Finding by Content Type
There are numerous websites, repositories, and metafinder interfaces to help you locate OER beyond the few examples listed on the main page of this guide. Metafinders are the broadest type of search. Repositories include many different types of content. Keep scrolling down for additional content types, such as multimedia. For any of these search interfaces, please double check the license of the content you find to ensure it is appropriate for your intended use.
Metafinders
- The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)The Mason OER Metafinder helps you find Open Educational Resources. Unlike other OER discovery sites (e.g, OER Commons, OASIS, MERLOT, OpenStax, etc.) with our Metafinder you aren’t searching a static database that we’ve built. Instead, the OER Metafinder launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 21 different sources of open educational materials as you hit the Search button.
- OASIS - Openly Available Sources Integrated Search"Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. Some of the features of OASIS include the ability to limit search results by license, type, subject, source, and reviews available."
Repositories and Referatories
- B.C. Open Collection by BCcampusSubjects: Arts -- Business -- Health Related -- Recreation/Tourism -- Sciences -- Social Sciences -- Support Resources -- Trades -- Upgrading Programs
- LibreTexts"The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society."
Subjects: Biology, Business, Chemistry, Engineering, Geosciences, Humanities, Mathematics, Medicine, Photosciences, Physics, Social Sciences, Statistics - MERLOT MaterialsMERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
- OER Commons"OER Commons offers a comprehensive infrastructure for curriculum experts and instructors at all levels to identify high-quality OER and collaborate around their adaptation, evaluation, and use to address the needs of teachers and learners."
Subjects: Applied Science -- Arts & Humanities -- Education -- History -- Life Science -- Mathematics -- Physical Science -- Social Science - OPEN FL Student Open Access Resources (SOAR)A statewide, internet-based, searchable database of Open Education Resources (OER) curated by the students, librarians, faculty, and staff from the Florida College System (FCS) and State University System (SUS) institutions.
- OpenStax Higher Education (Rice University)"OpenStax textbook projects are developed and peer-reviewed by educators to ensure they are readable and accurate, meet the scope and sequence requirements of each course, are supported by instructor ancillaries, and are available with the latest technology-based learning tools."
- Open Textbook Library (University of Minnesota)"The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks."
- Pressbooks DirectoryA catalog of eBooks on the OER creation platform Pressbooks.
Multimedia and Images
- Creative Commons SearchFind content you can share, use, and remix, such as music, images, or videos.
- Flickr CommonsPhotography archives from over 100 members.
- PixabayRoyalty-free images
Open Access Books
Books found through these repositories are not necessarily OER but may be considered open access (OA) instead. Carefully review licenses before implementing content with your course.
- Directory of Open Access BooksDOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers.
- Google BooksSearch the latest index of the world's books. Find millions of great books you can preview or read for free.
- Project GutenbergOne of the oldest online collections of free e-books made available in a variety of formats.