UCF Research Guides: Engineering: Civil, Environmental and Construction Engineering: Databases

To Find Articles About Civil, Environmental, and Construction Engineering

General Engineering

Compendex (Ei Engineering Village) (1884+)
a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines.
Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1965+)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1965+)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975+)

Citation Connection is now available. This includes:
- Data Citation Index (1900+)
- Derwent Innovations Index – Patents Database (1963+)
- Book Citation Index: Scholarly Books (2005+)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990+)
- Index Chemicus (IC) (1989+)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1993+)
- Current Contents Connect (1998+)
IEEE Xplore
Full text access to quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Includes most IEEE journals, conference proceedings, and standards.
IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1872 from:
- IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents
- IEEE conference proceedings
- IET conference proceedings
- IEEE published standards
- IEEE Standards Dictionary Online
VDE VERLAG Conference Proceedings includes complimentary access to the AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005
Bell Labs Technical Journal includes access to the AbstractPlus records and full text articles published from 1922
IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library includes full text access to all IEEE-Wiley eBooks titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1974-2013
Individual Online Journals includes access to all AbstractPlus records and full text published since 2005 from:
- Systems Engineering and Electronics, Journal of
-IET journals are now largely Open Access at the IET Research Hub on Wiley Online Library
Annual Reviews (1932+)
Annual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in more than 45 focused disciplines in the sciences and social sciences.
Engineering Research Database (ProQuest) (1966+)
- This link opens in a new window
The Engineering Research Database covers the international serial and non-serial literature pertaining to civil, earthquake, environmental, mechanical, and transportation engineering including their complementary fields of forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics/computation. Content includes basic and applied research, design, construction, technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, energy production and developments in new technologies.

Sources covered include over 3,500 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases.
Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCOhost)
“This database offers a diverse array of full-text and indexed content that covers the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines—from acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering.”
formerly called Applied Science & Technology (EBSCOhost/Wilson) (1983+)

Civil and Construction Engineering

Civil Engineering Abstracts (ProQuest) (1966+)
This database provides indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles, including content from ASCE and ICE. The database currently includes over 1M records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports, with indexing back to the early 1960s. It covers all civil aspects from architecture, structural design and construction engineering to environmental, seismic engineering and forensics.
"This database provides indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles, including content from ASCE and ICE. The database currently includes over 1M records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports, with indexing back to the early 1960s. It covers all civil aspects from architecture, structural design and construction engineering to environmental, seismic engineering and forensics."

American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
33 technical journals and practice periodicals that span all disciplines of civil engineering. ASCE journal articles demonstrate excellence in the quality of technical information and the clarity of expression.

Transportation Research Board. The TRB Publications Index contains more than 73,000 papers, articles, and reports published by the Transportation Research Board, Highway Research Board, Strategic Highway Research Program, or the Marine Board from 1923 to date.

Environmental Engineering

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ProQuest) (1960+)
- This link opens in a new window
"The collection combines specialist topic resources from disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology and biology and features a diverse range of full-text sources including scientific journals, trade journals, new sources, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications."
Environmental Engineering Abstracts (ProQuest) (1990+)
- This link opens in a new window
covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.
Environmental Impact Statements: Digests (ProQuest) (1985+)
Provides detailed abstracts of environmental impact statements. Each entry includes a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences, and legal mandates.
Pollution Abstracts (ProQuest) (1981+)
- This link opens in a new window
Topics of growing concern are extensively covered from the standpoints of atmosphere, emissions, mathematical models, effects on people and animals, and environmental action in response to global pollution issues.
Human Population & Natural Resource Management* (CSA)
[subscription dropped]
explores human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. See Sustainability Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
Florida Environments Online (PALMM)
"contains both digital full text materials and research bibliographies about the ecology and environment of Florida."
"Digitized materials include more than 200 seminal texts on species and ecosystems selected by scientific experts throughout the state of Florida and digitized specifically for the Linking Florida's Natural Heritage project. They also include the publications of the Florida Geological Society, and agricultural documents created by the Agricultural Experiment Station/Extension Service (IFAS) and the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Affairs, as well as engineering documents created by the UF Engineering and Industrial Experiment Station."
Ecology Abstracts (ProQuest) (1982+)
- This link opens in a new window
Current ecology research across a wide range of disciplines, reflecting recent advances in light of growing evidence regarding global environmental change and destruction.
Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 1: Biological Sciences & Living Resources (ProQuest) (1971+)
- This link opens in a new window
marine, freshwater & brackish water organisms - journal articles
Oceanic Abstracts (ProQuest) (1981+)
focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
Subject coverage
- Biological Oceanography
- Ecology
- Physical and chemical oceanography
- Marine geology
- Geophysics
- Geochemistry
- Marine pollution
- Nonliving marine resources
- Navigation and communications
- Maritime law
- Desalination
- Ships
- Shipping
- Marine biology
Safety Science & Risk* (CSA) (1981+)
[subscription dropped]
provides comprehensive, timely information across the fields of public health, safety, and industrial hygiene, cited studies are geared to help researchers identify, evaluate, and eliminate or control risks and hazards from environmental and occupational
See Risk Abstracts and Health & Safety Science Abstracts
TOXLINE (ProQuest) (1999+)
"This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens."
Water Resources Abstracts (ProQuest) (1967+)
- This link opens in a new window
provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.
BioOne (2000+)
Full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals, an innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector.