In more than 300 entries offers current descriptions of the theories that explain numerous aspects of communication and present the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories.
Contains nearly 600 original articles to provide comprehensive coverage of this field, including such topics as theories and research traditions; evaluation and assessment; cultural complexities; high risk and special populations; message design and campaigns; provider/patient interaction issues; media issues; and more.
Contains 219 articles written by scholars on a wide variety of media and communications topics such as "Advertising and Promotion," "Future Role of Books," "Cross-Cultural Communication," and "Internet as Political Advocacy Forum." Also includes articles on the status of media in individual countries. Bibliographies appended to all articles as well as extensive cross-references.
Covers all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics. Contains more than 350 signed entries, along with a thorough listing of journalism awards and prizes, a lengthy section on journalism freedom around the world, an annotated bibliography, and key documents.
"...Explores the evolution and revolution in digital communications and human-computer interaction from an interdisciplinary, historical, social, and global perspective" (book jacket).
Includes around 250 entries on the varied experiences of social movement media across the world in the 20th and 21st centuries, with thematic essays on selected issues such as human rights media, indigenous people's media, and environmentalist media.
The third section discusses key global communication issues such as climate change, character assassination as a communication tool, internal communication, risk and crisis communication, public affairs, and public diplomacy.
"Articulates a broader understanding of crisis communication, discussing the theoretical, methodological, and practical implications of domestic and transnational crises, featuring the work of global scholars from a range of sub-disciplines and related fields" (publisher's description).
"...offers critical assessments of theoretical and applied research on digitally-mediated communication, a central area of study in the 21st century (publisher's description).
International Encyclopedia of Media Effects
Main Library ARC General Collection P 87.5 .I583 2017
Over 200 entries cover all aspects of the uses and impact of media, utilizing empirical, psychological, and critical research approaches to the field. Topics include: critical theory approaches to media effects; mass communication approaches to media effects; media content effects; and media psychology.
Comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 section editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Includes many articles on communications and media. The editor-in-chief for this second edition was the late James D. Wright, Distinguished Research Professor in the Department of Sociology at UCF from 2001-2019.
Contains 47 essays. It is organized into six sections: the science of communicating science, challenges to science featured in attacks on science, failures and successes in science communication, role of elite intermediaries, role of the media, and communicating science in a polarizing environment.
Explores key conceptual themes in public relations, including strategic public relations, politics and the media; media relations in the social media age; strategic communication management; public relations engagement in the not-for-profit sector; activism and public relations; and the effects of globalization and technology on the field.
"Focusing on the metatheoretical, philosophical, and applied aspects of strategic communication, the parts of the the volume cover: conceptual foundations, institutional and organizational dimensions, implementing strategic communication, and domains" (publisher's description).
SAGE Handbook of Social Media
Main Library ARC General Collection HM 742 .S34 2018
"...addresses the most significant research themes, methodological approaches and debates in the study of social media. It contains substantial chapters written especially for this book by leading scholars from a range of disciplinary perspectives, covering everything from computational social science to sexual self-expression" (publisher's description).
A particularly rich source on the topics of media, mass communication, and intercultural communication.