Essential Databases
These databases are a great place to begin your search for peer-reviewed articles relating to Sociology. The search interface is easy to use and they search specifically in Biology-related titles.
-
Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) (1946+) This link opens in a new window"This database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment."
-
BioOne (2000+) This link opens in a new windowFull-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals, an innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector.
-
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics) This link opens in a new window
Provides citation indexing of top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder, 254 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Great Databases but...
Below are databases direct from journal publishers. They contain a lot of articles in Biology, but DO NOT begin your search here. The search interface for these articles is very basic. You need to have a good set of keywords or search terms to use before attempting to use these databases.
-
Life & Biomedical Sciences (SAGE Journals) This link opens in a new windowBrowse journals by discipline: Cell Biology; Life Sciences; Neuroscience; Pharmacology & Toxicology
-
Nature Journals (Springer-Nature) This link opens in a new windowNPG publishes journals and online databases across the life, physical and applied sciences and, most recently, clinical medicine.
-
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new windowOxford Academic access to scholarly and academic books and journals. It combines the full book and article content from Oxford Journals, Florida Scholarship Online, Oxford Scholarship Online, and Oxford Handbooks Online.
-
Oxford Journals Online (OUP) (1827+) This link opens in a new windowSelective full text (1996+) of Oxford University Press journals covering a variety of disciplines:
-- Arts & Humanities -- Law -- Medicine & Health -- Science & Mathematics -- Social Sciences -
Science Direct (1997+) This link opens in a new windowFull text scientific, technical and medical research journals, eBooks, Reference works, handbooks and book series published by Elsevier.
-
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new windowProviding researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
-
Taylor & Francis Journals (T&F) This link opens in a new windowa one-stop site hosting international journals published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge
-
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window-Now linking to Wiley Online Homepage. For Publications, click link for Journals, Reference Works, or Online Books below search box
-Full text of Wiley's scholarly journals and many eBooks covering a variety of disciplines.
-See also Wiley-IEEE eBooks
Also Worth a Look
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database provides active full text for more than 8,500 journals, including active full text for over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
-
AGRICOLA (ProQuest) (1970+) This link opens in a new windowAGRICOLA is a bibliographic database, produced by the National Agricultural Library, consists of worldwide literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture and related fields. Since 1985, the CAB Thesaurus has been used to select controlled vocabulary terms for subject indexing. Library of Congress Subject Headings are used as controlled vocabulary for cataloging records.
-
Annual Reviews (1932+) This link opens in a new windowAnnual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in more than 45 focused disciplines in the sciences and social sciences.
-
bioRxiv: the preprint server for biology This link opens in a new window"bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences."
-
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new windowCovers all major areas in the life sciences, with broad coverage in molecular and cell biology, pharmacology, endocrinology, genetics, neurosciences, infectious diseases, ecology and organismal biology
-
Cell: An Image Library This link opens in a new window"The Cell: An Image Library™ is a freely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes. The purpose of this database is to advance research, education, and training, with the ultimate goal of improving human health."
-
General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson - EBSCOhost) (1984+) This link opens in a new windowGeneral Science Full Text™ provides full text from more than 100 periodicals dating as far back as 1995, in addition to indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals dating back to 1984. Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and much more.
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,000,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 15,000 records.
-
JoVE Unlimited This link opens in a new windowCenter for Distributed Learning is providing access to *all* JoVE video content. "10,000+ videos of laboratory methods and science concepts"
-
Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new windowStreaming educational videos and documentaries.
-
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to the full text of over 4,000 Oxford monographs in Biology, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Economics & Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health & Epidemiology, Religion, and Social Work
-
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new windowSearch platform for over 20 databases and over 75 sub-databases, including full text eBooks, dissertations, company profiles, and article indexing in multiple disciplines.
See the list of all ProQuest databases available at UCF -
Public Library of Science (PLOS) This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed journals in biology, medicine, computational biology, genetics, pathogens, and neglected tropical diseases.
-
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new windowSage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon Sage’s legacy of methods publishing, Sage Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.Full text of book, journal, and reference content to aid as students research design methodologies, understand and select methods, conduct research, and write findings.
Includes tools such as:
- Project Planner: find step-by-step guidance to complete your research project
- Which Stats Test: answer questions to see which statistical method is best for your data
Includes the complete series of:
- Little Green Books -- Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences
- Little Blue Books -- Qualitative Research Methods -
Science (Gale OneFile) (1980+) This link opens in a new window"provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology."
-
Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE) (1965+) This link opens in a new windowa multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences.
-
Springer Protocols This link opens in a new windowReproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences.
On July 25, 2018, the Springer Protocols platform was deactivated. Springer Protocols are searchable on the new Springer Nature Experiments site. Click the title to be authenticated for access to full text of the protocols. SpringerProtocols can also be found on the Springer Nature Link site.
Grey Literature
-
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI) This link opens in a new windowOn the main search screen for Web of Science Core Collection, change "Editions: All" to "Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science."
"Conference Proceedings Citation Index helps researchers access the published literature from ... conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide." -
Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window"brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work."
-
GreySource Index This link opens in a new window"GreySource provides examples of grey literature to the average net-user and in so doing profiles organizations responsible for its production and/or processing."
-
Life Sciences Commons (Digital Commons) This link opens in a new window"brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide."
Sub-Disciplines include: Agriculture -- Animal Sciences -- Plant Sciences -- Biology -- Ecology & Evolutionary Biology -- Biochemistry, Biophysics, & Structural Biology -- Entomology -- Forest Sciences -- Genetics & Genomics -- Kinesiology -- Immunology & Infectious Disease -- Microbiology -- Food Science -- Physiology -- Cell & Developmental Biology -- Neuroscience & Neurobiology -- Nutrition -- Marine Biology -- Bioinformatics -- Biodiversity -- Pharmacology, Toxicology & Environmental Health -- Biotechnology -- Laboratory & Basic Science Research -- Systems Biology -- Other Life Sciences -
Open Access Theses & Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new windowOATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 7 million theses and dissertations.
-
OpenDOAR - The Directory of Open Access Repositories This link opens in a new windowa growing list of international institutional & subject-based repositories, as well as archives set up by funding agencies - like the National Institutes for Health in the USA or the Wellcome Trust in the UK and Europe.
-
OpenGrey: System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe This link opens in a new window"System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe, is your open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe and allows you to export records and locate the documents."
-
PapersFirst (FirstSearch) (1993+) This link opens in a new windowOCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide; covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
-
ProceedingsFirst (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowCovers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (1637+) This link opens in a new window"Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses."
For abstracts from 1938-1980 see the print volumes of Dissertation Abstracts International