Orlando, Florida (1884-1951) -- Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Orlando maps are available on microfilm [G 3931 .G475 S3 1983] for 1884, 1887, 1892, 1897, 1903, 1908, 1913, 1919, 1925, and 1925-1951. The maps after 1923 are not available online because of copyright restrictions.
General Information about Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, Florida
- Online version (1884-1923)
- Microfilm G 3931 .G475 S3 1983 (16 reels)
"Reproduced from original copies in the Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress." "Maps are arranged on each reel in the order they appear in Fire Insurance Maps in the Library of Congress." Original maps published by Sanborn Map Co., New York.
Fire Insurance Maps in the Library of Congress : Plans of North American Cities and Towns Produced by the Sanborn Map Company : A Checklist -- compiled by the Reference and Bibliography Section, Geography and Map Division ; introd. by Walter W. Ristow -- provides a brief description of Sanborn maps, and a checklist for all 50 states listing the city, county, and date of each edition. The entries for some maps include comments listing the names of neighboring communities also displayed on the maps.
- U.S. Documents LC 5.2: F51
Sanborn Fire Insurance Company Maps of Florida comprise an online collection of more than 300 bibliographic units in more than 3,000 map sheets dating from 1884 through 1923. Digitized maps are in the public domain and illustrate the development of more than 130 Florida cities.
The dates vary by town, with the earliest for Florida towns from 1884. For example, Orlando maps are available for 1884, 1887, 1892, 1897, 1903, 1908, 1913, 1919, 1925, and 1925-1951. The maps after 1923 are not available online because of copyright restrictions
The University of Florida Map & Imagery Library in Gainesville has most of these maps for Florida towns in paper format, and provides a brief list of the available maps.
The Orange County Regional History Center has paper copies of the 1925 maps for Orlando and Winter Park, updated through the 1950's.
Other Information about Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Online Checklist "provides a searchable database of the fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company housed in the collections of the Geography and Map Division. The online checklist is based upon the Library's 1981 publication Fire Insurance Maps in the Library of Congress and will be continually updated to reflect new acquisitions. The online checklist also contains links to existing digital images from our collection and will be updated as new images are added."
Union List of Sanborn & Other Fire Insurance Maps (University of California, Berkeley) includes links to online maps, and Michigan State University provides a similar list of links.
General information about Sanborn Maps can be found in:
- Researching Community History -- Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, 1867-1950 (Wisconsin Historical Society)
- How to Read Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps (University of Virginia Library)
- Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps (Ancestry.com article)
There are commercial sources for Sanborn Maps from other states. Some of the freely accessible maps include:
- Alabama Fire Insurance Maps, 1884-1922 (University of Alabama) includes Alabama Inspection & Rating Bureau maps (1916-1963)
- Building Colorado Story by Story: The Sanborn Fire Insurance Map Collection (1883-1922) (University of Colorado, Boulder)
- Florida Sanborn Fire Insurance Company Maps (1884-1923) (University of Florida)
- Georgia Towns & Cities, 1884-1922 (Digital Library of Georgia)
- Hawaii -- Dakin Fire Insurance Maps of Hawaii, 1891-1906 (University of Hawaii at Manoa)
- Indiana Sanborn Maps (Indiana University Bloomington)
- Kansas Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, 1883-1922 (University of Kansas)
- Kentucky Sanborn Maps, 1884-1922 (Kentuckiana Digital Library)
- Massachusetts -- Boston, 1867, Boston, 1885-1888, and Cambridge, 1900 (Harvard University)
- Missouri Sanborn Maps, 1880-1923 (University of Missouri)
- Nevada in Maps: Sanborn Maps, 1877-1923 (University of Nevada, Reno)
- New Hampshire Sanborn Maps, 1884-1923 (Dartmouth College)
- New Jersey Sanborn Maps, 1884-1950 (Princeton University) (open Excel file for links to maps)
- North Carolina Sanborn Maps, 1884-1922 (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
- Ohio -- Cincinnati, 1904-1930 (Public Library of Cincinnati & Hamilton County)
- South Carolina Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, 1884-1935 (University of South Carolina)
- Texas Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, 1877-1922 (University of Texas at Austin)
- Utah cities & towns, 1884-1955 (University of Utah)
- Virginia -- Charlottesville, VA, 1907 & 1920 (University of Virginia)
- Wisconsin -- Milwaukee, 1894 & 1910 (University of Wisconsin)
Florida Cities and Towns for which specific maps exist
The following towns and cities are arranged alphabetically on the microfilm reels in the UCF library:
|
|
|
|
Florida: Neighboring Communities included on maps of nearby cities & towns
The following communities are included on the maps of neighboring towns and cities from the alphabetic list above. If unsure which neighboring town is correct, consult the index in the book Fire Insurance Maps in the Library of Congress.
|
|
|
|