Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UCF Libraries Home

ENC 3502 - Researching Writing and Literacy (Galbreath)

Course Guide for ENC 3502 - Research Writing and Literacy

About PRISM

PRISM: Political & Rights Issues & Social Movements, a collaborative digitization project of the libraries and special collections departments of Florida Atlantic University (FAU), and the University of Central Florida (UCF), is composed of materials focusing on a wide range of political and rights issues and social movements including topics such as socialism and communism, class struggle, Marxist economics, religion, world pacifism, anti-racism, anti-Semitism, civil rights, women's rights, workers' rights, world labor movements, world economics, capitalism, the demise of colonialism, Cuban politics, the "ban-the-bomb" movement, war efforts, the Vietnam War, and the United Nations. Spanning from the mid 19th century to the late 20th century, the pamphlets and monographs provide insight into the prevailing leftist and liberal views of the times from countries all around the world; from the United States to Korea and India to Canada.

We invite you to explore the various writings to gain an understanding of historical economic, political, and social forces that have had an influence on today's societies.

Go to PRISM now

Search PRISM

Browse PRISM

Search the Collection

Related Collections

One of the most substantial collections of materials related to our PRISM collection resides at the Hoover Institute at Stanford University. Their collection of Propaganda & Psychological Warfare include posters, printed literature, sound recordings, and film footage. They demonstrate the techniques and perfection of propaganda from early and crude images through contemporary, professional multimedia presentations. Of particular interest ins their extensive collection of posters, which document wartime viewpoints and diverse political sentiments of the twentieth century.

Washington State University also has a substantial collection of wartime propaganda materials available online. The 525 items in this collection comprise a Propaganda Poster collection primarily consisting of images from 1914-1945, the start of World War I to the end of World War II. 

The Library of Congress has a large collection of World War I Posters, most of which are from Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Germany, Great Britain, Italy, the Netherlands, and Russia are included as well. The posters range in style from anonymous broadsides (predominantly text) to graphically vibrant works by well-known designers.