Tests and Measures: Articles, Essays, and Dissertations

The following sources are useful for locating journal articles, dissertations, and other secondary source material on tests, measures, and testing. Once you have found the journal articles you want, in some instances you will need to check the UCF Library Catalog to determine if we own the periodicals you need.

CINAHL (1937+)

Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, the primary database for these fields, provides citations, abstracts, and (in many instances) the full text of journal articles. Also includes citations to books, book chapters, and other materials. In the Publication Type box, one can limit the search to "Questionaire/Scale" or "Research Instrument."

Education Full Text (1929+)

An electronic database of citations to articles — and, in many instances, the full text of articles — apearing in approximately 550 English-language periodicals. Some yearbooks and monographs are included.

ERIC (1966+)

Provides comprehensive access to education literature and resources, containing full text of more than 2,200 reports along with references for additional information, as well as articles from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals. In the Publication Type box, one can limit the search to "Tests/Questionaires."

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (1985+)

An online database that provides information on measurement instruments in health fields, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior.

Social Sciences Full Text (1907+)

Covers over 550 English-language periodicals in a wide range of social science disciplines, including psychology and sociology. Abstracting of articles began in 1994.

Sociological Abstracts (1953+)

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Contains citations to and full text of journal articles, as well as references to book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings.

Web of Science (1965+)

A "citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences" (publisher's description). Includes Social Science Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. This database's primary use is to track citations to the works of a specific author through the "Cited Reference Search" feature.

Dissertations and Theses: Full Text (1861+)

Includes 2.4 million dissertation and thesis citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with one million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full-text for most dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older titles.

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables current UCF students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials — such as periodical articles — from other libraries that are not available at the UCF Libraries.

If a database search tells you about an article but the full text of the article is not there, look for the "Get Full Text" button.

Integrated by the UCF Libraries into many databases, "Get Full Text" helps you get the article in one of three ways:

> If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal.

> If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the UCF Libraries, there will be a link to the UCF Library Catalog. Click on that link and then check "Holdings" to see if the article you need is owned by UCF.

> If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy at UCF, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan Request, which will bring up a form through which you can request the UCF Libraries to obtain the article for you from another library.