AML 3273 - Beat Literature & Mid-century Writers (Fogarty)

The University of North Carolina's Wilson Special Collections Library ha an extensive collection of Beat Generation primary sources.The collection contains over 4,000 items including personal papers of individual writers, video, audio, manuscripts and assorted ephemera. The collection is extensive and most of the content is not available online. For best results use the finding aid linked to below and request access to the material from the institution.

The Kerouac Archive is made up of a number of different individual collections, listed below. At over 100 linear feet, Visions of Kerouac: The John Sampas Collection is one of the most comprehensive Kerouac collections in the world and our largest collection.

The Jack Kerouac Archive spans the years 1920 to 1977, with the bulk dated 1935 to 1969. The collection chiefly consists of holograph and typescript drafts of Kerouac's novels, stories, poetry, plays and screenplays, journals, diaries, notebooks, autobiographical and spiritual prose, fantasy horseracing, and fantasy baseball game. Other materials include Jack Kerouac's artwork, incoming and outgoing correspondence, photographs, personal and financial papers (including bank statements and canceled checks), publishing contracts, newspaper cuttings, maps, and realia.

This is the main collection of Allen Ginsberg's papers. Contains correspondence, manuscripts by Ginsberg and other writers, business records, notebooks and journals, clipping files, books, periodicals, audiotapes, videotapes, photographs, and posters. Accessions received in 1998, 1999, 2002, and 2004 totaling some 153.5 linear feet have not yet been processed.

Papers of Allen Ginsberg, American poet and one of the founders of the beat generation. The collection contains correspondence, manuscripts, and publications created by Ginsberg and his associates.

Author, artist, spoken word performer, and founding member of the Beat Generation. The William S. Burroughs Papers contain manuscripts and galley proofs of some of Burroughs's novels, as well as biographical material on Burroughs.

The archive was organized during two periods of activity: by Burroughs in 1965, and then in 1972 by Burroughs, Brion Gysin, and Barry Miles, who divided the manuscripts and typescripts of Burroughs's works and notes into 169 collections of papers which they placed in consecutively numbered folders and portfolios of various sizes, which they called "Folios".

This collection of papers, books, serials, and other materials, designated WSB97, was given to OSU in 1997 by the Estate of William S. Burroughs (James W. Grauerholz, Executor). Throughout this Guide, "WSB" refers to William S. Burroughs, and "JWG" refers to James W. Grauerholz. WSB's son, William S. Burroughs, Jr., is referred to as "William S. Burroughs, Jr.''

The Gary Snyder Papers contain his manuscripts and published works, correspondence, recordings, and subject files. Manuscripts and publications by other authors, serials, ephemera, and memorabilia are also found in the collection. Poet, essayist, translator, Zen Buddhist, environmentalist, and teacher, Gary Snyder is considered one of the most significant environmental writers of the twentieth century and a central figure in environmental activism.

The collection includes manuscripts of individual poems, Snyder's poetry collection Myths & Texts and Peter Easy's work about Snyder's poetry. Mainly, it consists of Snyder's correspondence with Will Petersen and with Arthur & Kit Knight. In his letters to Petersen he discusses general matters, life in Japan, writing and publishing plans, reading tours, etc. His letters to Arthur & Kit Knight discuss Snyder's contributions to several publications and permissions to include his works in forthcoming publications.

This is the largest collection of Lawrence Ferlinghetti's personal papers as well as records pertaining to the founding of City Lights Books.

Literary manuscripts and letters by poet and author Lawrence Ferlinghetti (1919-) to Mary Beach, Claude Pelieu, Diane Di Prima, Alan Marlowe, and Terrence Williams.

This collection consists of correspondence between Ferlinghetti and Kate Medina of New York concerning the poems of Yevgeny Aleksandrovich Yevtushenko. This material is arranged chronologically.

The collection, consisting of approximately 53 items, comprises a variety of materials relating to the business and personal affairs of Ferlinghetti and other members of the Beat culture. Letters, postcards, and notes, primarily from Ferlinghetti to his secretary, Gail Chiarrello, discussing his publishing house and bookstore, City Lights Booksellers and Publishers, and personal news. The collection includes typescript poems and prose works, some with manuscript annotations, City Lights catalogs, handbills, news releases, and a photograph of Ferlinghetti.

Includes published and unpublished writings, artwork, correspondence, and sound recordings created by or related to the Beat poet Gregory Corso.

This is a synthetic collection consisting of manuscripts, typescripts, and correspondence. The manuscripts and typescripts include poems by the author and by Allen Ginsberg. The correspondence, dating from [1956] to [1965], includes letters from the author to Randall Jarrell and Mary von Schrader Jarrell, as well as a letter, dated 1971, by Allen Ginsberg, about Corso, to the National Book Awards Committee.

The collection contains correspondence pertaining to the publication of Corso's poems in an anthology and manuscripts of poems, a notebook and an essay.