Unique in its approach, by applying the different theories used in art history to one painting, Picasso's Les Demoiselles d'Avignon. It provides a lively and stimulating introduction to methodological debates within the subject Offers a lucid account of approaches from Hegel to post-colonialism by explaining the philosophical and political assumptions behind each approach using clear examples Offers a sense of art history's own history as a discipline, from its emergence in the late-eighteenth century to contemporary practices.
In this book, artist and scholar Graeme Sullivan shows us a first rate mind at work. He convincingly straddles the often wide gaps between art and science, mind and body, research and practice, teaching and doing, traditional and postmodern views of education and of art, creative and critical thinking.
Helping to reestablish bibliographical control of significant art and architectural literature for the last two decades of the twentieth century, Guide to the Literature of Art History 2 is the authoritative, must-have resource for all art history students, institutions, and agencies.
Art historical theory is a forum of intense, often passionate debate. This book provides the art history student with an introduction to the range of theoretical perspectives used in looking at and analyzing art.
The 'Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era' takes a broad view of this cultural period, focusing on the developments that can be seen as characterizing the profound changes in thought & sensibility that occurred during the late 18th & early 19th centuries.
This annotated bibliography is devoted exclusively to writings on feminist art, criticism, theory, and culture. Langer lists and summarizes more than 1000 works - books, pamphlets, articles, periodicals, exhibition catalogues, reviews, newspapers, unpublished manuscripts and alternative publications.
International Contemporary Arts Directory by Ann L. Morgan (Editor)
Call Number: ARC General Collection N6485.3 .I57 1985
Publication Date: 1986-02-01
Another solid directory in the contemporary art series from St. Martin's Press . . . Its quality is equal to the others . . . The information contained is available in one volume.
This is a comprehensive reference book to more than 12,700 painters, sculptors, graphic artists and architects in Latin America (Mexico, Central America, South America) and the Caribbean region active during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Though originally commissioned as a new edition of Osborne's book, it is effectively a completely new work, planned and written afresh for new generations of art lovers.Apart from a handful of classic articles by Harold Osborne mainly on aesthetics, and a few others which needed only minor change, the text is entirely new. Unlike Osborne, it focuses on Western art rather than the whole of world art, concentrating primarily on painting, sculpture, and the graphicarts, leaving architecture to be covered separately.
This guide provides critical analysis of approximately 400 20th-century Hispanic artists from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Central and South America, and American artists of Spanish descent. Detailed entries typically include biographical information; a list of individual exhibitions and a select list of group exhibitions; lists of museums and public galleries holding works by a given artist in their permanent collections; publications by and about the artist; a statement by the artist about his/her work (as available); and more.
The 13 essays address an array of topics from "Art in the Classical World" to "Women as Artists and Subjects." While most of the contributors are art historians from British universities, the essayists include lecturers in history, cultural studies, and critical theory. Each essay is accessible to nonspecialist readers, and all terms and names with entries in the dictionary section are indicated by a symbol preceding them. Bibliographies follow each essay.
Contains over 3,200 clear definitions of terns encountered in the study and practice of the visual arts and in their literature. It covers all forms of easel and mural paintings, drawing, sculpture, the graphic arts, photography, ceramics, and mosaic.
Call Number: ARC General Collection N6370 .Z57 2008
Publication Date: 2007-10-25
The Historical Dictionary of Renaissance Art covers the years 1250 to 1648, the period most disciplines place as the Renaissance Era. A complete portrait of this remarkable period is depicted in this book through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 500 hundred cross-referenced dictionary entries on major Renaissance painters, sculptors, architects, and patrons.
This forms part of a two-volume work covering works of art and artists. This volume includes entries for 500 artists (painters, sculptors, engravers, etc) from Western Europe and the Americas from the Renaissance to the present day.
Draws on literature, history, psychology, geography, economics, and other disciplines to set key artistic advances in their cultural context. More than 1500 entries distill current scholarly findings in an engaging nonacademic voice.
This reference work deals with all aspects of Western art from 1300 to the present day. It provides information on painters, sculptors, and graphic artists, technical processes, terminology, theory, schools, movements, patrons and collecting, and much more.