Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UCF Libraries Home

TSL 4240: Library Resources

Issues in Second Language Acquisition

Practice Search: ERIC (Ebsco) Database

From the UCF Libraries homepage, click on the "Databases" button.  If you are not already logged-in, you will be prompted to log in with your NID and NID password.  Start by clicking on the "Thesaurus" button in the top banner.  The Thesaurus feature helps with locating words or search terms.  

In the "Browsing for" box, type morphology.  Click on "Browse." Find and click on the term "Morphology (Languages".  Note that there is a "Scope Note" which provides a brief definition.  

Click the box in front of "Linguistic Borrowing". Click on the "Add" button.  Click on the "Search" button.  These steps will take the term "linguistic borrowing" and place them into the top search box of the Advanced Search page, with the DE Field Code (for "Descriptor") in front.  

In the second box, type English second language.  Leave the drop down field as "Select a Field".

Click on the Search button.  To limit the results to more recent publications, select the dates "2005-2020" in the box on the left.  Either slide the little date bar, or simply type 2005 and 2020 in the small boxes.

Find the journal article, Codeswitching, borrowing and mixing in a corpus of Xhosa English

1.  Who is the author?

     A.  Joe Drakes     

     B.  Sarah J. Shin     

     C. Vivian de Klerk

2.  What is the title of the journal?     

     A. Bilingual Research Journal   

     B.  Bilingual Teaching   

     C. International Journal of Bilingual Education and Bilingualism

3.  English is the first language of what percentage of the people in South Africa? 

     A.  8.2 percent   

     B. 20 percent 

     C. 46 percent

Practice Search: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Database

From the UCF Libraries homepage, click on "Databases".  From the "Database Search" box type Linguistics and Language.  Select the Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Database (LLBA).

From the Advanced Search page (which it will open to by default) click the "Thesaurus" link, and from that page, type phonics in the search box. Click the "Find" button. Put a check mark in front of "Phonics" and click the small double boxes to view related terms.  Select "beginning reading".  Click the "Add to Search" button toward the bottom of that page.  You will be returned to the Advanced Search page and it will say: MAINSUBJECT("Phonics") OR MAINSUBJECT("Beginning Reading") in the top search box.  In the second box type in: English as a second language and put a check mark in "Limit to Peer Reviewed" box.

Under "Document Type" (middle column) select Article. Click search.  

From the results page, on the left side, change "Sorted by" from Relevance (the default) to Newest First.

Find the article:  The impact of an early reading intervention with English language learners and native-English-speaking Children

Click the "Full Text Finder" link on the right side, and open the full-text from Taylor & Francis (the first option).  From the Taylor & Francis page, open/download the PDF version of the article.

What institution is the author associated with?

  • A. The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH
  • B. Muskingum University, New Concord, OH
  • C. Saint Michael's College, Colchester, VT

In the pilot study described on page 243 of the PDF, which five different languages did the kindergarden children speak?

  • A. Somali, French, Arabic, Burmese, and Chinese
  • B. Somali, French, German, Arabic and Burmese
  • C. Portuguese, French, German, Chinese and Japanese
  • D. Portuguese, French, German, Arabic and Japanese

Under the "Purpose" subheading (page 243 PDF), how many research questions did the author intend to address?

  • A. One
  • B. Two
  • C. Three

Is this article an example of original research?

  • A. Yes
  • B. No
  • C. I'm not sure, how can I tell?  (If your answer is "C", go back to