that led to good writing.
Some of the most prominent figures in the Beat Movement, including Allen Ginsberg, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, and Amiri Baraka, were attracted to the new Cuba as a place where people would be racially equal, sexually free, and politically enfranchised. What they experienced had resounding and lasting literary effects both on their work and on the many writers and artists they encountered and fostered. Todd Tietchen clearly documents the multiple ways in which the Beats engaged with the scene in Havana. He also demonstrates that even in these early years the Beat movement expounded a diverse but identifiable politics.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3521.E735 Z48 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-08
The first collection of letters between the two leading figures of the Beat movement Writers and cultural icons Jack Kerouac and Allen Ginsberg are the most celebrated names of the Beat Generation, linked together not only by their shared artistic sensibility but also by a deep and abiding friendship, one that colored their lives and greatly influenced their writing. Editors Bill Morgan and David Stanford shed new light on this intimate and influential friendship in this fascinating exchange of letters between Kerouac and Ginsberg, two thirds of which have never been published before.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS228.B6 P49 2012
Publication Date: 2012-04-27
The phrase "beat generation" -- introduced by Jack Kerouac in 1948 -- characterized the underground, nonconformist youths who gathered in New York City at that time. Together, these writers, artists, and activists created an inimitably American cultural phenomenon that would have a global influence.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS153.G38 D48 2021
Publication Date: 2021-08-26
From Allen Ginsberg's 'angel-headed hipsters' to angelic outlaws in Essex Hemphill's Conditions, angelic imagery is pervasive in queer American art and culture. This book examines how the period after 1945 expanded a unique mixture of sacred and profane angelic imagery in American literature and culture to fashion queer characters, primarily gay men, as embodiments of 'bad beatitudes'.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS285.S3 S24 2001
Publication Date: 2001-05-01
San Francisco Beat is an essential archive of the Beat Generation, a rich moment in a fortunate place. America, somnolent, conformist and paranoid in the 1950s, was changed forever by a handful of people who refused an existence of drudgery and enterprise, opting instead for a life of personal, spiritual and artistic adventure.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3513.I74 .Z487 2009
Publication Date: 2008-11-25
One of the central relationships in the Beat scene was the long-lasting friendship of Allen Ginsberg and Gary Snyder. Beginning in 1956 and continuing until 1991, the two men exchanged more than 850 letters. Bill Morgan, Ginsberg's biographer and an important editor of his papers, has selected the most significant correspondence from this long friendship. Robert Hass' insightful introduction discusses the lives of these two major poets and their enriching and moving relationship.
The Spiritual Imagination of the Beats is the first comprehensive study to explore the role of esoteric, occult, alchemical, shamanistic, mystical and magical traditions in the work of eleven major Beat authors. The opening chapter discusses Kenneth Rexroth and Robert Duncan as predecessors and important influences on the spiritual orientation of the Beats.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS228.B6 M58 2010
Publication Date: 2010-05-11
Anyone who cares to understand the literary and cultural ferment of America in the later twentieth century must be familiar with the writings and lives of those scruffy bohemians known as the Beat Generation. In this highly entertaining work, Bill Morgan narrates the history of these writers as primarily a social group of friends, tracing their origins together during the World War II years to the full blossoming of their notoriety in the late 1950s to their profound influence on the social upheaval of the 1960s.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS310.B43 C44 1999
Publication Date: 1999-07-01
A collection of biographies that looks at the life and work of eleven contemporary beat poets - Michael McClure, Charles Bukowski, John Wieners, James Broughton, Philip Lamantia, Bob Kaufman, Allen Ginsberg, William Everson, Gregory Corso, Harold Norse, and Lawrence Ferlinghetti.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS508.W7 W585 1996
Publication Date: 1996-10-01
An anthology of the lives, writings and secrets of the women of the Beat Generation, this book contains biographies poetry and prose by Hettie Jones, Joyce Johnson, Ruth Weiss, Jan Kerouac, and others. It contains commentary by American poet of the year Anne Waldman and Allen Ginsberg.
This fascinating book explores Beat Generation writing from a transnational perspective, using the concept of worlding to place Beat literature in conversation with a far-reaching network of cultural and political formations.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS228.B6 T97 2014
Publication Date: 2014-11-17
The story and history of the Beats couldn't be found in the traditional libraries or archives of academic research. For preeminent historian of Beat culture John Tytell, it had to be found in the bars, towns, roads, and hangouts of these writers and figures.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS228.B6 B468 2021
Publication Date: 2021-11-01
This collection of academic essays refines and adds context to Beat Studies and Black Mountain Studies by investigating the groups' intersections and undercurrents. One goalof the book is to deconstruct the Beat and Black Mountain labels in order to reveal the shifting and fluid relationships among the individual poets who developed a revolutionary poetics in the 1950s and beyond. Taken together, these essays clarify the radical experimentation with poetics undertakenby these poets.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3521.E735 Z73 2007
Publication Date: 2007-11-02
From one of today's top Kerouac scholars comes a riveting, behind-the-scenes look at the true adventures that spawned one of the greatest American novels of all time, as well as the real lives of the key characters of the novel - Sal Paradise, Dean Moriarty, Carlo Marx, Old Bull Hubbard, Camille, and others.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3521.E735 Z734 1999
Publication Date: 1999-10-20
In the only critical examination of all of Jack Kerouac's published prose, James T. Jones turns to Freud to show how the great Beat writer used the Oedipus myth to shape not only his individual works but also the entire body of his writing. Like Balzac, Jones explains, Kerouac conceived an overall plan for his total writing corpus, which he called the Duluoz Legend after Jack Duluoz, his fictional alter ego.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3521.E735 Z66 2007
Publication Date: 2007-06-08
An exploration of Kerouac's fiction, poetry, religious writing, journals, and correspondence. It encompasses his fictional rewriting of his personal life, his life-long quest for spiritual enlightenment, and his resolute belief in the blending of popular and academic cultural artifacts to create voices and forms to speak of and to a new age.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3521.E735 Z777 2016
Publication Date: 2016-05-05
Given Jack Kerouac's enduring reputation for heaving words onto paper, it might surprise some readers to see his name coupled with the word "poetics." But as a native speaker of French, he embarked on his famous "spontaneous prose" only after years of seeking techniques to overcome the restrictions he encountered in writing in a single language, English.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3521.E735 Z745 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-08
He was the leading light of the Beat Generation writers and the most dynamic author of his time, but Jack Kerouac also had a lifelong passion for music, particularly the mid-century jazz of New York City, the development of which he witnessed first-hand during the 1940s with Charlie Parker, Dizzy Gillespie and Thelonious Monk to the fore.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3521.E735 Z558 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
Jay Atkinson hits the road to retrace Kerouac's legendary journey today. The author's experiences offer fascinating insights on American culture and society then and now and illuminate his own quest for self-understanding and discovery.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3521.E735 Z666 2015
Publication Date: 2015-04-14
InThree Kinds of Motion, his razor-sharp, funny, and intensely vulnerable book-length essay, Hanick moves deftly between his three subjects. He delivers a story with breathtaking ingenuity. Riley Hanick is an essayist, journalist, and translator. His work has received support from the Jentel and McKnight foundations and he has served as a writer-in-residence for the University of Iowa Museum of Art.
Understanding Jack Kerouac introduces a new generation of readers to what Matt Theado calls Kerouac's unwieldy accretion of published work - fiction, poetry, nonfiction, selected letters, religious writing and true-story novels. Presenting this Beat Generation icon as a writer rather than as a social rebel or media celebrity, Theado asks why Kerouac's reputation has outlived disparaging beatnik associations.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3521.E735 O537 1999
Publication Date: 1999-10-12
Through careful analysis of Jack Kerouac's On the Road, Omar Swartz argues that Kerouac's influence on American society is largely rhetorical. Kerouac's significance as a cultural icon can be best understood, Swartz asserts, in terms of traditional rhetorical practices and principles. To Swartz, Kerouac is a rhetor who symbolically reconstructs his world and offers arguments and encouragements for others to follow. Swartz proposes that On the Road constitutes a "rhetorical vision," a reality-defining discourse suggesting alternative possibilities for growth and change.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3513.I74 Z94 2007
Publication Date: 2007-06-19
Allen Ginsberg's Buddhist Poetics revives questions of poetics, religious authenticity, and political efficacy in Ginsberg's prophetic poetry. Author Tony Trigilio examines Ginsberg's Buddhism as an imperfect but deepening influence on the major poems of his career.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3513.I74 H636 2004
Publication Date: 2004-04-07
Written as a cultural weapon and a call to arms, Howl touched a raw nerve in Cold War America and has been controversial from the day it was first read aloud nearly fifty years ago. This first full critical and historical study of Howl brilliantly elucidates the nexus of politics and literature in which it was written and gives striking new portraits of Allen Ginsberg, Jack Kerouac, and William Burroughs.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3513.I74 Z46 2019
Publication Date: 2019-05-30
Allen Ginsberg (1926-1997) was one of the most famous American poets of the twentieth century. Yet, his career is distinguished by not only his strong contributions to literature but also social justice. Conversations with Allen Ginsberg collects interviews from 1962 to 1997 that chart Ginsberg's intellectual, spiritual, and political evolution.
"The way to point to the existence of the universe is to see one thing directly and clearly and describe it. . . . If you see something as a symbol of something else, then you don't experience the object itself, but you're always referring it to something else in your mind. It's like making out with one person and thinking about another."
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3513.I74 Z748 2006
Publication Date: 2006-10-05
Drawing on his unparalleled access to Ginsberg's inner circle as well as on the poet's journals and correspondence, Morgan offers a revealing portrait of a complicated and flamboyant character. Ginsberg was a tenacious man who was driven by ambition and curiosity; he was plagued by self-doubt and always longed for acceptance and recognition.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; KF224.F4 C65 2019
Publication Date: 2019-03-24
The People v. Ferlinghetti is the story of a rebellious poet, a revolutionary poem, an intrepid book publisher, and a bookseller unintimidated by federal or local officials. There is much color in that story: the bizarre twists of the trial, the swagger of the lead lawyer, the savvy of the young ACLU lawyer, and the surprise verdict of the Sunday school teacher who presided as judge.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3513.I74 Z476 2001
Publication Date: 2001-04-03
In these interviews, dating from the late 1950s to the mid-1990s, Ginsberg speaks frankly about his life, his work, and the events of his time. Ginsberg's progressive and controversial views on politics and censorship dominate his interviews, from his conversation with the conservative William F. Buckley on PBS to his comments in the Dartmouth Review about U.S. policy in Central America to his testimony at the Chicago Seven trial. Ginsberg discusses his literary influences, including Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Walt Whitman, and William Blake, and offers insights into his own poetry, particularly his innovations in rhythm, meter, and syllable emphasis.
This highly useful series presents substantial excerpts from the best criticism on the major literary figures and nonfiction writers, including novelists, poets, playwrights and literary theorists, of 1900 to 1999 -- the era most frequently studied in high schools. Each volume presents overviews of four to eight authors with chronologically arranged criticism representing the entire range of response to each author.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3552.U75 Z925 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-16
The Green Ghost, by Chad Weidner, uncovers the ecological context of literary texts by William Burroughs. Until now, much scholarly work on Burroughs has focused on the sensational aspects of his life and innovative writing. By rereading canonical and ignored texts while pushing the boundaries of ecocritical theory and practice, Weidner provides a fresh perspective on Burroughs and suggests new theoretical and methodological approaches to understanding the work of other Beat writers.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3552.U75 Z84 2001
Publication Date: 2001-07-01
Jamie Russell offers a queer reading of Burrough's novels. He explores how the novels of Burroughs can be seen as a sustained attempt to offer a very personal rethinking of gay subjectivity, and as an attempt to overturn stereotypes of gay men as effeminate. Yet in his celebration and appropriation of some of the most violent, misogynistic, and effeminaphobic elements of heterosexually identified masculinity, Burroughs's life and writing suggests a subjectivity which has been deeply troubling to many in the gay community.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3552.U75 Z835 2004
Publication Date: 2004-07-20
This collection of essays by leading scholars offers an interdisciplinary consideration of Burroughs's art. It links his lived experience to his many major prose works written from 1953 on, as well his sound, cinema and media projects. Moving beyond the merely literary, the contributors argue for the continuing social and political relevance of Burroughs's work for the emerging global order.Themes include: Burroughs and contemporary theory; debates on 'reality'; violence; magic and mysticism; cybernetic cultures; language and technology; control and transformation; transgression and addiction; the limits of prose; image politics and the avant-garde.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3552.U75 Z75 2020
Publication Date: 2020-02-28
Through critical readings Gerald Alva Miller, Jr., examines the life of William S. Burroughs and the evolution of his various radical styles not just in writing but also in audio, film, and painting. Although Burroughs remains tied to the Beat Generation, his works prove more revolutionary.
Unraveling the mysteries of Naked Lunch, exploring the allure of fascination William Burroughs is both an object of widespread cultural fascination and one of America's great writers. In this study, Oliver Harris elucidates the complex play of secrecy and revelation that defines the allure of fascination.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3552.U75 Z93 1991
Publication Date: 1991-02-28
Jennie Skerl and Robin Lydenberg have selected twenty-five critical essays on Burroughs that reflect the historical reception of his work, both positive and negative, decade by decade, and that represent the best essays written about him. The essays cover Burroughs’ major novelsincluding the cut-up and new trilogiesthe censorship issue, and his work in film and painting.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3552.U75 Z933 2019
Publication Date: 2019-05-17
William S. Burroughs Cutting Up the Century is the definitive book on Burroughs' overarching cut-up project and its relevance to the American twentieth century. Burroughs's Nova Trilogy (The Soft Machine, Nova Express, and The Ticket That Exploded) remains the best-known of his textual cut-up creations, but he committed more than a decade of his life to searching out multimedia for use in works of collage.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3552.U75 Z76 1997
Publication Date: 1998-01-05
Murphy coins the term "amodernism" as a way to describe Burroughs's contested relationship to the canon while acknowledging the writer's explicit desire for a destruction of such systems of classification. Despite the popular mythology that surrounds Burroughs, his work has been largely excluded from the academy of American letters. Finally here is a book that presents a solid portrait of a major artistic innovator, a writer who combines aesthetics and politics and who can perform as anthropologist, social goad, or media icon, all with consummate skill.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3569.N88 Z46 2017
Publication Date: 2017-08-30
Gary Snyder (b. 1930) is one of the most distinguished American poets, remarkable both for his long and productive career and for his equal contributions to literature and environmental thought. His childhood in the Pacific Northwest profoundly shaped his sensibility due to his contact with Native American culture and his early awareness of the destruction of the environment by corporations.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3569.N88 Z667 2006
Publication Date: 2006-04-15
In Gary Snyder and the Pacific Rim, Timothy Gray draws upon previously unpublished journals and letters as well as his own close readings of Gary Snyder's well-crafted poetry and prose to track the early career of a maverick intellectual whose writings powered the San Francisco Renaissance of the 1950s and 1960s.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3569.N88 Z89 1994
Publication Date: 1995-02-01
At the heart of Gary Snyder's poetics rests the concept of «original mind» that state of mind which has been sensually, morally, and spiritually purified so that it can directly experience the universe. The powers of «original mind» are most fully displayed by the Shaman, the Bodhisattva, and the poet - figures which play major roles in Myths and Texts and Mountains and Rivers Without End. Myths explores one of the fundamental issues of our time, the destruction of nature, and sets forth a series of sophisticated steps by which humans can achieve moral and spiritual harmony with it. Mountains and Rivers comprises a series of experimental poems that expand upon themes adumbrated in Myths.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3569.N88 Z788 2000
Publication Date: 2000-03-01
"An introduction for readers coming to Gary Snyder for the first time and an overview of the work for the many readers already familiar with his writings, A Place for Wayfaring offers the only comprehensive guide to one of the most influential cultural and literary voices of the past half century."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3569.N88 M6237 2015
Publication Date: 2015-06-09
This book invites readers to enter the poem through essays and talks by David Abram, Wendell Berry, Carl Bielefeldt, Tim Dean, Jim Dodge, Robert Hass, Stephanie Kaza, Julia Martin, Michael McClure, Nanao Sakaki, and Katsunori Yamazato. It includes an interview with Gary Snyder, appendices,and other resources for further study. Snyder once introduced a reading of this work with reference to whitewater rapids, saying most of his writing is like a Class III run where you will do just fine on your own, but that Mountains and Rivers is more like Class V: if you're going to make it to take-out, you need a guide. As a collection of commentaries and background readings, this companion volume enhances each reader's ability to find their way into and through an adventurous and engaging work of art.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3569.N88 Z93 2013
Publication Date: 2013-12-18
Tracing connections between Gary Snyder and his Romantic and Transcendentalist predecessors - Wordsworth, Blake, Emerson, Whitman, and Thoreau - this study explores the tension between urbanization and overindustrialization. The dialectical relationship between Snyder and his predecessors reminds readers that nature is never a simple concept.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3505.O763 Z48 2003
Publication Date: 2003-04-17
The book is the next thing to an unplanned self-portrait and gives a lively sense of the life Gregory Corso led, marching to his own drummer and leaving in his wake such marvelous books of Beat poetry as The Happy Birthday of Death, Elegiac Feelings American, Long Live Man, and Herald of the Autochthonic Spirit. Bill Morgan, who is extremely conversant with the Beats, has done an admirable job collecting letters from libraries and various individuals across the country and then selecting and organizing them in a progression that spans Corso's lifetime. In addition to Morgan's introduction and commentary, the book includes a special foreword by poet and rock star Patti Smith as well as a number of photographs.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3505.O763 Z87 1999
Publication Date: 1999-09-10
Using a number of critical approaches, Michael Skau examines Gregory Corso's complex imagination, his humor, and his poetic techniques in dealing with America, the Beat generation, and death. Skau covers the complete works of Corso, one of the four major Beat Generation writers (with Jack Kerouac, Allen Ginsberg, and William S. Burroughs) who attempted to provide an alternative to what they saw as the academic forms of literature dominating American writing through the 1940s and 1950s.
Diane di Prima: Visionary Poetics and the Hidden Religions reveals how central di Prima was in the discovery, articulation and dissemination of the major themes of the Beat and hippie countercultures from the fifties to the present. Di Prima (1934--) was at the center of literary, artistic, and musical culture in New York City.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3505.O763 Z73 2002
Publication Date: 2002-08-30
While Corso is a subject of great controversy--his work often being seen as nihilistic and wildly comic--Olson argues that Corso's poetry, in fact, maintains an insistent theme of doubt and faith with regard to his early Catholicism. Although many critics have attempted to read his poetry, and some have done so brilliantly, Olson--in his approach and focus--is the first to attempt to give a holistic understanding of the oeuvre as essentially one not of entertainment or hilarity but of a deep spiritual and philosophical quest by an important and profound mind. In nine chapters, Olson addresses Corso from a broad philosophical perspective and shows how Corso takes on particular philosophical issues and contributes to new understandings.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3527.O56 Z65 2022
Publication Date: 2022-04-01
Who was Harold Norse? Despite publishing over a dozen volumes of poetry between the early 1950s and the new millennium, until now, the Brooklyn-born Norse has been relegated to a footnote in accounts of twentieth century literary history. Harold Norse: Poet Maverick, Gay Laureate is the first collection of essays devoted to this enigmatic poet and visual artist.
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3569.A49 A6 2020
Publication Date: 2020-09-30
A collection of interviews with Ed Sanders, which represent each decade of Sanders' career from the 1960s up to the present. All are previously published except for one conducted by a historian about Sanders'involvement in the peace movement. Interviews have been selected for historical significance (such as his first interview, his appearance on William F. Buckley's Firing Line TV program, history of the Fugs, history of the Lower East Side avant-garde, the evolution of his poetry) and for the depthand quality of the discussion of his work (interviews by poets and literary critics).
Call Number: ARC General Collection ; PS3573.E4164 Z86 2021
Publication Date: 2021-10-04
This volume provides the first close study on one of the most prolific members of the so-called Beat Generation. Offering diverse and comprehensive points of entrance into weiss's oeuvre, the essays in this volume adopt a multidisciplinary approach that attests to the cross-pollination between art forms in postwar counterculture. In addition, the volume also includes shorter, non-academic contributions and previously unpublished archival material. Bringing together scholars, academics and artists from around the world, this volume represents a timely and much-needed response to the increasing interest in weiss's work in the last decades.