Africana Studies

A digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently includes fourteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

Part of Yale's collection of documents pertaining to Law, history and diplomacy.

Part of the Yale Center for International and Area Studies, is dedicated to the investigation and dissemination of knowledge concerning all aspects of chattel slavery and its destruction.

The Louisiana State University Libraries has contributed digital reproductions of more than 330 “Lost Friends” advertisements—ads searching for loved ones lost in slavery— to a database as part of The Historic New Orleans Collection. The ads appeared in the Southwestern Christian Advocate between November 1879 and December 1880.

An expanded version of the original Dred Scott Case Collection... expanded from eighty-five to one hundred and eleven documents, over 400 pages of text. In addition, the collection is now a full-text, searchable resource that represents the full case history of the Dred Scott Case.

Cornell Library's May Anti-Slavery Collection, including over 10,000 pamphlets and ephemera, is available as a searchable database.

More than 15,000 digitized pages and keyword-searchable transcriptions of printed texts in the Millersville University Library and the Dickinson College Library. The imprints reflect arguments on both sides of the slavery debate, and include first person narratives, legal proceedings and decisions, anti-slavery tracts, religious sermons, and early secondary works.

A collection of hundreds of images related to slavery, from Africa to the Colonies to Emancipation. Images are culled from primary and secondary sources, contain bibliographic citations, and are searchable by category or keyword.

A Condensed History of the Enslavement, Sufferings, Emancipation, Present Condition and Progress of the Negro Race in the United States of America.

Part of the American Memory Project, this site contains audio interviews, a list of song titles, key people, places and other relevant info.

Sponsored by the Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition and the Instructional Technology Group, this site is designed to help researchers and Yale students find primary source material related to slavery and its legacies within the university's many libraries and galleries.