Literature Criticism Online provides online access to approximately 85% of the entries from the print publication.
| Volume - Topic | Citation | Where to Find |
| 6 - Clifford Odets | "The Group Theatre and Clifford Odets," in A Critical Introduction to Twentieth-Century American Drama, Volume 1: 1900-1940, Cambridge University Press, 1982, pp. 159-88. | General Collection PS351.B483 1983 |
| 7 - Frank Chin | "Now You See It--Now You Don't," in New York Magazine, Vol. 7, No. 24, 17 June 1974, p. 76. | Interlibrary Loan |
| 7 - Spalding Gray | Spalding Gray, "Perpetual Saturdays, " in Performing Arts Journal, Vol. 6, No. 1, 1981, pp. 46-9.
"Author's Note," in Swimming to Cambodia, Theatre Communications Group, Inc., 1985, pp. xv-xviii. "Spalding Gray," in Acrobats of the Soul: Comedy and Virtuosity in Contemporary American Theatre, Theatre Communications Group, 1988, pp. 123-41. A review of Swimming to Cambodia, in Theatre Journal, Vol. 39, No. 1, March 1987, pp. 96-7. "Spalding Gray's Swimming to Cambodia and the Evolution of an Ironic Presence," in Theatre Journal, Vol. 41, No. 1, March 1989, pp. 75-94. |
UCF Full Text Journals
General Collection PN2287.G6759A37 1995 General Collection PN1955.J46 1988 UCF Full Text Journals UCF Full Text Journals |
| 7 - John Lyly | "The Prose Style of John Lyly," in ELH, Vol. 23, No. 1, March 1956, pp. 14-35. | UCF Full Text Journals |
| 7 - Emily Mann | An interview with Emily Mann, in Interviews with Contemporary Women Playwrights, by Kathleen Betsko and Rachel Koenig, Beech Tree Books, 1987, pp. 274-87.
"Various Ways to Lose Your Head," in New York Magazine, Vol. 14, No. 9, 2 March 1981, pp. 52-3. A review of Execution of Justice, in New York Magazine, Vol. 19, No. 12, 24 March 1986, p. 96. A review of Execution of Justice, in Theatre Journal, Vol. 38, No. 4, December 1986, pp. 476-77. |
General Collection PN471.I58 1987 Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan UCF Full Text Journals |
| 7 - Pierre Carlet De Chamblain De Marivaux | "Literature and Society in the Early Enlightenment: The Case of Marivaux," in MLN, Vol. 82, No. 3, May 1967, pp. 306-33.
"Women in Marivaux: Journalist to Dramatist," in Women and Society in Eighteenth-Century France, edited by Eva Jacobs and others, The Athlone Press, 1979, pp. 42-54. |
UCF Full Text Journals
Interlibrary Loan |
| 7 - Peter Shaffer | A review of Equus, in Educational Theatre Journal, Vol. 25, No. 4, December 1973, pp. 514-15.
"Theatre Chronicle," in The Hudson Review, Vol. XXXIV, No. 2, Summer 1981, pp. 263-68. |
UCF Full Text Journals
UCF Full Text Journals |
| 7 - Terence | "The Plays of Terence," in Terence, Twayne Publishers, 1985, pp. 37-119. "The Character of Bacchis in Terence's Heautontimorumenos," in American Journal of Philology, Vol. 116, No. 2, Summer 1995, pp. 221-34. "Love in Terence's Eunuch: The Origins of Erotic Subjectivity," in American Journal of Philology, Vol. 107, No. 1, Spring 1986, pp. 369-93. |
General Collection PA6768.F6 1985 UCF Full Text Journals UCF Full Text Journals |
| 7 - Ivan Turgenev | "Crosscurrents in Russia: Gogol, Turgeneve, and Chekhov," in Masters of Dramatic Comedy and the Social Themes, Harvard University Press, 1939, pp. 314-58.
"Chekhov's Theatre," in The Breaking String: The Plays of Anton Chekhov, Schocken Books, 1983, pp. 3-47. |
General Collection PN1929.S6.P4 1968 Interlibrary Loan |
| 8 - Aeschylus | "Aeschlyus," in Greek Tragedy: An Introduction. The Johns Hopkins University Press, 1991, pp. 26-55.
"Seven Against Thebes: The Tragedy of War," in The Masks of Tragedy: Essays on Six Greek Dramas, University of Texas Press, 1963, pp. 7-48. "Aeschylus: The Suppliant Maidens," in The Poetry of Greek Tragedy, The Johns Hopkins Press, 1958, pp. 11-27. |
General Collection PA3131.Z513 1991 Interlibrary Loan General Collection PA3545.L3 |
| 8 - Jean Anouilh | "General Themes in the Work of Anouilh," in Jean Anouilh, Twayne Publishers, 1969, pp. 29-45. | General Collection PQ2601.N67.Z58 |
| 8 - Lonne Elder, III | An interview with Lonne Elder III, in The Black American Writer, Volume II: Poetry and Drama, edited by C.W.E. Bigsby, Everett, Edwards, 1969, pp. 219-26.
"The First Hurrah," in New Yorker, Vol. 44, 15 February 1969, 99. 90-3. A Review of Ceremonies in Dark Old Men, in Nation, Vol. 208, No. 8, 24 February 1969, p. 253. |
General Collection PS153.N5.B5 Microfilm AP2.N6763 Microfilm AP2.N2 |
| 8 - John Ford | "Ford's Tragic Perspective," in Texas Studies in Literature and Language, Vol. I, Winter 1960, pp. 522-37.
"'Tis Pity She's a Whore," in John Ford and the Traditional Moral Order, University of Wisconsin Press, 1968, pp. 95-121. "Struggle for Calm: The Dramatic Structure of The Broken Heart," in English Renaissance Drama: Essays in Honor or Madeleine Doran & Mark Essles, edited by Standish Henning, Robert Kimbrough, and Richard Knowles, Southern Illinois University Press, 1976, pp. 155-66. |
General Collection AS30.T4 General Collection PR2527.S7 General Collection PR653.E69 1976 |
| 8 - Brian Friel | "The Romanticism of Brian Friel," in Contemporary Irish Writing, edited by James D. Brophy and Raymond J. Porter, Iona College Press, 1983, pp. 127-40.
"Brian Friel: The Double Stage," in Celtic Revivals: Essays in Modern Irish Literature, 1880-1980 "Foregrounding the Body: The Plays of the 1990s," in The Art of Brian Friel: Neither Reality Nor Dreams, St. Martin's Press, 1995, pp. 208-62. |
General Collection PR8756.C66 1983 Interlibrary Loan General Collection PR6056.R5.Z57 1995 |
| 8 - Oliver Goldsmith | "The Mistakes of a Night: Double Standards in She Stoops to Conquer," in Multiple Personality and the Disintergration of Literarcy Character: From Oliver Goldsmith to Sylvia Plath, St. Martin's Press, 1983, pp. 38-46.
"Heart and Mask and Genre in Sentimental Comedy," in Eighteenth Century Life: British Literature & Culture, Vol. X, No. 3, October 1986, pp. 122-44. |
Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan |
| 8 - Charles Gordone | "A Good Place to Be," in New Yorker, Vol. 44, 17 May 1969, pp. 112-14.
"Underwriting, Overreaching," in New York Magazine, 9 June 1969, Vol. 2, No. 23, p. 56. |
Microfilm AP2.N6763
Interlibrary Loan |
| 8 - Larry Kramer |
"Splash," in New York Magazine, Vol. 18, No 18, 6 May 1985, pp. 91-2. A review of The Normal Heart, in The Nation, Vol. 240, No. 18, 11 May 1985, pp. 569.70. "AIDS Enters the American Theater: As Is and The Normal Heart, in AIDS: The Literary Response, edited by Emmanuel S. Nelson, Twayne Publishers, 1992, pp. 131-39. "The Best So Far," in New York Magazine, Vol. 25, No. 43, 2 November 1992, pp. 101-02/
|
Microfilm AP2.N2 Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan
|
| 8 - Marsha Norman | "Marsha Norman," in A Search for a Postmodern Theatre: Interviews with Contemporary Playwrights, by John L. DiGaetani, Greenwood Press, 1991, pp. 245-51.
"Marsha Norman's She-tragedies," in Making a Spectacle: Feminist Essays on Contemporary Women's Theatre, edited by Lynda Hart, The University of Michigan Press, 1989, pp. 147-65. "Free, Bright, and 31," in New York Magazine, Vol. 11, No. 46, 13 November 1978, pp. 152, 155. "Theater Chronicle: Kopit, Norman, and Shepard," in The Hudson Review, Vol. XXXII, No. 1, Spring 1979, pp. 77-88. "Portrait of the Artist as a Young Saint," in The New Yorker, Vol. LIX, No. 8, 11 April 1983, pp. 109-10, 112. "Journeys into Night," in New York Magazine, Vol. 16, No. 15, 11 April 1983, pp. 55-8. A review of 'night Mother, in The Nation, Vol. 236, 7 May 1983, pp. 585-86. "New Voices Using New Realism: Fuller, Henley, and Norman," in Beyond Naturalism: A New Realism in American Theatre, Greenwood Press, 1988, pp. 125-54. "Feminism and the Canon: The Question of Universality," in The Feminist Spectator as Critic, UMI Research Press, 1988, pp. 19-40. |
General Collection PS352.S43 1991 General Collection PS338.W6.M3 1989 Interlibrary Loan General Collection AP2.H886 Microfilm AP2.N6763 Interlibrary Loan UCF Full Text Journals General Collection PS338.R42 D46 1988 General Collection PN2270.F45 D64 1988 |
| 9 - Anton Chekhov - Overviews & General Studies | "The Bizarre Element in Cechov's Art," in Anton Cechov, 1860-1960: Some Essays, edited by T. Eekman, E.J. Brill, 1960, pp. 277-92.
"Chekov and the Modern Drama," in A Chekov Companion, edited by Toby W. Clyman, Greenwood Press, 1985, pp. 135-45. "Chekhov's Dramatic Technique," in A Chekhov Companion, edited by Toby W. Clyman, Greenwood Press, 1985, pp. 107-22. "Chekhov's 'Modern Classicism,'" in The Slavonic and East European Review, Vol. 65, No. 1, January 1987, pp. 13-25. |
Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan General Collection D377.A1.S65 |
| 9 - Anton Chekhov - The Seagull | "Notes on the Seagull (1896)," in Vladimir Nabokov: Lectures on Russian Literature, edited by Fredson Bowers, Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1981, pp. 282-95.
"Phebes and Precursors in Chekhov's The Seagull," in Slavic Review, Vol. 44, No. 3, Fall 1985, pp. 423-37. |
Interlibrary Loan UCF Full Text Journals |
| 9 - Anton Chekhov - Three Sisters | "The Three Sisters," in Prefaces to the Experience of Literature," Harcourt Brace, Jovanovich, 1967, pp. 28-36. | General Collection PN511.T77 |
| 9 - Anton Chekhov - The Cherry Orchard | "Chekhov: The Cherry Orchard," in Drama and Reality: The European Theatre since Ibsen, Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1972, pp. 94-8. | General Collection PN1851.G25 |
| 10 - Dario Fo | "Dario Fo: The Roar of the Clown," in The Drama Review, Vol. 30, No. 1, Spring 1986, pp. 172-79
"The Iconicity of Absence: Dario Fo and the Radical Invisible," in Theatre Journal, Vol. 45, No. 3, October 1993, pp. 303-15. |
General Collection PN1601.T8 UCF Full Text Journals |
| 10 - Maria Irene Fornes | "The Real Life of Maria Irene Fornes," in Performing Arts Journal, Vol. VIII, No. 1, 1984, pp. 29-34.
"Still Playing Games: Ideology and Performance in the Theater of Maria Irene Fornes," in Feminine Focus: The New Women Playwrights, edited by Enoch Brater, Oxford University Press, 1989, pp. 167-85 |
UCF Full Text Journals General Collection PS151.F46 1989 |
| 10 - Susan Glaspell | "Susan Glaspell's Contributions To Contempory Women Playwrights," in Feminine Focus: The New Women Playwrights, edited by Enoch Brater, Oxford University Press, 1989, pp. 147-66.
"Passive Resistance to Active Rebellion: From Trifles to The Verge" and "Ghostly Revnants and Symbolic Sons: Fugitives Return," in Susan Glaspell's Century of American Women: A Critical Interpretation of Her Work, Oxford Univeristy Press, 1993, pp. 59-82, 101-16. "'Murder She Wrote': The Genesis of Susan Gladpell's Trifles," in Theatre Journal, Vol. 44, No. 2, May 1992, pp. 141-62. |
General Collection PS151.F46 1989 General Collection PS3513.L35.Z75 1993 UCF Full Text Journals |
| 10 - Tony Kushner | "Pulitzer-Winning 'Angels' Emerges from the Wings" in New York Newsday, 5 May 1993.
"Of Wings and Webs," in New York Magazine, Vol. 26, No. 20, 17 May 1993, pp. 102-03. "Angels on Broadway," in The New Yorker, Vol. LXIX, 31 May 1993, p. 137. "'Angels' II: Still Playful, and Still Profound," in New York Newsday, 24 November, 1993. "Angelic Geometry," in New York Magazine, Vol. 26, No. 48, 6 December 1993, p. 130. "Earth Angels," in The New Yorker, Vol. LXIX, No. 42, 13 December 1993, pp. 129-33. "Ambivalence, Utopia, and a Queer Sort of Materialism: How Angels in America Reconstructs the Nation," in Theatre Journal, Vol. 47, No. 2, May 1995, pp. 207-27. |
Interlibrary Loan Microfilm AP2.N6763 Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan Microfilm AP2.N6763 UCF Full Text Journals
|
| 10 - Edmond Rostand | "The Masterpieces," in Edmond Rostand, Twayne Publishers, 1978, pp. 61-91. | General Collection PQ2635.O8.A4 |
| 10 - Luis Valdez | Chicano Theater: Themes and Forms, Bilingual Press/Editorial Bilingue, 1982, 274 p. | General Collection PN2270.M48.H83 1982 |
| Volume - Topic | Citation | Where to Find |
| 11 - Edward Albee - Overviews & General Studies | "What's the Matter with Edward Albee?," in Ameriacn Drama and Its Critics: A Collection of Critical Essays, edited by Alan S. Downer, University of Chicago Press, 1965, pp. 240-44.
"The Theatre of Edward Albee," in Tulane Drama Review, Vol. 9, No. 4, Summer 1965, pp. 19-40. "Parallels and Proselytes: Edward Albee," in The Theatre of the Absurd, revised edition, Anchor Books, 1969, pp. 226-70. "The Verbal Murders of Edward Albee," in Dialogue in American Drama, Indiana University Press, 1971, pp. 130-69. "Reality and Illusion: Continuity of a Theme in Albee," in Educational Theatre Journal, Vol. 25, No. 1, March 1973, pp. 71-9. "The Process of Dying in the Plays of Edward Albee," in Educational Theatre Journal, Vol. 25, No. 1, March 1973, pp. 80-85. "Harold Pinter & Edward Albee: The First Postmoderns," in Postmodern Drama: contemporary Playwrights in American and Britain, University Press of America, 1984, pp. 25-47. "1960-1975: The Post-Broadway Era" and "1975-1990: A National Theatre," in American Drama of the Twentieth Century, Longman, 1992, pp. 121-65, 166-208. |
General Collection PS351.D59 General Collection PN1601.T8 Interlibrary Loan General Collection PS351.C6 1971 UCF Full Text Journals UCF Full Text Journals General Collection PS352.S57 1984 Interlibrary Loan |
| 11 - The Zoo Story | "And Moreover..." in New Yorker, Vol XXXV, No. 49, 23 January 1960, pp. 72-76. | Microfilm AP2.N6763 |
| 11 - Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? | "Long Night's Journey into Daze," in The New Yorker, Vol. XXXVIII, No. 35, 20 October 1962, pp. 85-6.
"Language: Truth and Illusion in Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf," in Educational Theatre Journal, Vol. XX, No. 1, March 1968, pp. 60-9. "Fun and Games in Suburbia: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?" in Myth and Modern American Drama, Wayne State University Press, 1969, pp. 225-47. "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? and the Patterns of History," in Educational Theatre Journal, Vol. 25, No. 1, March 1973, pp. 47-52. "Coming of Age in New Carthage: Albee's Grown-up Children," in Educational Theatre Journal, Vol. 25, No. 1, March 1973, pp. 53-65. "Albee's Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?": A Long Night's Journey into Day," in Educational Theatre Journal, Vol. 25, No. 1, March 1973, pp. 66-70. |
Microfilm AP2.N6763
UCF Full Text Journals Interlibrary Loan UCF Full Text Journals UCF Full Text Journals UCF Full Text Journals |
| 11 - Tiny Alice | "Mystical Manipulations," in The New Yorker, Vol. XL, No. 47, 9 January 1965, p. 84.
"Through the Looking Glass, Darkly," in Saturday Review, Vol. XLVIII, No. 3, 16 January 1965, p. 40. "The Play that Dare Not Speak Its Name," in The New York Review of Books, Vol IV, No. 2, 25 February 1965, p. 4. |
General Collection Z1219.S25 Interlibrary Loan
|
| 11 - A Delicate Balance | "The Family that Stayed Separate," in Saturday Review, Vol. XLIX, No. 41, 8 October 1966, p. 90.
"Broadway in Review," in Educational Theatre Journal, Vol XVIII, No. 4, December 1966, pp. 450-52. "A Delicate Balance," in Edward Albee: The Poet of Loss, Mouton Publishers, 1978, pp. 71-87. |
General Collection Z1219.S25 UCF Full Text Journals Interlibrary Loan |
| 11 - Seascape | "Among the Dunes," in The New Yorker, Vol. L, No. 50, 3 February 1975, pp. 75-77.
"Albee Surfaces," in Saturday Review, Vol. 12, No. 12, March 1975, p. 40. |
Microfilm AP2.N6763
Interlibrary Loan |
| 11 - Three Tall Women |
"Trifurcating Mom," in New York Magazine, Vol. 27, No. 9, 28 February 1994, pp. 118-19. "Sons and Mothers," in The New Yorker, Vol LXX, No. 13, 16 May 1994, pp. 102-05. A review of Three Tall Women, in The Hudson Review, Vol. XLVIII, No. 3 Autumn 1994, pp. 434-35. A review of Three Tall Women, in Theatre Journal, Vol. 46, No. 4, December 1994, pp. 541-43.
|
Interlibrary Loan
Microfilm AP2.N6763 General Collection AP2.H886 UCF Full Text Journals |
| 12 - Thomas Dekker | "Thomas Dekker: A Partial Reappraisal," in Studies in English Literature 1500-1900, Vol VI, No. 2, Spring 1966, pp. 263-77.
"The End(s) of Discord in The Shoemaker's Holiday," in Studies in English Literature 1500-1900, Vol. 36, No. 2, Spring 1996, pp. 357-72. "Play-making, Domestic Conduct, and the Multiple Plot in the Roaring Girl," in Studies in English Literature 1500-1900, Vol. 27, No. 2, Spring 1987, pp. 249-66. "Rehabilitating Moll's Subversion in The Roaring Girl," in Studies in English Literature 1500-1900, Vol. 37, No. 2, Spring 1997, pp. 317-35. |
Microfiche PR1.S82 UCF Full Text Journals UCF Full Text Journals UCF Full Text Journals |
| 12 - Eugene Ionesco | "Games and Plays: An Approach to Ionesco," in Educational Theatre Journal, Vol. XXII, No. 1, March 1970, pp. 60-70. | UCF Full Text Journals |
| 13 - Alan AyckBourn | A lecture delivered on October 21, 1987, in Drama, No. 167, 1988, pp. 5-7. "Art and Commerce: The New Drama in the West End Marketplace," in Contemporary English Drama, edited by C.W.E. Bigsby, Edward Arnold, 1981, pp. 177-88. |
General Collection PN2001.D64 Interlibrary Loan |
| 13 - Moliere | "Moliere in the Post-Structuralist Age: L'Impromptu de Versailles," in Theatre Journal, Vol. 34, No. 3, October, 1982, pp. 373-83.
"Dramatic Justice in Tartuffe," in Modern Language Notes, Vol. 90, No. 4, April 1975, pp. 583-90. |
UCF Full Text Journals General Collection PB1.M6 |
| 13 - Tirso De Molina | "Tirso de Molina and the Other Lopistas," in Theatre in Spain 1490-1700, Cambridge University Press, 1989, pp. 115-39. | Interlibrary Loan |
| 14 - Antonin Artaud | "Artaud: A New Type of Magic," in Yale French Studies, No. 31, 1964, pp. 87-98. "Antonin Artaud: Metaphysical Revolutionary," in Yale French Studies, No. 39, 1967, pp. 188-97. "Artaud and the Participatory Drama of the Now Generation," in Educational Theatre Journal, Vol. 20, No. 29, December 1968, pp. 485-91. "'The Catastrophes of Heaven': Modernism, Primitivism, and the Madness of Antonin Artaud," in Moderism/Modernity, Vol. 3, No. 2, May 1996, pp. 73-91. |
General Collection DC1.Y3 General Collection DC1.Y3 UCF Full Text Journals UCF Full Text Journals |
| 14 - Thomas Bernhard | "Contemporary Austrian Playwrights," in Performing Arts Journal, Vol. 3, No. i-ii, Spring-Summer, 1978, pp. 93-8.
"Mental Life in Thomas Bernhard's Comic Types," in Missing Persons: Character and Characterizations in Modern Drama, The University of Georgia Press, 1994, pp. 108-54. "Comitragedies: Thomas Bernhard's Marionette Theater," in Modern Language Notes, Vol. III, No. 3, April 1996, pp. 533-59. "How German Is It? Thomas Bernhard at the Guthrie," in Performing Arts Journal, Vol. 6, No. 1, 1981, pp. 7-25. |
UCF Full Text Journals Gerneral Collection PN1689.G78 1994 UCF Full Text Journals UCF Full Text Journals |
| 14 - Franz Grillparzer | "Realms of Action in Grillparzer's Ein Bruderzwist in Habsburg," in Studies in the German Drama: A Festschrift in Honor of Walter Silz, edited by Donald H. Crosby and George C. Schoolfield, The University of North Carolina Press, 1974, pp. 149-61. | General Collection PD25.N6 no. 76 |
| 14 - Neil Simon | "Neil Simon, Boffmeister," in The National Observer, Vol. 10, No. 46, November 20, 1971, p. 24. | Microfilm PR1.E53 |
| 15 - Thomas Lovell Beddoes | "Thomas Lovell Beddoes's The Brides' Tragedy and the Situation of Romantic Drama," in Studies in English Literature: 1500-1900, Vol. 29, No. 4, Autumn 1989, pp. 699-712. | UCF Full Text Journals |
| 15 - Harold Pinter | "Harold Pinter: A Retrospect," in Critical Quarterly, Vol. 20, No. 4, Winter 1978, pp. 21-28.
"'Yes! In the Sea of Life Enisled': Harold Pinter's Other Places," in Harold Pinter: A Casebook, edited by Lois Gordon, Garland Publishing, Inc., 1990, pp. 161-88. "Pinter and Politics," in Harold Pinter: A Casebook, Duke University Press, 1990, pp. 129-60. "Harold Pinter/Politics," in Around the Absurd: Essays on Modern and Postmodern Drama, edited by Enoch Brater and Ruby Cohn, The University of Michigan Press, 1990, pp. 129-54. |
General Collection AP4.C887 General Collection PR6066.I53.Z6664 1990 Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan |
| Volume - Topic | Citation | Where to Find |
| 16 - Exiles by James Joyce | Kenner, Hugh, "Exiles," in Dublin's Joyce, pp. 69-94. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1956.
"Aitken, D.J.F. "Dramatic Archetypes in Joyce's 'Exiles,'" Modern Fiction Studies 4, no. 1 (Spring 1958): 42-52. Tindall, William York. "Exiles," In A Readers Guide to James Joyce, pp. 104-22. New York: Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 1959. Benstock, Bernard. "Exiles: 'Paradox Lust' and 'Lost Paladays,'" ELH 36, no. 4 (December 1969): 739-56. Williams, Raymond. "Exiles." In James Joyce: New Perspectives, edited by Colin MacCabe, pp. 105-110. Bloomington, IN: The Harvester Press, 1982. Henke, Suzette A. "Interpreting Exiles: The Aesthetics of Unconsummated Desire." In James Joyce and the Politics of Desire. pp. 85-105. New York: Routledge, 1990. |
Interlibrary Loan
General Collection PS379.M55 Interlibrary Loan UCF Full Text Journals Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan |
| 16 - The Living Theatre | Harding, James M. "Dessent Behind the Barricades: Radical Art, Revolutionary Stages, and Avant-Garde Divisions." In Contours of the Theatrical Avant-Garde, Performance and Textuality, pp. 176-201. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2000.
Rich, Frank. A Review of Teh Archaeology of Sleep. In Hot Seat: Theatre Criticism for the New York Times, 1980-1993, pp. 289-92. New York: Random House, 1998. |
Interlibrary Loan General Collection PN2277.N5.R53 1998 |
| 16 - Niccolo Machiavelli | Ruffo-Fiore, Silvia. "Machiavelli's Dramatic and Literary Art." In Niccolo Machiavelli, pp. 107-20. Boston: Twayne Publishers, 1982.
Apter, Andrew. Review of Mandragola. Theatre Journal 38 (October 1986): 359-60. |
General Collection PQ4629.M2.Z79 1982 UCF Full Text Journals |
| 16 - David Rabe | Werner, Craig. "Primal Screams and Nonsense Rhymes: David Rabe's Revolt." Educational Theatre Journal 30, no. 4 (December 1978): 517-29. | UCF Full Text Journals |
| 17 - Jean Cocteau | Tsakiridou, Cornelia A. "Greece in Cocteau; Cocteau in Greece." Journal of Hellenic Diaspora 26, no. 1 (2000): 21-37.
Long, Chester Clayton. "Cocteau's Orphee: From Myth to Drama and Film." Quarterly Journal of Speech 51, no. 3 (October 1965): 311-25. |
Interlibrary Loan General Collection PN4071.Q3 |
| 17 - Peter Handke | Herrick, Jeffrey. "Peter Handke's Kaspar: A Study of Linguistic Theory in Modern Drama." Philological Quarterly 63, no. 2 (Spring 1984): 205-21.
Barnett, David. "Dramaturgies of Sprachkritik: Rainer Werner Fassbinder's Blut Am Hals Der Katze and Peter Handke's Kaspar." Modern Language Review 95, no. 4 (October 2000): 1053-63. Metcalf, Eva-Maria. "Challenging the Arrogance of Power." Modern Fiction Studies 36, no 3 (Autumn 1990): 369-79. |
UCF Full Text Journals General Collection PB1.M65 General Collection PS379.M55 |
| 17 - George S. Kaufman | Mason, Jeffrey D. "The Fool and the Clown: The Ironic Vision of George S. Kaufman." In Farce, pp. 205-217. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1988. | General Collection PN1942.F37 1988 |
| 17 - Arthur Schnitzler | Swales, Martin. "Tragedy and Comedy." in Arthur Schnitzler: A Critical Study, pp. 181-214. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1971.
Hammer, Stephanie. "Fear and Attraction: Anatol and Liebelei Productions in the United States." Modern Austrian Literature 19, nos. 3-4 (1986): 63-74. Walton, Luverne. "Anatol on the New York Stage." Modern Austrian Literature 2, no. 2 (Summer 1969): 30-44. Schneider, Gerd K. "The Reception of Arthur Schnitzler's Reigen in the Old Country and the New World: A Study in Cultural Differences." Modern Austrian Literature 19, nos. 3-4 (1986): 75-89. Roe, Ian F. "The Comedy of Schnitzler's Reigen." Modern Language Review 89, no. 3 (July 1994): 674-88. |
General Collection PT2638.N.Z89 Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan General Collection PB1.M65 |
| 18 - Antonio Buero Vallejo | Holden, Stephen. "Foundation: A Spaniard's Political Metaphor." New York Times (29 December 1989): C6. | Microfilm available on 3rd Floor |
| 18 - Terence Rattigan | Dalrymple, Theodore. "Reticence or Insincerity, Rattigan or Pinter." New Criterion 19, no. 3 (November 2000): 12-20.
Wansell, Geoffrey. "A One-Hit Wonder?" In Terence Rattigan, pp. 120-31. London: Fourth Estate, 1995. Klein, Alvin. "An Esoteric Rattigan Play That Wants to Entertain." New York Times (21 October 2001): 10. Spencer, Charles. "Crying with Pain and Laughter." Daily Telegraph (20 June 1994): 19. Spencer, Charles. "Mysteries of the Human Heart: Charles Spencer on an Outstanding Revival of a Rattigan Classic." The Daily Telegraph (15 June 1993): 17. Spencer, Charles. "Putting a Brave Face on Desperation." Daily Telegraph (8 July 1993): 17. Spencer, Charles. "Rattigan with His Heart on His Sleeve." Daily Telegraph (8 March 1995): 15. |
UCF Full Text Journals General Collection PR6035.A75.Z87 1995 Microfilm available on 3rd Floor Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan |
| 18 - August Strindberg | Spencer, Charles. "The Arts: Turn up the Heat." The Daily Telegraph (March 2, 2000): 26.
Franschuk, Edward S. "Symbolism in Miss Julie." Theatre Research International 18, supplementary issue (1993): 11-15. Naslund, Erik. "Miss Julie-The Ballet, 1950-1." Theatre Research International 18, supplementary issue (1993): 16-23. Brantley, Ben. "To Stay Alive, Snipe, Snipe." The New York Times (October 12, 2001): section E, page 1. Spencer, Charles. "A Marrowing Odyssey to the Heart of Marital Hell." Daily Telegraph (November 21, 2001): 21. Bruckner, D.J.R. "More of Strindberg's Peace amid Misery." New York Times (March 15, 2002): E. Jenkins, Ron. "Letting Silence Speak of Anguish in Strindberg." New York Times (June 17, 2001): sec. 2, p. 5. Rokem, Freddie, "The Black Glove: Wilhelm Carlsson's Production at the Dramaten, 1988." Theatre Research International 18, supplementary issue (1993): 24-36. |
Interlibrary Loan General Collection PN2001.T436 General Collection PN2001.T436 Microfilm available on 3rd Floor Interlibrary Loan Microfilm available on 3rd Floor Microfilm available on 3rd Floor General Collection PN2001.T436 |
| 19 - George Chapman | MacLure, Millar. "Tragedy." in George Chapman: A Critical Study, pp. 108-57. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1966. | Interlibrary Loan |
| 19 - Paula Vogel | Novy, Marianne. "Saving Desdemona and/or Ourselves: Plays by Ann-Marie MacDonald and Paula Vogel." In Transforming Shakespeare: Contemporary Women's Re-Visions in Literature and Performance, edited by Marianne Novy, pp. 67-85. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1999. | General Collection PR2880.A1.T7 1999 |
| 20 - Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe | Swales, Martin. "'Die neue sitte' and Metaphors of Secular Existence: Reflections on Goethe Iphigenie." Modern Language Review 89, no. 4 (October 1994): 902-15
Burwick, Frederick. "Stage Illusion and te Stage Designs of Goethe and Hugo." Word & Image 4, nos. 3-4 (July-December 1988): 692-718. Lamport, F.J. "Goethe's Faust: A Cautionary Tale?" Forum for Modern Language Studies 35, no. 2 (April 1999): 193-206. |
General Collection PB1.M65 Interlibrary Loan General Collection PB1.F63 |
| 20 - John Guare | Hewes, Henry. "The Theatre: Under the Rainbow." Saturday Review (20 March 1971): 10. Gottfried, Martin. "An Unmerry Month of May." Staurday Review (7 July 1979): 40. Zimmerman, David A. "Six Degrees of Distinction: connection, Contagion, and the Aesthetics of Anything." Arizona Quarterly 55, no. 3 (Autumn 1999): 107-33. Schildcrout, Jordan. Review of Chaucer in Rome, by John Gaure. Theatre Journal 54, no. 1 (March 2002): 152, 154. |
General Collection Z1219.S25 General Collection Z1219.S25 Interlibrary Loan UCF Full Text Journals |
| 20 - Eugene O'Neill | Robinson, James A. "The Metatheatrics of A Moon for the Misbegotten." In Perspectives on O'Neill: New Essays, edited by Shyamal Bagchee, pp. 61-75. Victoria, Canada: University of Victoria, 1988 | General Collection PS3529.N5.Z77 |
| 20 - Sharon Pollock | Bessai, Diane. "Sharon Pollock's Women: A Study in Dramatic Process." In Amazing Space: Writing Canadian Women Writing, edited by Shirley Newman and Smaro Kamboureli, pp. 126-36. Edmonton: Longspoon/Newest, 1986.
Gilbert, Reid. "Sharon Pollock," In Profiles in Canadian Literature, 6, pp. 113-20. Toronto: Dundurn Press Limited, 1986. Bessai, Diane. "Women Dramatists: Sharon Pollock and Judith Thompson." In Post-Colonial English Drama: Commonwealth Drama since 1960, pp. 97-117. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1992. Saddlemyer, Ann. "Crime in Literature: Canadian Drama." In Rough Justice: Essays on Crime in Literature, pp. 214-30. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1991. Nothof, Anne F. "Gendered Landscapes: Synergism of Place and Person in Canadian Prairie Drama." Great Plains Quarterly 18, no. 2 (Spring 1998): 127-38. Goldie, Terry. "Playing with the Margins." Canadian Literature, no. 161-62 (Summer-Autumn 1999): 203-05. |
Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan General Collection PR9083.P67 1992 Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan General Collection PR9100.C25 |
| Volume - Topic | Citation | Where to Find |
| 21 - Jean Anouilh | Amoia, Alba. "The Heroic World of Jean Anouilh." In Twentieth-Century European Drama, edited by Brian Docherty, pp. 109-23. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1994. Howarth, W.D. "Anouilh's Antigone: An Analytical Commentary." In Anouilh: Antigone, pp. 22-47. London: Edward Arnold, 1983. Howarth, W.D. "Antigone in 1944." In Anouilh: Antigone, pp. 47-52. London: Edward Arnold, 1983. |
General Collection PN1861.T94 1994 Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan |
| 21 - Pierre Corneille | Mallinson, G.J. "The Variants of Corneille's Early Plays." Modern Langauge Review 77, no. 3 (July 1982: 547-57. Stone, Harriet. "Transformal Closures in Le Cid, Horace, Cinna, and Polyeucte." Theatre Journal 34, no. 3 (October 1982): 302-21. Barnwell, H.T. "'They Have Their Exits and Their Entrances': Stage and Speech in Corneille's Drama." The Modern Language Review 81, no. 1 (January 1986): 51-63. Greenberg, Mitchell. "Mythifying Matrix: Corneille's Medee and the Birth of Tragedy." In Corneille, Classicism and the Ruses of Symmetry, pp. 16-36. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1986. |
General Collection PB1.M65 UCF Full Text Journals General Collection PB1.M65 General Collection PQ1779.G7 1986 |
| 21 - Friedrich Hebbel | Hogel, Rolf K. "'Ort: Eine Mittlere Stadt': The Setting of Hebbel's Maria Magdalene." MLN 87, no. 5 (October 1972): 763-68. Hodge, James L. "Rhodope: By Any Other Name." MLN 79, no. 4 (October 1964): 435-39. |
UCF Full Text Journals UCF Full Text Journals |
| 22 - Samuel Beckett | Guicharn, Jacques, and June Beckelman. "Existence on Stage: Samuel Beckett." In Modern French Theatre: From Gidaudoux to Beckett, pp. 193-220. New Haven, Conn: Yale University Press, 1961.
Connor, Steven. "'What? Where?' Presence and Repetition in Beckett's Theatre." In Rethinking Beckett: A Collection of Critical Essays, edited by Lance St. John Butler and Robin J. Davis, pp. 1-19. New York, NY: St Martin's Press, 1990. Elam, Keir. "Dead Heads: Damnation-Narration in the 'Dramaticules.'" In The Cambridge Companion to Beckett, edited by John Pilling, pp. 145-66. Cambridge, Eng.: Cambridge University Press, 1994. Lawley, Paul. "'The Rapture of Vertigo': Beckett's Turning-Point." Modern Language Review 95, no. 1 (January 2000): 28-40. Williams, Paul. "Samuel Beckett's Endgame." English Review 11, no. 3 (February 2001): 17. |
General Collection PQ556.G8 1967 General Collection PR6003.E282.Z792 1990 General Collection PR6003.E282.Z585 1994 General Collection PB1.M65 UCF Full Text Journals |
| 22 - Aime Cesaire | Benamou, Michel. "Demiurgic Imagery and Cesaire's Theatre." Presence Africaine 93 (1975): 165-77.
Livingston, Robert Eric. "Decolonizing the Theatre: Cesaire, Serreau and the Drama of Negritude." In Imperialism and Theatre: Essays on World Theatre, Drama, and Performance 1795-1995, edited by J. Ellen Gainor, pp. 182-98. London: Routledge, 1995. Little, Roger. "Questions of Intertextuality in La tragedie du roi Christophe." French Studies 48, no. 4 (October 1994): 439-51. |
Interlibrary Loan General Collection N2049.I47 1995 General Collection PQ1.F85 |
| 22 - Cherrie Moraga | Rosenberg, Lou. "The House of Difference: Gender, Culture, and the Subject-in-Process on the American Stage." Journal of Homosexuality 26, nos. 2-3 (1997): 97-110.
Huerta, Jorge. "Cherrie Moraga's Lesbian Representations: Revealing Lesbian Desire: Giving up the Ghost." In Chicano Drama: Performance, Society and Myth, pp. 161-66. Cambridge, England: Cambridge University Press, 2000. |
General Collection HQ75.J68 General Collection PS153.M4.H84 2000 |
| 22 - Stephen Sondheim | Lahr, John. "Sondheim's Little Deaths." Harper's 258, no. 1457 (April 1979): 71-8. Block, Geoffrey. "Happily Ever After West Side Story with Sondheim." in Enchanted Evenings: The Broadway Musical from Show Boat to Sondheim, pp. 274-93. New York: Oxford University Press, 1997. |
General Collection AP2.H3 General Collection ML1711.8.N3.B56 1997 |
| 23 - George Etherege | Brown, Laura. "Dramatic Social Satire." In English Dramatic Form, 1660-1760, pp. 28-65. New Haven, Conn.: Yale University Press, 1981.
Cordner, Michael. "Etherege's She Would If She could: Comedy, Complaisance and Anti-Climax." In English Comedy, edited by Michael Cordner, Peter Holland, and John Kerrigan, pp. 158-79. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1994. Hayman, John G. "Dorimant and the Comedy of A Man of Mode." Modern Language Quarterly 30 (1969): 183-97. Barnard, John. "Point of View in The Man of Mode." Essays in Criticism 34, no. 4 (October 1984): 285-308. |
Interlibrary Loan General Collection PR631.E54 1994 General Collection PB1.M64 General Collection PR1.E75 |
| 23 - David Henry Hwang | Hwang, David Henry. "Afterword." In M. Butterfly, pp. 94-100. New York: Plume, 1989. King, Robert L. "Recent Drama." Massachusetts Review 30, no. 1 (Spring 1989):132-6. Pao, Angela. "The Critic and the Butterfly: Sociocultural Contexts and the Reception of David Henry Hwang's M. Butterfly." Amerasia Journal 18, no. 3 (1992): 1-16. Eng, David L. "In the Shadows of a Diva: Committing Homosexuality in David Henry Hwang's M. Butterfly." Amerasia Journal 20, no. 1 (1994): 93-116. |
Interlibrary Loan
UCF Full Text Journals Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan |
| 23 - Suzan-Lori Parks | Solomon, Alisa. "Signifying on the Signifin': The Plays of Suzan-Lori Parks." Theatre 21, no. 3 (Summer-Fall 1990): 73-80.
Diamond, Liz. "Perceptible Mutability in the Work Kingdom." Theatre 24, no. 3 (1993): 86-87. |
Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan |
| 23 - George Bernard Shaw | Quinn, Michael. "Form and Intention: A Negative View of Arms and the Man." Critical Quarterly 5, no. 2 (Summer 1963): 148-54. | General Collection AP4.C887 |
| 24 - Lord George Gordon (Noel) Byron | Watkins, Daniel P. "Violence, Class Consciousness, and Ideology in Byron's History Plays." ELH 48, no. 4 (Winter 1981): 799-816.
Ehrstine, John W. "The Two Foscari: The Silence of Chains." In The Metaphysics of Byron: A Reading of the Plays, pp. 69-88. The Hague: Mouton, 1976. |
UCF Full Text Journals Interlibrary Loan |
| 24 - Margaret Edson | Reid, Kerry. Review of Wit, by Margaret Edson, Back Stage West 7, no. 19 (11 May 2000): 17.
Hornby, Richard. "The Two August Wilsons." The Hudson Review 53, no. 2 (Summer 2000): 291-98. |
Interlibrary Loan General Collection AP2.H886 |
| 24 - Oleanna by David Mamet | Katz, Montana. "Truth of Consequences: Mamet's Oleanna in the Real World." In the Erotics of Institution, edited by Regina Barreca and Deborah Denenholz Morse, pp. 156-65. Hanover, NH: University Press of New England, 1997.
Weber, Jean Jacques. "Three Models of Power in David Mamet's Oleanna." In Exploring the Language of Drama: From Text to Context. Edited by Jonathan Culpepper, Mick Short, and Peter Verdonk, pp. 112-27. New York: Routledge, 1998. Skloot, Robert. "Oleanna, or The Play of Pedagogy." In Gender and Genre: Essays on David Mamet, edited by Christopher C. Hudgins and Leslie Kane, pp. 95-107. New York: Palgrave, 2007. JBean, Kellie. "A Few Good Men: Collusion and Violence in Oleanna." In Gender and Genre: Essays on David Mamet, edited by Christopher C. Hudgins and Leslie Kane, pp. 109-23. New York: Palgrave, 2001. |
Interlibrary Loan General Collection PR629.E9 1998 General Collection PS3563.A4345.Z77 2001 General Collection PS3563.A4345.Z77 2001 |
| 24 - Thomas Otway | Brown, Laura. "Affective Tragedy." In English Dramatic Form, 1660-1760: an Essay In Generic History, pp. 86-95. New Haven, Conn: Yale University Press, 1981.
Marshall, Geoffrey. "The Coherence of The Orphan." Texas Studies in Literature and Language 11 (1969): 931-43. Berman, Ronald. "Nature in Venice Preserv'd." ELH 36, no. 3 (September 1969): 523-39. Canfield, John Douglas. "Absurdist Satire." In Word as Bond in English Literature from the Middle Ages to the Restoration, pp. 300-11. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1989. |
Interlibrary Loan General Collection AS30.T4 UCF Full Text Journals General Collection PR428.T77.C36 1989 |
| 24 - Our Town by Thornton Wilder | Johnson, Malcolm. "Acting Lapses Undercut This Our Town Revival." Hartford Courant (23 July 1994): D8.
Austell, Jan. "Characters in Our Town." In Readings on Our Town, edited by Thomas Siebold, pp. 94-100. San Diego: Greenhaven Press, 2000. |
Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan |
| 25 - Susanna Centlivre | Rosenthal, Laura J. "Writing (as) the Lady's Last Stake: Susanna Centlivre." In Playwrights and Plagiarists in Early Modern England: Gender, Authorship, Literary Property, pp. 204-42. Ithaca, N.Y.: Cornell University Press, 1996.
Kinney, Suz-Anne. "Confinement Sharpens the Invention: Aphra Behn's The Rover and Susanna Centlivre's The Busie Body." In Look Who's Laughing: Gender and Comedy, edited by Gail Finney, pp. 81-98. Langhorne, Penn.: Gordon and Breach, 1994. |
General Collection PR698.W6R67 1996 General Collection PN1922.L66 1994 |
| 25 - Jean Genet | Connon, Derek F. "Confused? You Will Be: Genet's Les Negres and the Art of Upsetting the Audience." French Studies 50, no. 4 (October 1996);425-38. | General Collection PQ1.F85 |
| 25 - James Shirley | Butler, Martin. "City Comedies: Courtiers and Gentleman." In Theatre and Crisis, 1632-1642, pp. 141-80. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1984.
Wilson, Edwin. "Shirley and Shakespeare." The Wall Street Journal (13 July 1987): 20. Levin, Richard. "The Triple Plot of Hyde Park." Modern Language Review 62 (1967): 17-27. Huebert, Ronald. "The Staging of Shirley's The Lady of Pleasure." In The Elizabethan Theatre IX, edited by G.R. Hibbard, pp. 41-59. Port Credit, Ontario, Canada: P.D. Meany, 1981. |
General Collection PR678.P65 B8 1984 UCF Full Text Journals General Collection PB1.M65 Interlibrary Loan |
| Volume - Topic | Citation | Where to Find |
| 26 - David Hare | Homden, Carol. "The People's War and Peace." In The Plays of David Hare, pp. 55-73. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1995. Billington, Michael. Review of Plenty. Guardian (14 April 1978): 10. Billington, Michael. "The Street of Sham." Guardian (3 May 1985): 12. "All This Fuss about the Truth." Economist (11 May 1985): 103-04. "Alias Smith and Dench." Ecomonist (16 November 2002): 78-79. |
General Collection PR6058.A678 Z69 1995 Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan General Collection HG11.E2 Microfiche HG11.E2 |
| 26 - Moises Kaufman | Zoglin, Richard. "The Artist Gets Grilled." Time 149, no. 24 (16 June 1997): 75. | Microfiche AP2.T37 |
| 26 - Hanif Kureishi | Butler, Robert. "Tragedy without the Tears." The Independent on Sunday (25 April 1999): 6. | Interlibrary Loan |
| 26 - G.E. Lessing | Donald, Sydney G. "'An Officer and a Gentleman': Minna von Barnhelm and the Rhetoric of Class and Gender." Forum for Modern Language Studies 27, no. 1 (January 1991): 43-69. | General Collection PB1.F63 |
| 27 - Michael Frayn | King, Robert L. "The Play of Uncertain Ideas." The Massachusetts Review 42, no. 2 (Summer 2001): 165-75. | UCF Full Text Journals |
| 27 - Terrence McNally | Frontain, Raymond-Jean. "'All Men Are Divine': Religious Mystery and Homosexual Identity in Terrence McNally's Corpus Christi." In Reclaiming the Sacred: The Bible in Gay and Lesbian Culture, edited by Raymond-Jean Frontain, pp. 231-57. New York: Harrington Park Press, 2003. | General Collection PR120.G39.R43 2003 |
| 27 - Alfred De Musset | Sices, David. Introduction to Theater of Solitude: The Drama of Alfred de Musset, pp. 1-12. Hanover, NH: The University Press of New England, 1974. Sices, David. "The Originality of Musset's Theater." In Theater of Solitude: The Drama of Alfred de Musset, pp. 241-52. Hanover, NH: The University Press of New England, 1974. Sices, David. "Carmosine: The Myth Turned Fairy Tale." In Theater of Solitude: The Drama of Alfred de Musset, pp. 221-40. Hanover, NH: The University Press of New England, 1974. |
General Collection PQ2373.S5 General Collection PQ2373.S5 General Collection PQ2373.S5 |
| 27 - George Peele | Wilson, Robert H. "Reed and Warton on the Old Wives Tale." PMLA 55, no. 2 (June 1940): 605-08. Renwick, Roger deV. "The Mummers' Play and The Old Wives Tale." Journal of American Folklore 94, no. 374 (October-December 1981): 433-55. |
UCF Full Text Journals UCF Full Text Journals |
| 28 - The Cocktail Party by T.S. Eliot | Forster, E.M. "Mr. Eliot's 'Comedy.'" In T.S. Eliot: The Critical Heritage, Volume 2, edited by Michael Grant, pp. 602-04. Wimsatt, W.K. "Eliot's Comedy." Sewanee Review 58, no. 4 (October-December 1950): 666-78. Badenhausen, Richard. "T.S. Eliot Speaks the Body: The Privildging of Female Discourse in Murder in the Cathedral and The Cocktail Party." In Gender, Desire, and Sexuality in T.S. Eliot, edited by Cassandra Laity and Nancy K. Gish, pp. 195-214. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2004. |
General Collection PS3509.L43 Z8732 1982 Interlibrary Loan General Collection PS3509.L43 Z67687 2004 |
| 28 - Theater of the Absurd | Hesson, Elizabeth C. and Ian M. Hesson. "Ionesco and L'insolite," In Staging the Impossible: The Fantastic Mode in Modern Drama, edited by Patrick D. Murphy, pp. 87-107. Westport, Connecticut: Greenwood Press, 1992. | General Collection PN1861.S7 1992 |
| 29 - Thomas Heywood | Weathersbee, Avis L. "Fair Maid Succeeds as Modern Play." Chicago Sun-Times (8 December 1994): section 2, p. 45. Howard, Jean E. "Competing Ideologies of Commerce in Thomas Heywood's If You Know Not Me You Know Nobody, Part II." In The Culture of Capital Property, Cities, and Knowledge in Early Modern England, edited by Henry S. Turner, pp. 163-82, New York: Routledge, 2002. Amistead, Claire. Review of A Woman Killed with Kindness, by Thomas Heywood. Guardian (London) (21 April 1992): 32. |
Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan |
| 29 - Heinrich Von Kleist | Jacobs, Carol. "The Rhetorics of Feminism." In Uncontainable Romanticism: Shelley, Bronte, Kleist, pp. 85-114. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1989. Stephens, Anthony. "Penthelilea." In Heinrich von Kleist: The Dramas and Stories, pp. 97-126. Oxford: Berg, 1994. Billington, Michael. Review of The Prince of Homburg, by Heinrich von Kleist. Guardian (London) (1 February 2002): Reviews, p. 18. |
General Collection PR457.J25 1989 General Collection PT2379.Z5 S68 1994 Interlibrary Loan |
| 30 - Zona Gale | Craig, Carolyn Casey. "Zona Gale and the Real Village Tale." In Women Pulitzer Playwrights: Biological Profiles and analyses of the Plays, pp. 25-43, Jefferson, NC.: McFarland & Company, Inc., 2004. | General Collection PS338.W6 C73 2004 |
| 30 - The Wild Duck by Henrik Ibsen | Scott, Clement. "An Unsigned Notice by Clement Scott, Daily Telegraph." In Ibsen: The Critical Heritage, edited by Michael Egan, pp. 317-19. London: Routledge and Kegan Paul, 1972. Meyer, Hans Georg. "The Wild Duck." In Henrik Ibsen, translated by Helen Sebba, pp. 93-110. New York: Fredrick Ungar Publishing Co., 1972. Chamberlain, John S. "The Wild Duck: All Hope Abandoned?" In Ibsen: The Open Vision, pp. 104-54. London: Athlone, 1982. Veisland, Jorgen. "The Ethics of Aesthetics: Decadence in Henrik Ibsen's The Wild Duck." Ibsen Studies 5, no. 1 (2005):48-63. |
Interlibrary Loan General Collection PT8890.M4413 Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan |
| 30 - Tom Stoppard | Guralnick, Elissa S. "Stoppard's Radio and Television Plays." In The Cambridge Companion to Tom Stoppard, edited by Katherine E. Kelly, pp. 68-83. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2001. Er, Zeliye. "Tom Stoppard, New Historicism and Estrangement in Travesties." New Theatre Quarterly 21, no. 3 (August 2005): 230-40. |
General Collection PR6069.T6 Z615 2001 UCF Full Text Journals |
| Volume - Topic | Citation | Where to Find |
| 31 - Sarah Kane | Aston, Elaine. "Sarah Kane: The 'Bad Girl of Our Stage'?" In Feminist Views on the English Stage: Women Playwrights, 1990-2000, pp. 77-97. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2003. Luckhurst, Mary. "Infamy and Dying Young: Sarah Kane, 1971-1999." In Theatre and Celebrity in Britain, 1660-2000, edited by Mary Luckhurst and Jane Moody, pp. 107-24. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2005. |
General Collection PR739.F45 A77 2003 General Collection PN2597.T44 2005 |
| 31 - The Crucible by Arthur Miller | Fender, Stephen. "Precision and Pseudo Precision in The Crucible." Journal of American Studies 1, no. 1 (April 1967): 87-98. Strout, Cushing. "Analogical History: The Crucible." In The Veracious Imagination: Essays on American History, Literature, and Biography, pp. 139-56. Middletown, Conn.: Wesleyan University Press, 1981. Morgan, Edmund S. "Arthur Miller's The Crucible and the Salem Witch Trials: A Historian's View." In The Golden & The Brazen World: Papers in Literature and History, 1650-1800, edited by John M. Wallace, pp. 171-86. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1985. Schlueter, June, and James K. Flanagan. "The Crucible." In Arthur Miller, pp. 67-76. New York: Ungar, 1987. Adler, Thomas, P. "Conscience and Community in An Enemy of the People and The Crucible." In The Cambridge Companion to Arthur Miller, edited by Christopher Bigsby, pp. 86-100. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1997. Bigsby, Christopher. "The Crucible." In Arthur Miller: A Critical Study, pp. 147-71. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2005. |
General Collection E151.J6 General Collection PS169.H5 S85 General Collection PN50.G6 1985 General Collection PS3525.I5156 Z88 1987 General Collection PS3525.I5156 Z548 1997 General Collection PS3525.I5156 Z5445 2005 |
| 31 - August Wilson | Rocha, Mark William. "Black Madness in August Wilson's 'Down the Line' Cycle." In Madness in Drama, Edited by James Redmond, pp. 191-201. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1993. Monaco, Pamela Jean. "Father, Son, and Holy Ghost: From the Local to the Mythical in August Wilson." In August Wilson: A Casebook, edited by Marilyn Elkins, pp. 89-104. New York: Garland Publishing, Inc., 1994. |
Interlibrary Loan General Collection PS3573.I45677 Z56 1994 |
| 32 - Pearl Cleage | Weiss, Hedy. "Predictable West Slides to Soap Opera: Writier Rehashes Worn Tales of Slavery, Bigotry." Chicago Sun-Times (19 March 2007): Features, 39. Hulbert, Dan. Review of Bourbon at the Border, by Pearl Cleage. Atlanta Journal-Constitution (2 May 1997): Preview, 11. |
Interlibrary Loan Microfilm--3rd Floor |
| 32 - Maurice Maeterlinck | Macaulay, Alastair. "A Poetic Play of Voices and Echoes." Financial Times (29 August 2002): Arts, 16. Slater, Maya. Introducation to Three Pre-Surrealist Plays: The Blind (Les Aveugles), Ubu the King (Ubu roi), The Mammaries of Tiresias (Les Mamelles de Tiresias), pp. ix-xlii. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1997. McGuinness, Patrick. "Theatre and the Invisible Principle: Pelleas et Melisande." In Maurice Maeterlinck and the Making of Modern Theatre, pp. 125-68. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2000. |
Online General Collection General Collection PQ1240.E5 T63 1997 General Collection PQ2625.A61 M39 2000 |
| 32 - Jean Racine | Kennedy, Louise. "Intrigue Shapes the Fate of an Empire in an Electrifying Britannicus at the ART." Boston Globe (26 January 2007): D5. | Interlibrary Loan |
| 33 - Tomson Highway | Highway, Tomson. "Fact Does Not Interest Me Near as Much as Fantasy." In Theatre and AutoBiography: Writing and Performing Lives in Theory and Practice, edited by Sherrill Grace and Jerry Wasserman, pp. 306-08. Vancouver: Talonbooks, 2006. | General Collection PN2039.T47 2006 |
| 34 - Gerhart Hauptmann | Paulin, Roger. "Hauptmann, Der Biberpelz," in Landmarks in German Comedy, edited by Peter Hutchinson, pp. 119-32. Oxford: Peter Lang, 2006. | General Collection PT676.L36 2006 |
| 34 - The Musical | Milner, Andrew. "'Let the Pupil Show the Master': Steven Sondheim and Oscar Hammerstein II." in Steven Sondheim: A Casebook, edited by Joanne Gordon, pp. 153-69. New York: Garland Publishing, 1997. Sondheim, Stephen, Jackson R. Bryer, and Richard A Davison. "Stephen Sondheim." in The Art of the the American Musical: Conversations with the Creators, edited by Jackson R. Bryer and Richard A. Davison, pp. 186-205. New Brunswick, N.J.: Rutgers University Press, 2005. |
General Collection ML410.S6872.S74 1997 General Collection ML1711.A77 2005 |
| 35 - Georg Büchner | Billington, Michael. "All Style, Little Substance at the Barbican." Guardian, London (30 September 2002): 16. Gallo, Phil. Review of Woyzeck, by Georg Buchner. Daily Variety (5 December 2002): 12. |
UCF Full Text Journals UCF Full Text Journals |
| 35 - Carson McCullers | McKinnie, Betty E., and Carlos L. Dews. "The Delayed Entrance of Lily Mae Jenkins: Queer Identity, Gender Ambiguity, and Southern Ambivalence in Carson McCullers's The Member of the Wedding." in Southern Women Playwrights: New Essays in Literary History and Criticism, edited by Robert L. McDonald and Linda Rohrer Paige, pp. 61-72. Tuscaloosa: University of Alabama Press, 2002. | General Collection PS261.S57 2002 |
| Volume - Topic | Citation | Where to Find |
| 36 - Robert E. Sherwood | Brown, John Mason. "Diary of a Play." In The Ordeal of a Playwright: Robert E. Sherwood and the Challenge of War, pp. 49-75. New York: Harper & Row, 1970. | General Collection PS3537.H825 T4533 1970 |
| 37 - Arthur Kopit | Jones, John Bush. "Impersonation and Authenticity: The Theatre as Metaphor in Kopit's Indians." Quarterly Journal of Speech 59, no. 4 (December 1973): 443-51. | UCF Full Text Journals |
| 37 - John Marston | Bednarz, James P. "Representing Jonson: Histriomastix and the Origin of the Poets' War." Huntington Library Quarterly 54, no. 1 (winter 1991): 1-30. | UCF Full Text Journals |
| 38 - John Osborne | Quigley, Austin E. "'The Personal, the Political, and the Postmodern in Osborne's Look Back in Anger and Déjàvu." in Modern Dramatists: A Casebook of Major British, Irish, and American Playwrights, edited by Kimball King, pp. 197-218. New York: Routledge, 2001.
Gordon, Robert. "The Entertainer as a Text for Performance." in John Osborne: A Casebook, edited by Patricia D. Denison, pp. 91-114. New York: Garland Publishing, 1997. |
General Collection PR736.M56 2001 General Collection PR6029.S39Z66 1997 |
| Volume - Topic | Citation | Where to Find |
| 42 - Sidney Howard | Krutch, Joseph Wood. Review of "They Knew What They Wanted" by Sidney Howard. Nation 119, no. 3101 (10 December 1924): 662-3. | Interlibrary Loan |
| 43 - Maxwell Anderson | Anderson, Maxwell. "A Prelude to Poetry in the Theatre." In Winterset: A Play in Three Acts, pp. v-xi. Washington, D.C.: Anderson House, 1935. | General Collection PS3501.N256 W5 1935 |
| 43 - William Rowley | Wardle, Irving. Review of "The Witch of Edmonton" by Thomas Dekker, John Ford, and William Rowley. Times London (17 September 1981): 9.
Holdsworth, R.V. Review of "The Witch of Edmonton" by Thomas Dekker, John Ford, and William Rowley. Times Literary Supplement (25 September 1981): 1099. |
Microfilm by title Microfilm AP4.T452 |
| 44 - David Edgar | Wardle, Irving. "Hate-filled with Merciless Clarity." Times London (13 May 1977): 15. | Microfilm by title |
| 44 - D.H. Lawrence | Carswell, Catherine. Review of "The Widowing of Mrs. Holroyd" by D.H. Lawrence. Times London (12 March 1920): 14.
Hartman, Geoffrey H. "The Concept of Character in Lawrence's First Play." Bulletin of the Midwest Modern Language Association 10, no. 1(spring 1977): 38-43. "The Economics of Affection." Times London (9 August 1965): 5. Wardle, Irving. "Lawrence Play with a Strindberg Touch." Times London (17 March 1967): 12. Marcus, Frank. "The Dominant Sex." Plays and Players 14, no. 8 (May 1967): 19. |
Interlibrary Loan UCF Full Text Journals Microfilm by title Microfilm by title Interlibrary Loan |
| 44 - Lope De Vega | Macaulay, Alastair. Review of "The Dog in the Manger" by Lope de Vega. Financial Times (23 April 2004): 10.
Nightingale, Benedict. "Village Voices Raised in Anger." Times London (24 August 1992): 2. Wright, Michael. "Small, Dark and Brilliant." Times London (28 May 1990): 18. |
Interlibrary Loan
Microfilm by title Microfilm by title |
| 45 - Shelagh Delaney | Taylor, John Russell. "Shelagh Delaney." In Anger and After: A Guide to the New British Drama, pp. 109-18. 1962. Reprint, London: Methuen and Co Ltd, 1963. | General Collection PR736.T3 1969 |