Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures by Call Number: Reference F1406 .E515 2000ISBN: 041513188XPublication Date: 2001-01-16This vast three-volume Encyclopedia offers more than 4000 entries on all aspects of the dynamic and exciting contemporary cultures of Latin America and the Caribbean. Its coverage is unparalleled with more than 40 regions discussed and a time-span of 1920 to the present day. "Culture" is broadly defined to include food, sport, religion, television, transport, alongside architecture, dance, film, literature, music and sculpture.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Call Number: Reference F1406 .E53 2008ISBN: 0684312700Publication Date: 2008-05-09This new edition adds nearly 600 entirely new topics, replaces some 150 obsolete entries, and also provides substantial revisions to hundreds more. Every one of the 5, 700+ entries has been reviewed for currency of content and bibliography. An entirely new illustration program features over 100 full-color photographs in addition to hundreds in black-and-white. National statistics have been conveniently tabulated for every one of Latin Americas 37 countries.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Call Number: Reference E184.S75 O97 2005ISBN: 9780195156003Publication Date: 2005-08-25A landmark scholarly work, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information about the fastest growing minority population in the nation. With an unprecedented scope and cutting-edge scholarship, the Encyclopedia draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.
The Cambridge history of Latin American literature by Call Number: Reference 0521340691ISBN: 0521340691Publication Date: 1996-09-13Volume 1 begins with pre-Columbian traditions and the first contact with European culture, and continues through to the end of the nineteenth century. New World historiography, epic poetry, theater, the novel, and the essay form are among the areas covered in this comprehensive and authoritative treatment.
The Cambridge Companion to Postcolonial Literary Studies by Call Number: General Collection PN56.C63 C36 2004ISBN: 0521826942Publication Date: 2004-07-15A comprehensive introduction to postcolonialism, this Companion examines different aspects of postcolonial thought and culture that have had a significant effect on contemporary critical thought. Topics discussed by experts in the field include postcolonialism's relation to modernity, and its significance and relevance to literature, film, law, philosophy, and modern cultural studies. Additional material includes a guide to further reading and a chronology.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics by Call Number: ARC General Collection F1410 .E56 2002ISBN: 1573563064Publication Date: 2002-06-30Illustrated with maps and photographs, The Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics covers the current and past political development of Puerto Rico and the 20 independent republics of Central and South America and the Caribbean. Although coverage begins with the independence movements of the late 18th century, the book focuses mainly on the 20th century. Each chapter includes a Country Chart listing relevant economic, political, and social data; a Country Entry section containing 20 to 40 brief entries on important terms, events, and individuals; a list of presidents; and a bibliography.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures by Call Number: Reference F1218.6 .O95 2001ISBN: 0195108159Publication Date: 2001-06-07Presenting the most up-to-date coverage on our knowledge of this society, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures is the first comprehensive and comparative reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, Colonial, and modern Mesoamerica.Written for a wide audience, it is an invaluable reference for interested lay persons, students, teachers, and scholars in such fields as art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, Latin American culture, and the history of the region.
Notable Latino Americans by Call Number: ARC General Collection E184.S75 M435 1997ISBN: 0313291055Publication Date: 1997-05-28From historical figures to the newest sports champion, figure-skater Rudy Galindo, this work provides profiles of both prominent and important but less-familiar people who have made significant contributions in their fields. Many of those profiled can be found in no other biographical source.
Dictionaries
Webster's New World Concise Spanish Dictionary by Call Number: Reference PC4640 .W428 2004ISBN: 0764541595Publication Date: 2003-11-21This easy-to-use reference is specifically designed for intermediate language learners. It contains 115,000 entries and 160,000 translations and included generous coverage of modern terms in popular use.
Harper Collins Spanish Concise Dictionary by Call Number: Reference PC4640 .H312 1998ISBN: 0062760572Publication Date: 1998-09-01A new look at language Extra help with grammar: Step-by-step guide to Spanish grammar from adjectives to sentence structure Extensive examples of grammatical constructions and idiomatic usage Thorough explanation of grammatical elements from noun cases to verb tenses Practical, user-friendly, comprehensive: From MTV to e-mail, junk bonds to tabloids, the "HarperCollins Spanish Concise Dictionary" keeps you up-to-date with contemporary Spanish Special entries throughout the text illuminate aspects of Spanish life and culture All the information you need to keep to write a paper, read a book, or tell a story.
Collins Spanish-English, English-Spanish dictionary by Call Number: Reference PC4640 .C53 2002ISBN: 0004721926Publication Date: 2002Over 355,000 entries and translations. Includes thousands of contemporary technical, political, and business terms.
