Skip to Main Content
UCF Libraries Home

Philosophy

This research guide identifies materials for basic and advanced research in philosophy. It lists a variety of sources, including databases, reference works, and Internet sites useful for the study of philosophy.

Dissertation and Thesis Databases

Dissertations and theses can be especially useful for:

> Locating recent research that may not yet be published in book or article format (a revised dissertation often is published later as a book or a series of scholarly articles; to find these, try searching for other works written by the same author); and

> Identifying both primary and secondary sources on a topic.
 
http://www.ndltd.org/
An international organization dedicated to the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic analogues to traditional paper-based theses and dissertations. Since 2009, all UCF dissertations and theses (except those that have been embargoed by the author) can be located through NDLTD.
 
http://oatd.org/
Aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 800 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes almost two million theses and dissertations.
 
Includes 2.4 million dissertation and thesis citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with one million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full-text for most dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older titles. This is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
 
UCF's Showcase of Text, Archives, Research & Scholarship — STARS — exists to publicize, disseminate, and provide ready access to works by, for, and about the University of Central Florida. Administered by the UCF Libraries, STARS is available to host and promote research, creative activity, and institutional outputs. All UCF dissertations and theses written since 2011 are available in STARS.
 
Provides access to over five million records of dissertations and theses. On the advanced search page, in the Subtype Limits field under the drop-down menu "Any Content," select "Thesis/dissertation."